We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top blokes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Vert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Vert Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top blokes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

Went here on a stag. We got stuck during the Great 2010 Icelandic Volcano Experience. Our flights back home were cancelled, and one of the owners and his mates agreed to drive us back to London in the hotel's minibuses. Obviously they charged, but pretty reasonably given the circumstances and who wants to do a 26 hour round trip driving a minibus? Top blokes. Agree with some of the other comments about some (though not all) of the staff: definitely laid back snowkids and pretty disinterested in driving the shuttle into town, but they came good when we needed it. Basic, clean rooms, good bar and way better food than expected. Not the place for conservative families with kids, but would recommend it to anyone who wants a laugh and isn't expecting bellhops and kow tow.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minosxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    122
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
65
140
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

I have stayed in a few hotels in Chamonix, the Vert is the best for a number of reasons. The staff are very nice and friendly. It is clean, everything works and the pine rooms are relaxing, our room had a bath that was a god send after getting smashed up on the slopes. It is very cheap compared to any other similar standard of accomodation in Chamonix. It is a Hotel that suits active sporty people and the services relect that like the pro shop that is happy to set up board or skis. Also it is something of a meeting place for some exceptional boarders and skiers. The food comes in a home cooked style/delicious and big. The bar is funky with a big screen and pool table and they have evening events like avalanche lectures/guest DJs or latest game.
It is a few hundred metres outside town centre but its walkable and there is a hotel minibus and the cham bus service. If you want to be lazy you can stay dead centre of town but expect to pay,

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

Having stayed at a few hotels in Chamonix I have seen the best and the worst the town can offer. Le Vert hotel is outside of the town centre about a 10-15 minute walk down the Rue De la Gaillands - there is a bus for those with short legs and the hotel does do mini bus trips to lifts and into town. I was recommended this place by a friend and have to say I was quite pleased upon arrival. It is a pretty building fro the outside and very rustic on the inside. A good sized reception with a dining room and lively bar just off of it. We ate in the hotel on two occasions and were very pleased with the food, which is some of the best I had eaten in Chamonix, at a very good price. The rooms were typical skier fayre clean, comfortable, but sparse. In ours we had twin beds, a table and chair and enuite shower and toilet. We also had a blacony, not that we ventured out to it much. There was plenty of hot water and the shower was more than powerful enough. Unlike some of the previous reviews I cant say I notice any problem with noise. You certainly can here people shutting doors nearby but there was nothing from downstairs and I was on the first floor. I would certainly rate this hotel for a young lively group and return myself.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

Stayed at Le Vert over my birthday weekend with some friends and had a superb holiday largely because of the great guys who run the place.
The rooms are on the shabby side and our bathroom was an experience but this was of no consequence as the whole experience was so good. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel really welcome and at no point was anything too much trouble.
Le Vert is a short, scenic walk into town or you can jump on a bus right outside the hotel. However, the hotel also offer a shuttle service in the morning and evening which is more than reasonable and way more comfortable than the bus.
It's a very old building and the floorboards creak so do bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. I'd read reviews about the music from the bar but you can't hear it in the rooms. The bar was the perfect place to start and/or end an evening and the food served was superb, particularly the Sunday roast. (This is coming from a restaurateur with very high standards!)
Le Vert is a place for fun and lots was had by us. I was sad to leave and would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyKate30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed here for a week in January and had a fantastic holiday. We chose the "Bespoke" package which included transfers to and from Geneva airport, breakfast and dinner, wine with dinner, transfers and pick ups to wherever we wanted to ski each day. The staff were great - always happy to help. The place is clean and tidy - not modern but certainly comfortable and friendly. We had our 2 daughters with us and they were very comfortable but Le Vert seems to cater for singles, couples and families well. Hats off to the guys at Le Vert - you've got a great place and we certainly had a fabulous holiday with you. Oh, the food is great too - good menu choice each night and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shephard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

I traveled to Chamonix for a long weekend snowboarding with my wife, I had a great time found the staff helpful and the breakfast very filling. The rooms are on the cosy side but clean and plenty of hot water, the atmosphere and food in the restaurant at night really topped it off, keep up the good work people.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

stayed for a few days in January and can't fault the place. have been going to chamonix for a number of years and it's great to find such a cool, friendly and cheap place to stay. We found the mulitnational staff really helpful and knowledgeable about the valley. The bar is great with a free pool table and all the sports on the big screens and a good mix of other tourists and locals mingling happily. We booked with food each night and were blown away by the quality, bar snacks really good too. The rooms are basic but were clean and functional. The minibus service was working fine for our stay and is handy although there is a bus stop outside.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skitraveller1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vert Hotel

Property: Le Vert Hotel
Address: 964 route des Gaillands, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Vert Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vert Hotel was opened in 2006 by a group of long time Chamonix residents. It has 21 ensuite double, twin and triple rooms, a restaurant, hire shop and lively bar. The restaurant is consistently rated one of the best in Chamonix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Vert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Vert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing