We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant ski trip”
Review of Hotel du Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Louvre
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The hotel is now even batter and better value for money.
Now has ski boot hot air heaters in ski room so your boots are nice and dry and warm in the morning.
Newer staff from last years trip and could not have been more helpful.

Perfect location.

Room Tip: Great view of Mont Blanc from windows Chamonix has great restaurants with very reasonably priced fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronaldski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Cheap and cheerful hotel right in the centre of Chamonix. Basic but clean rooms. Good shower. TV had BBC1 and BBC2 for English speakers. Staff were helpful and friendly. Plan Praz lift is within walking distance and free buses to other ski areas are very close by. If your looking for a central location, at a reasonable price, this is a great option.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Central location, <5mins walk from nearest lift, and the refurbishment is great, the bathrooms and showers in particular. Only possible criticism is lack of hot option at breakfast, especially when it's €9 extra

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The hotel located very close to the ski town that was very convenient. You can walk to Casino (supermarket) or SuperU (another supermarket) within seconds or minutes.

We visited from Feb 18 to 20, 2013, just before the French half term. The staff said that was a great week to visit with very good weather including sunny day.

The room was nice and neat, and we could see the mountains from the window of our hotel (bathroom) room. Facilities were kept clean and neat.

A couple things you may want to bring just in case: hair dryer and small shovel if you drive a front wheel drive vechicle.

We had a difficult time first of all finding the hotel, likely because GPS didn't have all the small streets (Chemin). The street was a 2 way traffic street but can barely fit one car. It's a busy street because the parking of SuperU is located close to the hotel. So for your reference, find SuperU as your GPS reference point.

The next challenge was to drive in and out of the hotel. The road wasn't groomed enough. Snow piled up but the melted half way so it makes cars hard to get in and out to begin with. With the very narrow street (as we are used to drive in north America), and the hotel car parked just in front of the gate, it was not easy to go in without backing in and out a few times. Maybe if the hotel car can be moved elsewhere makes a lot of sense.

We were in ski restores in other places, including Niseko Japan, we were spoiled to have shuttle bus to the gondola and pick us up. It was a bit of walk (uphill) to the gondola. In fact there is a bus stop just 2 minutes from the hotel. It's convenient no doubt.

We stayed next to some "interesting" guests, people next door made funny noise all night. I guess that's inevitable when I read other reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SelinanJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

First off, the staff and location cannot be beat! Very central and the staff were extremely helpful (and spoke perfect English).

Our stay was marred by disruptions from intoxicated guests very late at night, staying on the same floor. Not the hotel's fault (which explains my 'very good' rating) however there's not much sound proofing.

Seems like the comfort of the beds vary, as we found ours very hard.

The breakfast was quite basic so we preferred to go out to eat.

I think the location and lower cost attracts younger, rowdier travellers. As we like quiet nights perhaps would not stay here again, unless during the off season or mid week.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

First of all, the location is awesome, just in the centre. The hotel is quiet small and was renovated recently. Hence, the room was in perfect conditions with a superb view over the Mont Blanc.
This is trully a great value (considering that it is a 2/3 star hotel) as Chamonix accomodation is not exactly cheap. I can honestly recommend this place with confidence.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights starting last Sunday. I had booked only for 2nights, but it was quite easy to extend for another night. the hotel is very central across the street from the tourist office. But that can also be a bit misleading since the entrance is from another street, and when you approach it from the tourist office, it's a bit difficult to figure out how to enter the hotel even though you a can see hotel in front of you.
The hotel is quite simple, very nice and clean and the staff are very friendly. I had checked in online for the flight, and they we very happy to print out the boarding pass.
I had asked for a room with a view of the mont blanc and I did get a room with a good view.Only point I can pick for improvement is the bed I found it too soft for my liking

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madamechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#37 of 73 in Chamonix
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#17 of 73 in Chamonix
504 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#42 of 73 in Chamonix
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
389 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Chamonix
Hotel Eden Chamonix
#38 of 73 in Chamonix
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Louvre

Address: 25 impasse de l Androsace | à coté de / Next to Super U, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range: £84 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Louvre 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Louvre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing