We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is for you if you don't mind the noise from the next door”
Review of Hotel du Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Louvre
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Location: next to the main street and close to the ski lifts. Hotel, quite updated with a modern bathroom. Rooms are not quiet as you can hear everything from the next door and corridor. Service: Nice service and serve breakfast. Suppose to have a bar in the cellar but was not open when we where there. This hotel is also used by some travel agencies so you will find quite a few "party" person from there.

I would recommend this if you are on a budget trip

Room Tip: Mountain view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FOUNEXGEFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated in the centre of chamonix. We went for a quick trip away with 2 days skiing and wanted a basic and reasonably priced hotel - this was exactly what we got! The hotel was clean, warm and comfortable but there were no added extras. There are also secure facilities to store skis and boots overnight, which is handy! Please be aware of the walk up to the cable car though.... the hill is much bigger than it appears to be on google maps and this is not for the faint hearted!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kinkablossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, attracted by the cheap price and central location. Was nervous that a place this cheap would be any good, but it exceeded expectations. Great hotel, very central - a stones throw from town centre, lovely and friendly staff. The rooms were all that you would need for a ski trip. Basic, but had it's own bathroom and tv. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We took 5 rooms and everyone was happy. The bunk room was pretty small for adults, but would be fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for one night with two young children on the way to Italy. The location is very central, the staff friendly and the hotel very tidy and clean. We will definitely stop here again on our next trip to Chamonix.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mallyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel does what it needs to do - central location, helpful staff, lashings of hot water (really important when you come in frozen from skiing). One thoughtful feature was that there is a room for people to change and shower on their last day when they may have checked out from their room. I see that someone has commented on the thin pillows. I didn't think that the pillows were particularly thin. But I would say that, having a single room, I don't see the point of single duvets for anyone over the age of 6. Do adults use single duvets? That was really just a small gripe, though, as I really think that the hotel does what it needs to do.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beanziethejellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Considering it is a 2 star hotel, I was surprised by the quite new room and bathroom. Wifi and parking were free. Breakfast is modest and costs 9 eur per person. Apart from very thin pillows the quality of sleep was good. There are just 2 strange things, which I believe could be fixed quickly and will add more positive reviews to the hotel. Put a soap to the bathroom and make some shelf in the shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superkrol4iha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The only reason we stayed here was because of all of the other reviewers saying the front desk was so helpful. Considering there are a ton of hotels in the area with the same price range, we decided to pick this place so we could get some advice on activities in the area.

When we arrived, maybe 3 or 4pm in the afternoon, no one was there. We had a sign taped to the front door asking us to call them when we arrived (from what phone?!). We ended up punching random numbers into the door lock so someone could buzz us in.

When we cleaned up and went out to dinner, no one was there. When we got back, someone was there, but seemed confused by us wanting to check-in (they just left the room keys on the counter).

The next morning, no one was there. That afternoon, our door keys stopped working, and the damn sign (back in 5) was up. So we started dialing random numbers until someone came out to let us in and to reset our door keys (someone had only checked us in for one night, despite having two nights booked).

When we stopped in that evening we were able to figure out how to get checked out for the next morning since we were leaving early and knew they wouldn't be there.

It was ridiculous. At one point I wanted to call to book a trip for the day and came back to the hotel since I couldn't get the phone booth to work and guess what, no one was around. I had to go to the very nice hotel next door (Le Faucigny) to get them to call for me.

In the long run, yes, the rooms were fine, clean and the bathroom was nice as well. You have to pay an euro for wifi per device per day (but next door's wifi is free). But if the only reason for picking the place was for a helpful front desk, I think we could have done a lot better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#38 of 73 in Chamonix
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel BDN Boule de Neiges
Hotel BDN Boule de Neiges
#63 of 73 in Chamonix
23 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#40 of 73 in Chamonix
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#50 of 73 in Chamonix
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#18 of 73 in Chamonix
507 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Beausoleil
Hotel Beausoleil
#48 of 73 in Chamonix
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Louvre

Address: 25 impasse de l Androsace | à coté de / Next to Super U, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range: £68 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Louvre 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Louvre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing