We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not coming back ever”
Review of Hotel du Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Louvre
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Although the hotel is located right in the center (mind you Chamonix is such a small town pretty much anything is close to the center), I will never stay here again.
It started after I booked, I had to confirm the late check in procedure since I was arriving at midnight, and as I kept sending emails, I kept getting back the same English template email with no real response to mine.
I ended up having a friend who speaks French call for me and sort it out.
When I arrived everything went fine but soon I discovered the bed sheets were stained and the towels look like they've been through some good amount of washes...
And last, the reception is closed between noon and 5 pm, so you need your key to access the hotel. I am now writing this review while I wait for 5 pm since my key won't open anymore (mind you I had to extend my stay and i suspect this wasn't updated in my key) and after I called the emergency number on the door of the hotel, which is disconnected!

So as the title says, I will never stay here again and I strongly recommend you don't either.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraschm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Staff here were just excellent! Very helpful for tired and weary travelers with kids. The rooms were quite spacious and modern, equipped with everything needed for a great stay in Chamonix. Parking was a bonus as there isn't much in town. Great stay, great little hotel. We stayed 21 April 2014.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sevenrustygates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Brilliant location for the Ski Buses which take you to all the different locations. Very central for the Chamonix Town Centre and the Apres Ski should you want to participate.

We choose this hotel as a base knowing we wouldn't be spending too much time there but actually the hotel room (105) was more than suitable, spacious with good decor, very clean and the rooms were made up each day while we were skiing. We had a clear view of Mont Blanc from bed each day, watching the sun rise across the top.

We didn't choose the breakfast at the hotel because of the choice of supermarkets and little cafes on the door step, sitting in the morning sun while drinking coffee!

Yes the walls can be thin, but we only realised much later into our week when we heard someone snoring next door, maybe skiing all day and then apres ski blocked this out for most of the time, noise was not an issue for us.

Definitely recommend this hotel if you want a good room as a base that is clean with a lovely powerful shower, fantastic location and wonderful views of the Mont Blanc every time you look out the window.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hotel du Louvre is a strange one, the room and location were good and as expected/described on their website BUT these are the things to note: 1) Do not come here if you are looking to get some rest or a good night's sleep, in fact any sleep- it is by far and a way the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in, even with ear plugs in you will be woken up multiple, multiple times per night. A tent in the car park would be more peaceful...As the walls are almost literally paper thin, you may as well be sharing a room with your neighbours- this can almost ruin a trip so be warned. 2) I thought 9 euros for breakfast sounded cheap so I went for it the first day- impressive that it was bad enough to still feel ripped off, you're far better off popping to the supermarket 30 seconds away 3) I found the staff a little grumpy, no real service culture at all in this hotel. Conclusion- I wouldn't come back even of you halved the price. The saying 'location is everything' is not true when it comes to hotels...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Welltravelledadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My brother and sister in law stayed at this hotel and we stayed in another.

I was with them on check in and the staff weren't over friendly. When we got to the room it was very small although clean.
The hotel was in a great location just up a side street from the main pedestrian street in Chamonix.

The breakfast was not worth the money 2 slices of French stick and 1 slice of ham, and if you wanted more you were constantly watched by staff what food you were taking !!!

The hotel has a car park which would be great however when it had snowed and frozen, it was really hard to drive out of as it was a narrow turning and a steep slope and it was never cleared from snow or gritted so there were a good chance of skidding into a wall or other cars.
We booked through booking.com and was happy with the price, but the hotel charged us local taxes which was approx £15 extra, when asked what this was for we were told local,taxes so we could use local transport, which we did not wish to use but still had to pay the tax.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmaw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Location: next to the main street and close to the ski lifts. Hotel, quite updated with a modern bathroom. Rooms are not quiet as you can hear everything from the next door and corridor. Service: Nice service and serve breakfast. Suppose to have a bar in the cellar but was not open when we where there. This hotel is also used by some travel agencies so you will find quite a few "party" person from there.

I would recommend this if you are on a budget trip

Room Tip: Mountain view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FOUNEXGEFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated in the centre of chamonix. We went for a quick trip away with 2 days skiing and wanted a basic and reasonably priced hotel - this was exactly what we got! The hotel was clean, warm and comfortable but there were no added extras. There are also secure facilities to store skis and boots overnight, which is handy! Please be aware of the walk up to the cable car though.... the hill is much bigger than it appears to be on google maps and this is not for the faint hearted!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kinkablossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#38 of 73 in Chamonix
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#42 of 73 in Chamonix
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#18 of 73 in Chamonix
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Lanchers
Hotel Les Lanchers
#8 of 73 in Chamonix
345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Louvre

Address: 25 impasse de l Androsace | à coté de / Next to Super U, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range: £57 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Louvre 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Louvre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing