We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”
Review of Hotel du Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Louvre
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Well, what can I say - cheap and not cheerful. Main problem was the place was extremely noisy - you certainly will not get any sleep, unless you are in the same drunken state as the rest of the clubbers.
Ensure you sneak your gear into the room, you can always stand your skis in the toilet if your stuck for room. Broken glass on the stairs and landings was quite a hazard which had been left from loitering youths from the night before, and still there 3 days without being cleaned. Really a male only place, with no supervision, no toilet paper, paper thin walls, noisy pipes, dark and smelly. If I had the choice I would rather sleep in a swamp

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon2009Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Louvre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2009

Have just stayed here for 3 nights, with 3 people sharing a triple room (single and double beds). I wasn't really sure what to expect given the mixed reviews but my overriding thought is that you really need to be realistic about what you expect to find in a 1 star French hotel which costs £25 a night (per person). Also bear in mind that I'm talking £25 given the current GBP to EUR exchange rate.

There's no denying the rooms are seriously dreary. I wouldn't have said dirty, though, our in-room toilet (not exactly ensuite) was definitely clean. The linen didn't look much but it probably isn't that new however at least it didn't smell! It wasn't cold this week so I can't comment on the heating. The heater was on but it was quite small compared to the size of the room so I wouldn't be surprised if the rooms can be cold when it's required. The shower head didn't attach in the shower but that's pretty typical for many a cheap hotel. The beds were pretty naff and the pillow was more of a bolster in the double.

My only proper negative comment is that there were screws sticking out of the head board on the bed.

So again, be realistic. Remember that it's super cheap and incredibly central. It even has free parking. If you need a bed for a few hours sleep between enjoying the activities of the Alps by day and the drinking holes of Chamonix by night then this is more than acceptable accommodation.

If you plan on spending some time in your room then the Louvre probably isn't for you.

A couple of tips. Consider bringing a sheet sleeping bag if old sheets doesn't appeal. For serious skiers, ignore the warnings about no ski equipment in the rooms. They will absolutely not open the ski locker room before 8am (no matter how much you shout at them to step 5 feet from their reception chair). If you want to be on the first bus to Argentiere you'll need to be out earlier.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MysticMong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

This is a cheap hotel and staff is very kind and polite. And that is all what I can say good about this place. Room was dark and small. Shower outside was flooded and there was no toilet paper. All the pipes in the room and sink where making strange noise whole night. I was sleeping maybe 2 hours only. Very small window in the room. If you are planning to go there by car rememer there is ony 7 parking spaces. Never will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kurzew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Stayed at the hotel du louvre for 3 nights in feb 09.We were 3 males on a weekend skiing trip. Cannot really fault it for the price you pay for the room, ours was a triple @ 69 euro. Great base for the town and ski lifts. Definately wouldnt take the wife there though so if your a person with high expectations, dont go. Otherwise if you want a ceap base to sleep then go.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank martin1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2008

The Louvre has been my base on many Chamonix trips in winter and summer. It is dead central, just 15 metres off the main drag and at under 60 euros per room per night in peak winter season I can't think of anywhere offering better value. Not only that but it is very hard to find accommodation in Chamonix offering short stays in winter. The Louvre have no problem with any length of stay even over New Year.

The rooms are not ideal. While they get cleaned daily they have a gloomy feel and it is obvious the hotel has seen better days. There is never enough light in the rooms due to small windows on most and due to the general lack of lighting. there is no lift so the trudge to the top floor is hard work after a big day on the hill. I think the rooms on the first floor are the best as some have floor to ceiling windows which give a bit more light. Showers are a bit basic and could do with updating.

Breakfast is a bit rubbish but at 6 euros is good enough. There's a supermarket round the corner which has fresh pastries as an alternative.

There is a ski locker on the ground floor so no need to carry heavy gear upstairs.

Parking at the hotel is limited and if you go for apres ski at one of the valleys ski areas, by the time you get back you will be unlikely to find a spot. There is a large underground carpark on the main street behind the hotel. On occasion, even this gets full so you have to drop off your party with gear and search the streets of Chamonix in search of a spot.

On balance, it is cheap and very flexible with dates so perfect for a weekend trip. You would probably get cabin fever if you stayed there for a week though.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferretbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

We arrived to find the hotel had no lift so we had to carry all our ski gear up three flights of stairs, not a big problem for two fit guys. The twin room was a good size and the beds were comfortable. The ensuite was a toilet, sink, & shower with just a partition around it ( no cealing, no extraction) so the air could get a bit fruity after a big night out, but there was always the option of opening the window. The hotel had a few families staying and it was nice and quiet at night. We had ordered breakfast but were a bit dissapointed as other guests were given ham & cheese and we were not. There was cereal, bread, juice, coffee and we didnt expect a grand buffet for 6euro but my friend swiped some from another table. The staff are helpful and polite and the rooms were cleaned daily. There is a large room to leave all your ski gear and it is only a 5min walk to the bus stop in the morning. The hotel is one of the oldest in Chamonix and it shows, the hotel is very tired and dated looking, but for about 35 euro a night it is value for money. I would stay there again as we were on a budget and you are only using the place to put your head down.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunglebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2008

The Hotel du Louve was one of the only one-star hotels available in Chamonix and it did not disappoint! Clean, comfortable rooms and a nice staff. This is a great option for budget travelers looking to spend a few days exploring the area surrounding Mt Blanc.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank azrcpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#41 of 73 in Chamonix
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#45 of 73 in Chamonix
133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
609 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Chamonix
Hotel Eden Chamonix
#38 of 73 in Chamonix
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#53 of 73 in Chamonix
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Louvre

Address: 25 impasse de l Androsace | à coté de / Next to Super U, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £66 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Louvre 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Louvre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing