We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courchevel the place to ski”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Medina, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Courchevel the place to ski”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Courchevel for the last 14 years. We are a group of 12 friends from all over the world that get together once or twice a year. This is our 11 th stay at Au Rond Point Des Pistes. Great location, wonderful staff. Food is so good that we don't venture anywhere else for dinners. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    9
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I wish I read tripadvisor before staying in this hotel. I arrived on the day checking if they had a room available and was amazed to find out that the cheapest room was a five star price, although I was told it was a convenient 3 star hotel. Well, instead of this being the one thing that would go wrong in this special occasion of impulse with my spouse I discovered that this was only the start of it. Not to make a long story no one helped us with our luggage, we were almost locked out of the hotel because we came a bit late (1am), we were called to leave the hotel at 10am the next day (their regular check out time that is a first time experience for me having travelled extensively in my life). The gem of the story, they called police to pick up our car as it was parked in the small parking in front of the hotel that costed us a 155 euros fine. And when we tried to reason with them about the incident they denied they called (well what reason does the police have to lie to us for doing their work, as they say they even asked, when they came to pick our car up, if the hotel was sure this was not a car of a client). Well this discussion unveiled the Cruela Devil character of the owner who was mean and instead of being apologizing she stormed us with comments about us being irresponsible and denying that she had anything to do with the police calling them liars. Well I need to make sure that the word is spread around that this may be the worst hotel in Courchevel!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

5 star prices at a one star hotel. when we arrived the crazy, nasty, twisted aging owner/manager was waiting to pounce on us. She was angry we booked online. We booked a superior room on line. The room we were given did not match the description online. Much smaller, when we complained she came out with her own list of room types. guess what? superior room advertised on line did not exist. Her room descriptions were confort, grand confort and grand confort luxe. She is a total scam artist. She started yelling at us in front of other customers and seemed to enjoy our discomfort. We tried too cancel our stay but the first thing she did was run our credit card and booking .com would not help us. They change the sheets every other day. I spilled some coffee on the sheet and requested they change it and then they could skip the next day. The answer was no they would not change the sheets because that was not the designated day to do so and I had to sleep on dirty sheets! The "spa" room, read ugly little room in basement, had different prices on the english price list than on the french price list. Guess which one was higher? 20 euro on website too park, 30 euro when you arrive. Stained pictures on walls,stained carpets, broken sliding door lock to terrace, partition between terraces broken so people in next room could come on your terrace. Breakfast was included so every morning we received rotten fruit that any other hotel would have thrown in the garbage.No radio, no clock, no temperature control, no coffee pot, no frig, no one to help with luggage, desk personnel had no information about anything. If you ask them a question , they tell you to call and find out. Gee thanks alot. FOUR SEASONS PRICES AT A NASTY DIRTY DUMP!! STAYING IN A ZOO WOULD BE BETTER THAN THIS HOTEL, AT LEAST THE ANIMALS WOULD BE NICER!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank suzanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptons
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The owner of this hotel is extremely overbearing and obnoxious. Her last priority is customer satisfaction. After traveling for over fifteen hours and arriving exhausted, we were asked to prepay the full room immediately prior to even having our luggage removed from our car. We signed for over 1850 dollars for three days and were then taken to a tiny room which was advertised at 259 sq feet but was nowhere near that big. It clearly was not We had two suit cases and one carry on and could not walk to the bathroom without tripping over them as there was no room to put them anywhere. There was a desk/dresser combo with three drawers so small they were only suitable for socks and underwear, so unpacking and storing clothes was an impossibility. When we explained to the owner that we did not get what was advertised and in fact had contracted for a larger room, she immediately began raising her voice and talking over us and never gave us a chance to even complete a sentence. Her behavior was over the top inappropriate and a bitter disappointment after arriving dog tired- to be treated like that. The rugs in the common areas in the lobby leading to the elevators are disgustingly stained and dirty, The fabric couches and sofas in the lobby are dingy and dirty- circa 1950's. The bed in our room has about a six inch deep mattress of the poorest quality and the pillows 100 percent foam.The mirror in the extremely basic bathroom is mounted chest high so one must stoop to shave or comb hair, The balcony is a common balcony and the door leading to it is "secured" by removing the outside handle-no lock. Horrible security. The ski room is an absolute joke- shoebox size with a bench for two. Guests were putting on boots while standing in the tiny vestibule leading in from the street. The desk employees are very nice however the lone girl on the desk who checked us in was then tasked with unloading heavy bags from our car which I refused to let her do and then she showed us to our room after I unloaded the luggage and carried the skis. This owner is a total bush league operator. Her marketing practices and operations are deceptive and unethical, she has zero interest in pleasing her guests. Her overbearing attitude and personality combined with the glaring short comings of the property should dissuade any prospective customer no matter how desperate you are. Dig a snow cave you will be much happier.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank david i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent ski base. Really helpful staff and team. Great location and views. Very convenient for 1850 generally and good ski in/out. Good breakfasts (we were half-board) and good lounge and fire for tea and cocktails with really good service. Extras and rooms expensive by the real world but reasonable for the bubble that is Courchevel.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Chalfont, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The staff, the food, the views and the rooms make this the best place to stay in Courchevel 1850. This is real ski in / ski out, and there's a convenient chair lift to take you up to the top of the mountain without the bother of the main town gondolas. Most of the rooms aren't large, but they are all lovely and have everything you need; especially the views of the town and slopes. The common lounge area has a huge fire, lots of comfortable seating and a very welcoming feel. The restaurant is fabulous and the chef very accomodating; you wouldn't want your dinner elsewhere. What really makes this hotel special though is the staff. Everyone is helpful and all requests are handled with a smile. This is one of those places that you want to tell everyone about but then fear that you won't get a room when you want to stay! Please try this wonderful hotel, but leave a room for us!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great location, with ski in ski out straight to the door. Your skis are always out and ready for you in the morning and boots alway toasty from the heated boots racks. Skiing is second to non in the 3 valleys.

Service is also exceptional, nothing is too much for the team here. Dinner is always delicilous and they are keen to make sure you are happy.

If you want a lovely and relaxed ski holiday with endless skiing this is the hotel to be at.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.0 mi away
La Pomme de Pin
La Pomme de Pin
#16 of 55 in Courchevel
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#12 of 55 in Courchevel
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Kilimandjaro Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#43 of 55 in Courchevel
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#40 of 55 in Courchevel
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes

Property: Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes
Address: Rue Park City, Courchevel 1850, 73120, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Luxuriously equipped. Oozing contemporary Alpine charm. Fantastic position. Ski in - Ski out. 100m from the center of 1850. Great food. Complimentary cakes and pastries by the fireplace. 39 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing