We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at this hotel eight times in the last four years, I feel that I am well placed to write a review. The hotel is the best located in 1850 with direct ski in / out from the front door. We have always been treated to the highest levels of service by a small team that remains the same year after year. This is a small exclusive hotel where guest privacy is regarded as extremely important. It might not have all the mod cons of a 5 star branded hotel, and some of the rooms are on the small side. However, this is the best ski resort in the world and the hotel priced accordingly. If you want a bargain, you will need a different hotel in a different resort. We will be staying for many more years to come.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    9
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

A really nice hotel; a chain hotel absolutely not and all the better for that. My wife and I have always found all of the staff to be excellent and the food is just great. The location just on the piste just makes it for us. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidhowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Rond Point des pistes and will make sure to have the hotel as our next skiing visits for years to come..
The room was perfect, the food is absolutely excellent, 5/6 course dinner included in the room rate, executed to perfection.
All the staff were great and didn't know what to do for all of us to make us feel special.
I have read the comments and we have also met the owner Corinne who leads from the front and was a delight to all of us.
It is an hotel I would highly recommend. We have travelled in several different countries and usually stay in 5 stars hotel with my wife, we have chosen the Rond point des pistes as we were with all the family but the standard were as high in term of service than most of the 5 stars we stayed at.
Thank you Corinne, Stephan ( the chef) and all the staff...

See you next year...

Room Tip: Go for the superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Courchevel for the last 14 years. We are a group of 12 friends from all over the world that get together once or twice a year. This is our 11 th stay at Au Rond Point Des Pistes. Great location, wonderful staff. Food is so good that we don't venture anywhere else for dinners. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I wish I read tripadvisor before staying in this hotel. I arrived on the day checking if they had a room available and was amazed to find out that the cheapest room was a five star price, although I was told it was a convenient 3 star hotel. Well, instead of this being the one thing that would go wrong in this special occasion of impulse with my spouse I discovered that this was only the start of it. Not to make a long story no one helped us with our luggage, we were almost locked out of the hotel because we came a bit late (1am), we were called to leave the hotel at 10am the next day (their regular check out time that is a first time experience for me having travelled extensively in my life). The gem of the story, they called police to pick up our car as it was parked in the small parking in front of the hotel that costed us a 155 euros fine. And when we tried to reason with them about the incident they denied they called (well what reason does the police have to lie to us for doing their work, as they say they even asked, when they came to pick our car up, if the hotel was sure this was not a car of a client). Well this discussion unveiled the Cruela Devil character of the owner who was mean and instead of being apologizing she stormed us with comments about us being irresponsible and denying that she had anything to do with the police calling them liars. Well I need to make sure that the word is spread around that this may be the worst hotel in Courchevel!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

5 star prices at a one star hotel. when we arrived the crazy, nasty, twisted aging owner/manager was waiting to pounce on us. She was angry we booked online. We booked a superior room on line. The room we were given did not match the description online. Much smaller, when we complained she came out with her own list of room types. guess what? superior room advertised on line did not exist. Her room descriptions were confort, grand confort and grand confort luxe. She is a total scam artist. She started yelling at us in front of other customers and seemed to enjoy our discomfort. We tried too cancel our stay but the first thing she did was run our credit card and booking .com would not help us. They change the sheets every other day. I spilled some coffee on the sheet and requested they change it and then they could skip the next day. The answer was no they would not change the sheets because that was not the designated day to do so and I had to sleep on dirty sheets! The "spa" room, read ugly little room in basement, had different prices on the english price list than on the french price list. Guess which one was higher? 20 euro on website too park, 30 euro when you arrive. Stained pictures on walls,stained carpets, broken sliding door lock to terrace, partition between terraces broken so people in next room could come on your terrace. Breakfast was included so every morning we received rotten fruit that any other hotel would have thrown in the garbage.No radio, no clock, no temperature control, no coffee pot, no frig, no one to help with luggage, desk personnel had no information about anything. If you ask them a question , they tell you to call and find out. Gee thanks alot. FOUR SEASONS PRICES AT A NASTY DIRTY DUMP!! STAYING IN A ZOO WOULD BE BETTER THAN THIS HOTEL, AT LEAST THE ANIMALS WOULD BE NICER!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank suzanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptons
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The owner of this hotel is extremely overbearing and obnoxious. Her last priority is customer satisfaction. After traveling for over fifteen hours and arriving exhausted, we were asked to prepay the full room immediately prior to even having our luggage removed from our car. We signed for over 1850 dollars for three days and were then taken to a tiny room which was advertised at 259 sq feet but was nowhere near that big. It clearly was not We had two suit cases and one carry on and could not walk to the bathroom without tripping over them as there was no room to put them anywhere. There was a desk/dresser combo with three drawers so small they were only suitable for socks and underwear, so unpacking and storing clothes was an impossibility. When we explained to the owner that we did not get what was advertised and in fact had contracted for a larger room, she immediately began raising her voice and talking over us and never gave us a chance to even complete a sentence. Her behavior was over the top inappropriate and a bitter disappointment after arriving dog tired- to be treated like that. The rugs in the common areas in the lobby leading to the elevators are disgustingly stained and dirty, The fabric couches and sofas in the lobby are dingy and dirty- circa 1950's. The bed in our room has about a six inch deep mattress of the poorest quality and the pillows 100 percent foam.The mirror in the extremely basic bathroom is mounted chest high so one must stoop to shave or comb hair, The balcony is a common balcony and the door leading to it is "secured" by removing the outside handle-no lock. Horrible security. The ski room is an absolute joke- shoebox size with a bench for two. Guests were putting on boots while standing in the tiny vestibule leading in from the street. The desk employees are very nice however the lone girl on the desk who checked us in was then tasked with unloading heavy bags from our car which I refused to let her do and then she showed us to our room after I unloaded the luggage and carried the skis. This owner is a total bush league operator. Her marketing practices and operations are deceptive and unethical, she has zero interest in pleasing her guests. Her overbearing attitude and personality combined with the glaring short comings of the property should dissuade any prospective customer no matter how desperate you are. Dig a snow cave you will be much happier.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank david i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#15 of 55 in Courchevel
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#11 of 55 in Courchevel
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Strato
Le Strato
#30 of 55 in Courchevel
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Chabichou
Le Chabichou
#3 of 55 in Courchevel
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#5 of 55 in Courchevel
74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpes Hotel du Pralong
Alpes Hotel du Pralong
#37 of 55 in Courchevel
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes

Property: Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes
Address: Rue Park City, Courchevel 1850, 73120, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Luxuriously equipped. Oozing contemporary Alpine charm. Fantastic position. Ski in - Ski out. 100m from the center of 1850. Great food. Complimentary cakes and pastries by the fireplace. 39 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing