We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, facilities and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Manali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Manali
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, facilities and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

A group of 6 of us went to Courcheval on Friday 27th January for 3 nights. We wanted a weekend skiing break so needed something which was convenient easy and had a touch of luxury. Hotel Manali more than met our requirements.
It is literally a ski in ski out hotel where there are a couple of drag lifts practically outside the door and then there is a gondola ski lift to take you to the rest of Courcheval.
The location of the hotel being in 1650 as opposed to 1850 didnt make any difference to us as we were happy to stay in our hotel for dinner, drinks etc. I went to the shop in 1650 whilst I was there by car (courtesy of the hotel) and 1650 looks like a quaint little ski village.
Reception staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Bar staff were again professional, friendly and happy to help. No one left you waiting for anything they were all very keen to serve.
The best service was from the guy in the Ski room. We hired our boots, skis and sledges from the ski room and the guy that helped us was brilliant. Literally helping to put our boots on every morning and take them off in the evening. This guy went beyond just doing his job.
I spoke to one of the guys that works in the hotel and I asked him whether he enjoys working there and he said he did and that this was his 5th winter at the hotel, I think this says a lot as all the staff are happy and keen to help.
We used the spa - pool, sauna, turkish bath etc were all brilliant and perfect after a day skiing. 3 of us also had massages and again great after a day on the slopes.
Only negatives would be the cost of the drinks and the temperature of the room. I couldn't work out how to turn it down but I didn't even ask reception so didn't give them the chance to sort it out.
We booked the weekend through Full Circle travel and can't fault their service. They are very responsive, professional and keen to get you exactly what you want. They sorted out the flights too. It made the whole challenge of finding somewhere for a group of us a breeze as they took off my hands. I'd definitely recommend using them.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz_huss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

We had a lovely stay in Courchevel 1650 and loved the hotel but it really was so expensive...but then so was everywhere in Courchevel! This isn't specific to the hotel and so isn't a complaint against it but the cost did dominate the stay - cans of coke were around 7 Euros, vegetable soup 15 Euros, cheeseburger and chips in their 'snack' section - 25 Euros...even the local Spa shop was ridiculously expensive - 10 Euros for a small toblerone bar! It felt a bit like we were trapped in a gilded prison and unable to get away from the crazy prices. A trip down to the lovely little town of Moutiers on market day was the absolute highlight of our trip - real France and full of character.

That said if you go to Courchevel I guess you know what you're getting into...so, putting prices aside:

Hotel Manali - the breakfast was fantastic, lots of little pots of fresh fruit so you can mix and match strawberries, raspberries, pineapple, kiwi etc Loads of cakes, breads, cheeses, yoghurts, a hot section, cereals and a great selection of fruit juices. The location is really good, right on the slopes and a great view of the mountains from the restaurant. The rooms are lovely - we had a family room with two bedrooms that worked really well and great little touches like teddy bears for the kids went down really well! The swimming pool was brilliant and usually very quiet. The spa was lovely too, I had a great facial there. There are really nice facilities for the kids - free rental on sledges and a great kids room with computer games as well as paper for drawing and puzzles etc

All in all it was a lovely break but for me just too expensive for what you get. I am all for luxury and like to feel I'm in the best place and happy to pay for a bit of pampering but although it was really lovely it was too expensive for what it was. This hasn't affected my score though as I feel this is an issue in general with Courchevel rather than just with the Hotel Manali.

So...probably unlikely to return to Courchevel but if I were to I would definitely return to the Hotel Manali.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

1 Week skiing with two kids (7 & 9). This is was our second stay as we thought it ticked all the boxes. Great interconnecting rooms for families. Staff that could not try harder to be helpful. Skiroom where they help with boots, carry skis, help the kids, etc. all with a smile. Kids clud with w-ii and games for all ages. Spa with a pool for the perfect unwind after a day on the slopes. Kids menues and adults menues that work for everyone, with food that is great Frnech cooking. Rooms are compact, but facilities good and very clear, with dial up movies in the rooms as well - good for kids.
It is expensive, but you do feel you get the five star treatment. We came away feeling very refreshed and relaxed.
If you do not like kids at dinner be warned this is a luxury family hotel and there are a lot of kids around. Some nationalities seem to favour feed early and put to bed, but others have very small kids at dinner quite late. It is not a riot, but some may not want the family feeling.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RealWomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

Manali is a wonderful place to stay if you are planning a trip to the French Alps. It is located at 1650 and while most people probably prefer 1850, we found the location to be great. It was ski in/out and if we wanted to start at 1850, the hotel had a complementary shuttle to transport us. They also couldn't have made skiing easier - they have rentals on site, they literally put your boots on for you, sell you lift tickets, and carry your skis outside for you. There is also a ski shop in case you forget something. The spa was also amazing, as was the dinner we had. We loved our time there, but couldn't afford to stay any longer!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LV23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#17 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#5 of 55 in Courchevel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le K2
Hotel Le K2
#8 of 55 in Courchevel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Chabichou
Le Chabichou
#3 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#6 of 55 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manali

Property: Hotel Manali
Address: rue de la Rosiere, 73120, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Manali 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Manali is the refuge that without doubt epitomises the best that Courchevel has to offer, combining luxury and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Manali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing