We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski 14 Chalet Cascades 19-26 Jan 2014”
Review of Cascades

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cascades
Ranked #3 of 12 Courchevel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have just spent a week at Chalet Cascade in Courchevel 1650 (Moriond). And the Chalet is in an almost ideal location, it has obviously had a recent internal refit which makes it feel like a small personal chalet and its staff make it feel very welcoming.

The location is amazing, you are directly opposite the escalator that takes you up to the main 1650 Bubble Lift. The rooms are varied in their nice personal Chalet theme - the rooms at the front are twins or doubles, they are compact but have they have ample storage with balcony access and are in fact very comfortable considering the the amount of time you actually spend in them. The rooms facing the Valley are bigger, but similarly nice with that personal Chalet theme.

It has a very comfortable lounge on the 3rd floor, which served at the early evening meeting point.The dinning room was very nice with spectacular views across the Valley and 1550 some 100 metres below us.The food was amazing and just what we needed to keep us going through the day. (Ski Total may wish to consider providing pack lunches as a daily option as well, then it would be truly fantastic)

Equipment storage - Chalet Cascade has a heated ski and boot storage room. Have no fear about security of your skis or boots as the Chalet has a pin code security door.

The staff, although young, were very nice, polite, helpful and knowledgeable and we would like to THANK THEM for making our stay very special.

As for Courchevel-Moriond, it is the ideal location for all levels of skiers, good wide pistes and easily ski-able to Courchevel 1850.

Summary - Chalet Cascade is great value for money and we are considering returning in a couple of years to explore Courchevel and the 3 Valleys even more as the ski area is vast and very well sign posted and maintained. It is my hope that Ski Total continue to maintain this property and continue modernising it. Again the staff made the Holiday very special and we wish them well in the future and hopefully we'll see them in 2016.

PS - and a note for SKI Total - If Chalet had a few fewer but larger guest rooms and a Hot Tub then it would be a truly FANTASTIC facility.

Well Done Guys!!!!

Kind Regards

Craig & Dawn Haselden

Room Tip: Small compact rooms (Twins and Doubles) at the front with Balcony's, but good views of the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CJDSHaselden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Cascades, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hi Craig & Dawn,
Thanks so much for the kind comments on our staff and the service provided on your recent holiday in the Cascasdes-we are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to seeing you when you return. We are in regular discussions with the owners so we shall certainly mention your wish for a hot tub!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We went to cascades over New Year. Found it to be in very good location opposite escalator to lifts and nr bus stop. Bedroom and wetroom at rear of chalet were very clean and much bigger than others we have previously used. Staff were very good and looked after us. Total Ski have a team there they should be proud of. Wouldn't hesitate recommending this chalet.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank bikeriderneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Without doubt a great location, literally opposite the escalator to the lifts at 1650, but bear in mind if you want to ski at 1850 it's just as easy and probably quicker to hop on the bus than ski across. The rooms at the back have a fabulous view and are traditionally basic but much, much larger than I have ever seen in France - they'd sleep a football team in the same room in Avoriaz - with the only hyper-picky point being that they have no heating control or radiators, so not only were they boiling but bereft of the traditional hat/glove drying facility - in other words perfect for teenagers who dry their kit on the bathroom floor anyway! Talking of which, the hot water was impressively copious, despite the number of guests.
The chalet has a slightly odd set-up, dining on the lower ground floor and a communal area on the 3rd floor, so the lack of any central flopping down area limited guest interaction to a degree. The food was fine, neither exciting nor particularly memorable, but to be fair it is not advertised as a gourmet destination. Food presentation was mostly poor, not because of any lack of effort in the kitchen but because they were not given the right kit - it's difficult to make food look alluring if you only have the most basic of chunky school bowls type of china to work with. The vegetarian option was well intentioned but far from great; pulses and beans are fine occasionally but consecutively they are neither that filling nor indeed that wonderful for your partner! Best not to mention the afternoon cakes.
The girls and boys, staff sounds so patronising, were universally warm, friendly, polite, bordering on being genuinely charming and couldn't be more helpful. Good recruitment and training there. Overall a good chalet that ticks the boxes and is in a superb location.
A word of warning though - Ski Total's hire 'relationship' is with Intersport next door, very convenient but caveat emptor. In my 30 years experience, French ski hire shops are mostly excellent, taking the necessary time to fit accurately. This was not the case with this busy Intersport who were rushing people through at what seemed a slapdash pace. One teenage girl received what were clearly the wrong size of skis fortunately spotted by her father, one lad had poles of different lengths, but most worryingly boots were rush fitted to skiers ("they are good") who hadn't the confidence or knowledge to challenge, and so had to be changed the next day. Disturbingly bindings were not always calibrated by weight.Given that most people only have a week skiing, if your boots don't fit and your feet rub from day one your holiday can be ruined...and clearly casually fitted skis can lead to accidents - was it a coincidence I wonder that quite a few had shin and/or calf injuries? Hopefully the Ski Total marcoms and ops teams read this and react.

Room Tip: Great views at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at Chalet Cascades (Courchevel 1650 or "Moriond" as the local tourist re-branding committee would have it now known as!) w/comm 22nd Dec 2013 so this included the Xmas period too. Have to say that this is probably the nicest chalet I've stayed in by some margin and it would appear in talking to several guests who had stayed there previously that the building has recently undergone a major refurb and it's spotlessly immaculate throughout and fitted out to a very good standard.

Rooms are superb (we had two rooms at the rear with balconies) with plenty of space and fab views down the valley to Bozel. Bathrooms were very nicely kitted out and we opted for bath rather than shower (had a shower over the bath anyway) and a nice deep hot bath at the end of the day are just what those aching legs need in my view!

Brilliantly located right opposite the escalator that takes you straight up into the Ariondiaz lift (which is the main lift out of 1650) but also in the main high street in 1650 with plenty of shops, bars (the Schuss next-door is owned by the chalet and is none the worse for that with a really nice feel to it, ask for a Picon Bierre in there and I promise you won't be disappointed!)

The staff for the chalet were a real asset to this place and if I was TotalSki I'd be rightly proud of them. Nothing was too much trouble ( I had my skis taken mistakenly by some idiot staying in a hotel some distance away and they managed to track him down and get them back to me, on Xmas Day!) and they certainly make you feel like you're a guest rather than an interruption to their skiing which is how it sometimes feels in some chalets I've stayed in.

Probably my only very minor quibble was that sometimes the food was if anything too elaborate and a couple of nights I would have been very happy with a big bowl of pasta or tartiflette to load up on carbs for the next day but again you can't fault the place for making a real effort on this front.

Would I stay there again....very much so and I don't think you would be disappointed if you did either.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms at the rear with balconies as these have more room, balconies and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick_Wiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for Christmas 2013. They chalet was in a great location opposite the escalator up to the ski lifts. The staff were brilliant, really helpful and friendly, the rooms were lovely, clean and spacious with great views. The teenagers went to the Bubble Bar and Funky Fox in the evenings but we loved the Schuss bar directly under the chalet. Large choice at breakfast, cereals, fruit, croissants plus cooked breakfasts every day. Coffee, tea and cake in the afternoon plus hots drinks available all day. If I had to find any fault it was that the evening meal was overly fussy and not to everyone's tastes, especially the teenagers. I think simpler food would have been good, maybe the odd pasta dish after a day's skiing. But we had a great time and would return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HytheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent a week here, from15th December, and had a fantastic time! The location is perfect, great views from the back of the chalet, and just a stroll across the road to the ski lift. It was very warm and comfortable, plenty of food - fruit always available. But the staff were all really amazing! We were so impressed. They were always friendly, keen to help and genuinely welcoming. We'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back more expensive but bigger and with a great view, but all rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We used chalet cascades as a large group of skiers, their was propably 20 or so of us. Generally speaking it was very good.

Its position is perfect, next door to a couple of GREAT bars, opposite the main lift so it's easy to be first up their abusing the powder!

The skiing is of great standard with the three valleys to pick and choose from which makes the skiing varied and challenging when you go for a good long day out to val thorens or meribel. We were also really lucky in that we had AMAZING sunny days all but one which was so blizzardy we nearly came off the mountain....but we didn't! and it snowed pretty much every night so powder all round!

The staff were great, my friend and i were the youngest in the group by a LONG stretch so we actually went out with the staff on their night off and they were brilliant took us to some totally unkown little drinking holes, was great! and they got us into clubs in 1850 that we normally would NOT of been allowed into which was pretty rad.

The food was of pretty good standard and quantity and it was a good varied menu set out for the week and their was copious amount of wine floating around which is so ideal!

Our room was bright and open, i think we were on the 3rd floor? not 100% sure about that, we had a balcony that looked over the main road which was so pretty! and all the rooms had wicked views! not that it matters when you're up in the mountains all day anyway. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was big enough for us both to shuffle about in and it was all nice and clean!

Also, their was this big open room, like a sitting room, with a fire and sofas and stuff for chilling out in on that one night where you just can't stomach any more booze!

All round good chalet, i'd most certainly stay their again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
1.3 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#5 of 54 in Courchevel
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#18 of 54 in Courchevel
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Peupliers
Hotel Les Peupliers
#6 of 54 in Courchevel
112 reviews
1 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#7 of 54 in Courchevel
74 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#31 of 54 in Courchevel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades

Address: Rue de l'Aguille de Fruit, 1650, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Courchevel
Price Range: £82 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very centre of Courchevel 1650, with the main gondola just across the street and convenient for all the resort’s amenities, the Cascades has been extensively refurbished over recent seasons, and this winter sees the addition of a brand new lounge on the top floor, together with five new valley-facing bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing