We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, service to be reviewed”
Review of Le Strato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Strato
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Courchevel
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is really nice, modern and the rooms are very spacious
The beds however are not very comfortable.
The reception are very friendly so is the concierge and very helpful .
Shuttle bus always available .
The spa and the pool are good
The room service is not very good neither is the house keeping.
The breakfast is great.
And the bar as well, with live music at night .
Make sure you have a mountain view room as it is breathtaking in the morning!
Hotel is recommended if you like modern accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COOKS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia C, Directeur général at Le Strato, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014
Google Translation

Cher Monsieur, Chère Madame,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de laisser votre commentaire sur ce site.
Nous sommes désolés que le service n'ait pas été à la hauteur de vos attentes et espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau au Strato afin de vous permettre de rester sur une meilleure impression.
Bien cordialement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

i was hosted in this chic-sportive hotel for 5 nights. it made my "white" days, much better. as after doing demanding winter sports as: ice skating, delta jump (from the top of courchevel ski area..sort of engliding), watching the polo match, in heavy snow,doing snow mobile scooter, i was coming back to my suite frozen and exhausted.
this terrain of oak wood floor,was pampering with its big space, including huge bathroom, great black and white wall photos of skiers,comfortable armchairs with velvet covers, caressing and relaxing my eyes ,from all the active-demanding things i did.the balcony was waiting for me ,to gaze, at the snowy peaks and the experts, running on the foot of the slope -Cospillot.
so it made me curious to check the ski room.there i was surprise to see a bar.ready to serve you a glass of champagne, for a good starter of the day.people were overall equipped with the ski sticks of LE STRATO. designed in the Rossignol workshop. wearing the brand name of limited collection same name of the hotel. its possible to hire or buy them, i didn't do both ,as ski is not my best friend.
but i couldn't refuse the great food in the restaurant ,that is directed perfectly by the chef -Jean Andre Charial. owner of the legendary L'oustau de Baumaniere in Provence.his team of 40 people, split between the different areas of dining in the hotel. the flagship is the restaurant that in 2012 got 2 Michelin stars. and i can understand why, as it was a full menu of the creme de la creme.
and i must say one or more words about-the spa. all the products and treatments ,are from the prestige house of Nuxe. promises hours of bliss.the latest cosmetic is available here. i just wanted a regular swedish massage to comfort my body, and it was great!.so next season plan to come to this top of the top, at 1850-best ski area in the world.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gili1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia C, Directeur général at Le Strato, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

First of all sorry for answering so late ! We thank you very much for your nice coment and are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Whilst the decorating and rooms were spectacular several aspects were extremely disappointing .
i have rated highly below however.
I sent an email to management last year after our stay and never heard back from them.
This is what I sent
I wanted to let you know that we all the thought the hotel was fabulous and the staff exceptional.
There were a couple of problems.
I have a few baths that were not hot enough and I don't think that should be the case. I love HOT baths and need them after the skiing.The hot tub was tepid too.

The food was a big problem. Whilst I realize that your restaurant is highly rated the choice was limited for a 4 day stay.
It was a surprise to be handed a menu on the first day with so many additions in price.I think it is highly misleading to call it half board.We were paying about 2000 euros a day.
I did ask if we could have anything off the menu when I called earlier in the year.
Even if we didn't care about the menu being extra the choice was poor.
The amusements were far too salty and repetitive and rich.
Frog's legs and pigeon is not what you necessarily feel like after skiing.
We have stayed at the Kristiana in Lech and the Riffelalp in Zermatt and were given a daily choice of half board which were delicious and heathy with mush more choice.We are used to high end restaurants and not just hicks!I
The menu with additions made us feel very awkward as i have never been confronted with that before,either its half board or it isn't.maybe additions on an item or two but the same menu every day essentially is not creative!!!
I think it should have been much clearer or don't do half board. It was a constent problem with division of the bill between our two rooms as well which my husnad got most upset about.
Maybe a healthy option would be an idea.
Two of us contracted the stomach flu that was going around and i understand that staff were sick.As a doctor when one gets an outbreak like that I really think there should be strict rules about not working and better hand washing.The food required much handling and i suspect that is how we contracted it.
To add insult to injury my poor brother in law had barely any dinner.I think some plain pasta and then his partner was charged a 50 euro supplement even though one of us wasn't eating.
I did ask for a solution after the first night and we had some green salads for starters but I would have preferred a proper daily changing selection.
If the food etc. hadn't been a problem i would highly recommend the hotel to friends.
The breakfasts were spectacular

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ursula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed in the Strato hotel between December-Jan 2011-12, and we were disappointed with our stay. Our room was a 2 floor/2 room suite and for the price payed it did not live up to expectations.
We were very impressed with some of the features available to us, for example the in room entertainment system was perfect. It had a huge range of movies, access to ipod through the tv, high-tech touch screen remotes which were easy to use - and unlike other hotels all of the features actually worked.
Our suite also featured two bathrooms, which was very convenient and a nice feature to have a separate bath and shower room, and two separate toilets - which meant that getting ready in the evenings was much easier, and if one was to invite a guest into the downstairs lounge area they could use a separate wash room without entering our bedroom.
When ordering coffees and drinks in the morning, room service would also bring us a selection of fruits, pastries and yogurts without us having asked - which was a nice touch.


However, what disappointed us about our stay was that there were far more negatives than there were positives.
We felt that the room had been created in a hurry, and poorly planned out. Our bed was situated underneath wooden beams that were far too low. We managed to hit our heads on average 5 times a day, and we are not particularly tall people. Furthermore, directly above our bed was a 3 inch nail protruding from one of the beams, which is a serious health and safety issue.
Our first day set a precedent for how we would feel throughout the rest of our stay. A pair of very expensive shoes (yes shoes!!!) went missing from our room, which we assumed may have been taken for cleaning after searching the entirety of our suite and not finding them. We complained to reception who obviously didn't quite believe us (who would?) - but upon returning from dinner a few hours later, the shoes were found in the centre of the room beneath our laptop bag that we had been using that day, and had obviously looked under when searching for the shoes previously. The shoes had not been cleaned - leaving us very confused.

The room had not been organised with the hotel guest in mind. There was a pillar in the centre of the room between our bed and the television, making it impossible to enjoy watching movies/TV as you could only see the TV from one side of the bed.
The bathroom drawers were obstructed by the bathroom door if the door was anything but fully closed. Which inevitably led to scratches on the bathroom door, which the hotel tried to charge us for (scrapes were also there before.) The bath plug and shower attachment were broken, which meant that to empty bath water you had to remove the plug entirely, and washing one's hair with the attachment was impossible, as the shower feature on it did not work.
We have also had to pay for damages to the wooden staircase, which were scratched. We are fair people, and will always understand if we have damaged something (we didn't argue with paying for it) however, if the building materials are of such poor quality that one cannot walk up stairs in their shoes without damaging them we think perhaps the architect should reconsider cutting corners. It may be added that shoes were worn when going up the stairs on one occasion.
The hotel also attempted to charge us for a door hinge in the downstairs bathroom being damaged - which had absolutely nothing to do with us and therefore we refused to pay this.
We felt there was little effort from staff to make guests feel welcome or at home, and we witnessed several other guests complaining either to the staff directly, or between each other about hotel services and rooms.
Temperature control in the rooms is also a big issue - in order to increase or decrease the temperature, one has to call down to reception as there is no way to do it from the rooms - In the upstairs bedroom there is only one very small window which opens a couple of cms which is a problem when attempting to ventilate your room.
Our room was located down the corridor from a games room and sound insulation is not great. From our upstairs room, which is above the corridor leading to the games room we could constantly hear children screaming and shouting throughout the day.

One other situation that led us to feel rather uncomfortable was when somebody had been employed to scrape the snow off the roof of the hotel. The sloped ceiling of our rooms featured windows which had been covered in snow. One evening we were quite alarmed by banging which sounded like somebody trying to break into our room. We then realized that there was a man above us on the roof clearing our windows - however we had not been warned prior to this (however they did manage to warn us about our balcony being cleared the next day?!) and having just come out of the bath this could have led to a very embarrassing situation.

In summary, our room was quite uncomfortable and inconvenient to stay in. The hotel should also consider better lighting as even with all of the lights on, our room remained in a state of semi darkness (especially in the evenings). We are sure that there are other rooms and suites in the hotel which are preferable to our own (i.e. chalets and bungalows) but when you are paying thousands per night for what is supposedly one of the 'better' suites, the hotel could have made more effort. The idea behind our room was 5 star but unfortunately this failed to translate into the quality of the room.

Room Tip: Would probably go for a chalet - or avoid completely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Abbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon L, Directeur général at Le Strato, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for the note you wrote, following our conversation.
We were delighted to welcome you to the Hotel Le Strato and we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay among us. Sincerly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heloise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alfred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ольга Л
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia C, Directeur général at Le Strato, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.3 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#7 of 54 in Courchevel
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#17 of 54 in Courchevel
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Suites de la Potiniere
Les Suites de la Potiniere
#38 of 54 in Courchevel
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Les Neiges
Hotel Barriere Les Neiges
#22 of 54 in Courchevel
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Saint Joseph
Le Saint Joseph
#34 of 54 in Courchevel
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#12 of 54 in Courchevel
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Strato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Strato

Address: Route de Bellecote | Courchevel 1850, 73120, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range: £935 - £2,201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Strato 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Le Strato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Strato Hotel Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing