We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive!”
Review of Les Ducs de Savoie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Ducs de Savoie
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Courchevel
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is my second time I have been here and for just a 3 star hotel I thought it was very impressive although it was a little on the expensive side! I would defiantly choose it again next year and the staff are all really friendly here and make you feel welcome to the hotel. The spa in the hotel was very nice and a good time to relax after a full days skiing or snowboarding and especially if you get tired easily!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyL945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

In a town where most of the hotels are now 5 stars, this little gem of a 3 star hotel really has everything you need for a superb skiing holiday. Though still not cheap, the service and friendliness of the staff and their manager, Sylvie, is worth every penny. The hotel's location directly on the Jardin Alpin allows for easy ski in, ski out. Catch the small gondola in the mornings up to the slopes, and you even avoid the line-ups from the village.
The ski shop is fabulous - I wish I could've brought those boys home with me. Where else do find your skis laid out for you in the morning? And how many times have you been offered help in taking your boots off after a long day of skiing, while your slippers are brought to you?
The hotel boasts a spa with a nicely heated pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Perfect after a long day on the slopes.
You will not starve at Les Ducs, as the dinners are spectacular 5 course affairs. So much for the plan to work off a pound or two on the slopes....you'd be lucky to return home without having gained weight! Breakfast is a buffet, with loads of gorgeous fresh French baked goods. Yum.
The service is impeccable - both in the restaurant and in the bar.
The rooms are not large, but they have everything you need, and are kept in immaculate condition thanks to the excellent housekeeping staff. The beds are super comfortable. We had a standard south facing room, but I am not sure it was worth the extra money. Sure the view is nice, but, let's face it, the nicest views are from the top of the slopes!
This was our first visit at Les Ducs, but definitely not our last. Courchevel itself is a fantastic ski destination, with lots to do for skiers at all levels. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeidiToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I came to Ducs de Savoie with a girlfriend for a few days away skiing. I had previously only stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels in Courchevel and wasn't expecting the standard to be the same. I was wrong - the hotel was delightful. We loved the service given by Olivier and Gregory in the ski room where our boots were put on and taken off each day - what a welcome back after a hard day on the slopes. The food was excellent - possibly even better than at the sister hotels as it was less fancy and the Dining Room was a lovely large room with windows along 3 sides. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble - from getting our lift passes organised to having a late check-out on the day of departure. Yes the rooms were a little tired and small but they were well equipped and when we asked for the heating to be turned off an engineer came up promptly to complete the task. We loved the location which is so peaceful yet near enough to town to get in and out easily. And the pool and spa were clean and well maintained and provided welcome respite after all the exercise. We will definitely return and are delighted we have found this little gem in the mountains.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I had seen earlier Tripadvisor reviews of "Les Ducs" and was not disappointed. The hotel is absolutely first class. And a great place to stay in what is in my opinion acknowledged as quite simply the the best skiing resort in Europe. Spending a week here as a single traveller I found the room comfortable with all necessary facilities. I experienced no trouble with noise. The restaurant is well organised & standard of food excellent. You will not go hungry at this hotel. Restaurant staff are efficient, proud of their environment, & plentiful. I was made completely welcome from the start. Not only by them but by the owner & all reception staff. The breakfast is self serve with as much variation as you could possibly need. Altogether, the dining experience & lounge apres dinner were comfortable & pleasant places to be. The hotel has an outstanding swimming pool area. With robes & footwear provided. It is warm & comfortable. With equally good sauna & massage facilities. Unlike many hotels I have stayed at where the pool is deliberately kept cold. The hotel has its own in house ski & boot facility which is an absolute gem. The staff in charge could not have been more helpful. Taking all the unpleasantness out of the usual renting exercise. It may not be cheap. But to have skis put out for you each day just to slip on & ski off was great. Of course the location must be regarded as an outstanding feature. On the Jardin Alpin. Closely surrounded by lifts to virtually every area of choice. Few queues. Given the superb snow, clear blue skies, and this wonderful hotel, this became quite simply the classic ski week for those of us who regard ourselves as enthusiastic recreational skiers. Inghams have chosen carefully to include this venue. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try & get a room higher than level 1 if you can. But this may result in a sharp increase in tari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W0rthyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I was a bit weary at first, and was suprised by the cost of the room (although Courchvel is always expensive). The amazing service by the staff made the difference though.
Plus:
- Actually ski in - ski out
- Ski rental in the hotel (it took us 30mn watch in hand to go from parking the car to being on the slopes, with rental!)
- Friendlyness of staff (the made off-menu sandwiches for us to catter for our allergies, without asking us to pay a premium, offered to drive us to town with their private cars, ...)

Minus:
- Parking (18€ per night) is really a pain to get out of
- Spa could use a bit of refurbishing
- Not exactly walking distance to center (15 mn)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is the second new year we have spent in this small gem of a hotel. The staff are delightful, special mention must go to our waiter(Matheus?, from Alsace) - he was very attentive and helpful. Also the ski store staff are awesome, it is really truly special to walk out of the hotel in the morning and find skis laid out ready to step into. I also love coming back at the end of the day and they help to take ski boots off...and bring slippers out. Food and wine are excellent. Location impossible to beat. Rooms are still a bit tired and bathrooms could be updated. However, we said last "we will be back", I think I can safely now say "we will be back...again".

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank elmScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have come here twice a year for the last 8 years .It is one of the only remaining modest three stars hotels (and still quite expensive) in a sky station where all new hotels are five stars and where there is no limit to extravagancas and indecencies since the richest people of the planet (and in the first place russian oligarcs and saudi princes) have decided to spend their sky holidays here . The hotel is just comfortable , extremely well managed by wonderful Sylvie Corniault , assisted by a superb team of hostesses , maître d'hôtel , waiters and waitresses of great competence.The food (family style) is nothing but excellent and the wine list has everytning to please all wine connaisseurs . The same clients are coming back year after year which makes it a wonderful family hotel where everybody is happy to meet everybody .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#13 of 54 in Courchevel
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#4 of 54 in Courchevel
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snow Lodge Boutique Hotel
Snow Lodge Boutique Hotel
#19 of 54 in Courchevel
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#11 of 54 in Courchevel
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#42 of 54 in Courchevel
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellecote
Hotel Bellecote
#50 of 54 in Courchevel
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Ducs de Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Ducs de Savoie

Address: Route du Jardin Alpin | Courchevel 1850, 73120, Courchevel, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range: £259 - £576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Ducs de Savoie 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Ducs de Savoie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Ducs De Savoie Hotel Courchevel
Les Ducs De Savoie Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing