We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”
Review of Courcheneige-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Courcheneige-Hotel
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Courchevel
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was my first stay at the Courcheneige and certainly won’t be my last. I took advantage of their 'quite week' offer which included ski's, boot's and 3 Valleys ski pass, we were a party of four. If you want to be picky, yes the rooms are a little dated but both practical and comfortable. The staff were excellent, friendly and keen to make your stay a comfortable one. The food was a highlight, choice of two starters and mains together with various desserts, the restaurant was adequate and again the staff eager to please although occasionally forgetful [it is very busy at meal times]. Having a ski shop on site was very useful and ski in/out blissful. The bar area is very comfortable with drinks priced surprisingly fairly for a resort renowned for its cost. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJC666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a week at the Courcheneige, our first for three years, and loved it. Staff are friendly, ski room works well, food was good, and the location, at the top of the Bellecote, cannot be bettered. It is just so easy to ski out and ski in from many lifts.

This is not a typical Courchevel grand luxe hotel, but the rooms are comfortable and the views are outstanding. We had a south facing room with a balcony and loved it.

Out of high season, the hotel runs really good promotions with free lift pass and equipment hire included in the half board price. We felt we got a good deal.

We also used the Courcheneige as a mountain restaurant for lunch. It is great and affordable with a stunning terrace. I recommend the 15 Euro buffet first course (which was all we had it was so good!). There was a wide range of food on offer including oysters and smoked salmon.

The Courcheneige is good value for money...a rare thing in Courchevel.

Room Tip: We like the south facing rooms with a balcony. A bit more to pay but wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I can’t comment on the accommodation or quality of a ‘stay’ at the Courcheneige, but I can thoroughly recommend it as a place to take a break or get some chilled early ‘après’. As another contributor has pointed out, €5 for a pint of Stella is pretty good value for Courchevel 1850. The atmosphere in the large lounge/bar area is nicely chilled, and there are plenty of very comfortable large brown leather sofas to relax in, you can choose a fireside or window seat, and enjoy a cold beer, ‘vin chaude’ etc. Service is fast and, rarely in my experience of France, friendly and courteous.

If the weather is fine, there is a ‘sun terrace’ at the front of the building, with chairs and tables, and a large ‘cauldron style’ open fire.

We had lunch here too and the food was of excellent quality and value (for Courchevel). All in all, this was by far the best place we found for mountain food, drink and atmosphere during our 3 valleys ski holiday this year. We visited it at least once every day.

The location is great as it is literally 3 to 4 minutes from the centre of 1850 (on skis/boards) and the lifts or central hotels. It’s towards the bottom of ‘Cruex’ just past the Altiport on the left, close to the bottom of the ‘Pralong’ chair lift.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Good 3* hotel in at 1850 which was a little too high for some of our party. Altitude probs caused lack of sleep. The skiing was good, we had good snow conditions. Good staff in ski shop, very helpful. Some restaurant staff great, some not so great. Food was very average. Would prefer to stay lower down, maybe Courchevel 1650 but the experience was overall good. The hotel owner doesn't add to the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

With deepest gratitude.

In January 2013 we wrote a TripAdvisor review of our dream vacation at this location.

This year we booked our vacation here again for January 2014 but unfortunately had to cancel due to illness.
I want to thank the management of the hotel on their fairness, integrity and consideration for us.
All deposit was returned without any argument despite the cancellation being only a week before the date of booking.

Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bracha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Would not recommend! The rooms were old. Employees were rather helpful but most lacked a happy attitude. The best part was that we were on the slopes. The shuttle from town was used a lot by us which was good but there were only 8 seats which meant the driver had to come back. The restaurant was dismal. Terrible service. Choose wisely....

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank jordeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay at the Courcheneige for New Year 2014. It had been recommended by a friend as a (relatively) good value place to stay in 1850 and it certainly lived up to expectations.
We arrived by taxi and you enter via a garage and then take two lifts and walk up a fairly long ramp to get to reception - not the usual hotel entrance.
The location on the Bellecote piste (an easy green down to the main town) was excellent - real ski-in/out. It's about a 1km walk down the piste or a 10min shuttle bus or 25 euro taxi ride each way. This was good and bad - nice and peaceful, but not an easy trip to go shopping. The views of the mountains from the south and east facing rooms are stunning - especially from floor 2 and above.
Our bedroom was spacious, clean and comfortable with a large balcony. The TV carried some English channels which kept the teenage kids entertained. Wifi coverage was patchy in the hotel and not good in our hotel room which was disappointing.
The bar area is superb - large spacious and with a roaring fire and a great atmosphere. Add some reasonably priced champagne/beer and it's a great place to spend the evenings! The terrace with it's open fire and wonderful location is very special on a sunny day too.
The restaurant was very good indeed. The food was very good indeed as was the wine list. Breakfast included porridge, freshly squeezed orange juice (albeit too watered down) and lots of hot food too. Lunch included everything from a lovely fresh buffet to pasta/burgers or French dishes to fuel tired skiers. We ate from the hotel dinner menu which offered 2 choices for starter and main course and then a buffet of cheese or dessert. All were generous and well cooked. As a hotel guest for the week we were allocated a table in the same location - maybe check where you are going to be sat on the first night as it's not easy to change afterwards. The restaurant staff all seemed excellent - they worked hard and offered fast efficient and friendly service. The staff in the hotel's ski shop (Fabien/Xavier) were exceptional offering great service, advice and also good gear.They deserve a bigger boot room though - the space for boots and skis is too limited in peak weeks. Most of the rest of the staff at the reception were very good (apart from one rude young man - name badges might help).
The hotel spa treatment room was excellent and the massage and other treatments offered were very good. Its a real shame the hotel doesn't have a sauna and outdoor hot tub too - this would add a bit of luxury for little cost.
Finally, the New Years eve fireworks were superb - the Courcheneige display was the best in the whole resort! Thanks for a great week.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side overlook the terrace and mountain, those on the east the Bellecote piste. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLN64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
0.2 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#5 of 54 in Courchevel
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Ducs de Savoie
Les Ducs de Savoie
#17 of 54 in Courchevel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 54 in Courchevel
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel New Solarium
Hotel New Solarium
#31 of 54 in Courchevel
334 reviews
1.3 mi away
Les Cimes Blanches apartments
Les Cimes Blanches apartments
#24 of 54 in Courchevel
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courcheneige-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courcheneige-Hotel

Address: Rue Nogentil, 73120, Courchevel, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Courchevel
#3 Family Hotel in Courchevel
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range: £247 - £576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
86 redecorated rooms, Sports shop, Private garage, Concierge, Brasserie De Laroche, Apres-Ski Waikiki, Snack Petit Stop and Bar. Follow us on facebook ok Instagram @hotelcourcheneige @waikikiapresski @delaroche_courchevel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Courcheneige-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courcheneige Hotel Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing