We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Property!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courcheneige

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courcheneige
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Courchevel
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Fantastic Property!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Just finished a week's stay in this wonderful property and had the best skiing holiday ever!

I highly recommend this hotel as it is one of the best! The excellent service and the great facilities (ski shop with the latest gear and ski pass is also available in the shop). I was surprised by the prices as normally I feel robbed in a ski resort and was prepared to be robbed again this year! But how wrong I was as everything was extremely reasonably priced in this hotel. A pint of beer is the same price as in a London pub, and the food quality and prices are also fantastic!

Thank you for a most enjoyable visit, I am sure I'll be back again in the not too distant future!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    58
    22
    15
    22
See reviews for
94
75
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We last stayed here 9 years ago, before the current management, and it was OK. Now it's great due to the food and staff improvements. The position is perfect right on the piste. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable but not special. It had a lovely south facing view. The young staff here are very pleasant and can't do enough for the guests. Several families were also staying and made for a lovely atmosphere. The meals are much improved and there's enough choice for most people. Their bar prices are very reasonable, too, for a mountain hotel. The ski shop was well stocked and arranged the lift passes for a small premium. The dining area is a bit cramped and back-to-back seating makes for tightly fitted tables, but it's not fine dining so make do! If you chose to eat later you may miss some of the dessert selections but it was quieter. The site is romoured to be about to be redeveloped by another operator so it may go from 3 to 5 stars and price me out if I want to return.......pity as it's a good formula now.

Room Tip: South or east facing rooms at level 2 or above are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Came for a long weekend after a friend talked me into a second ski holiday without the kids. The hotel is very friendly and the location is perfect I mean perfect ski in and ski out. Ski shop has first class gear and well organised and also sells ski pass. The prices are very good I would say best value in 1850. Service from the staff was very good from the great welcome every morning checking from the restaurant hostess at breakfast if we would like a table in the sun for the afternoon and the hotel manager Benoit always visible and a perfect host. We will be coming back next year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is in an amazing location and the view from my room was to die for, over-looking the free drag lift (see photo), but it was incredibly basic for the money and the food very bland. I enjoyed the breakfasts but dinners were very disappointing. There was a choice of menu and 4 courses, so more than enough food, but I would have preferred one good freshly cooked course. The food was delivered to your table within 3 minutes of placing your order... The dull room only had one power point, so to charge a laptop or phone or use the hair dryer you had to unplug the TV. The hair dryer in the bathroom was hopeless but the hotel supplied a better one on request. My bed sloped so not very comfortable and the heating kept going on and off through the night.

On the plus side the staff were very helpful and friendly and they have a good ski shop on site, plus free access to computers and printers and a great terrace with fire pit, bar and loungers to sunbathe on. The water was always piping hot too and there is a free shuttle bus to the village.

I expected much more judging from the website and the price paid, but then again I guess everywhere in Courchevel is over-priced!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SupernannyHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We've been staying at the Courcheneige for somewhere in the region of 20-years, We haven't been every year, but this year it was probably our fifteenth visit.

When several years ago, the Heulley family sold the hotel to the new owners we had reservations for the future. But new the owners bought new ideas and we consider that the hotel gradually improved overall .... especially the restaurant and bar areas.

However, this year we were saddened to hear that the recent rumours of redevelopment now look to be gathering pace. Allegedly, the Courcheneige hotel is being demolished and a Four Seasons hotel being built in its place.

We really will be sad to see this happen, we've had so many good times there, we've met some lovely people. The location will be the same for sure ..... but will the new establishment be as affordable or even offer the same great value as the Coucheneige? It doesn't take much to work that one out!!

Room Tip: South side with balconies for sun and mountain views, and east side for great views over to 1650 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BR11SUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a weeks all inclusive stay with friends Jan 2014. The food was very good, alternative options are available every night (raclette, fondues etc) if you don't fancy what's on the menu. Breakfast contains variety and choice, freshly made coffee and squeezed orange juice, pastries, eggs cooked any way to order, cooked meats, cheeses, yogurts and lots more. A complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival (have it whenever you like) was a nice touch. The ski shop is well stocked and well staffed. We had no problem changing equipment, skis to boards, different skis etc for the powder days.
The full size baths were great after a long days skiing. The rooms are comfortable, functional and cleaned well every day. The staff on reception were always helpful. The only critism from our group would be that some of the staff could be a little more attentive, however, personally, our waiter was great, even got the light bulb changed!
Great ski in ski out location. Didn't experience any noise issues at night(apart from my room mate snoring). Very few children staying during our week, not half term, mostly an older clientele.
Good value for money and a very relaxing week.
Norman ; )

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank CleanMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was my first stay at the Courcheneige and certainly won’t be my last. I took advantage of their 'quite week' offer which included ski's, boot's and 3 Valleys ski pass, we were a party of four. If you want to be picky, yes the rooms are a little dated but both practical and comfortable. The staff were excellent, friendly and keen to make your stay a comfortable one. The food was a highlight, choice of two starters and mains together with various desserts, the restaurant was adequate and again the staff eager to please although occasionally forgetful [it is very busy at meal times]. Having a ski shop on site was very useful and ski in/out blissful. The bar area is very comfortable with drinks priced surprisingly fairly for a resort renowned for its cost. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJC666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#5 of 54 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
0.8 mi away
La Pomme de Pin
La Pomme de Pin
#19 of 54 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#17 of 54 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#12 of 54 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel New Solarium
Hotel New Solarium
#29 of 54 in Courchevel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courcheneige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courcheneige

Property: Courcheneige
Address: Rue Nogentil, 73120, Courchevel, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Courchevel
#3 Family Hotel in Courchevel
#4 Best Value Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Courcheneige Hotel Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing