We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food and friendly staff”
Review of Les Ancolies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Ancolies Hotel
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Courchevel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent a lovely week at Les Ancolies in 1550 Courcheval in Jan 2014.
The hotel is 3 star but is better than that.
The evening meal was always interesting, well presented, and served with grace and good humour. My wife has problems with dairy products and the staff always tried to accommodate her.
The cheese trolly is wonderful and would be at home in a Michelin starred restaurant.
Breakfasts however were somewhat dissapointing when compared to the dinner.
The rooms were on the small side but typical of other alpine hotels. The bathroom was adequate. The bed was very good. Cleanliness was excellent.
The village of 1550 itself is very quiet and having been used to apres ski in Austria we found the whole resort to be somewhat dead.
The prices for meals on the mountains were grossly inflated and mediocre.
Les Ancolies however ticked all our boxes with comfortable accommodation , friendly staff and excellent meals

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was an excellent value for money stay in an otherwise very expensive resort. Good ski-in ski out location, close to first lift of the day. Food good, people pleasant, rooms clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaGeBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a very friendly welcome and the good hospitality continued throughout our weeks stay.
Rooms are as expected for a hotel of this standard. Clean,cosy and functional but as previously mentioned there are few English TV channels however we had no problems with wifi in the room.
The continental section of breakfast was good but I like my coffee really hot and unfortunately this was not the case (but that's being a bit picky).
The evening meal was better than anticipated for a 3* hotel. Although there was no menu choice when on a half board basis, the food was all of excellent quality, well cooked and with 5 courses even if one is not to your personal taste, you won't go hungry. The service was very polite, friendly and professional.
1550 is only a short gondola away from 1850 from where you can ski the whole of the 3 valleys.
Access to that gondola is by crossing the road from the ski locker and a very short walk up a track, skis on and you're then less than a minute from the gondola to 1850. The ski back home is via a blue run (tovets) and all but very nervous first time skiers will manage the short track from the piste back to the hotel.
As 1550 apres is fairly modest the free ski bus is great for getting you to 1650, 1850 or La Tania very easily.
I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel as a ski base especially if 1850s a bit above your budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieseldog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Convenient for skiers since you can just cross the street and walk up to a ski slope that will take you to the gondola that brings you to Courchevel 1850. Likewise, you can ski right back down to the hotel. Considering how expensive everything is at 1850, this is an affordable solution. The hotel is modest but very clean and the staff is very welcoming and helpful. I asked the front desk where I could purchase a stamp for my postcard and they just gave me one. I also got news of a death in the family while staying there which is why, that evening, I did not feel like eating in the main area so they set me up with my own little private table near the fireplace. Very thoughtful. The bed and pillow were very comfortable and the TV had a good selection of channels. The only downside I see is that the ski room is tight. I was there in low season so I did not have to deal with crowds but I can imagine that it would be difficult if most guests were in that room at the same time to put on their boots etc. The food at the restaurant was very good and the waiters were very courteous. Great place for a short stay.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor so below the dining area. This means a bit of noise in the evening a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZurichPizazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

everything exactly as promised, very friendly hotel, people always here to help you, very good localisation close to the thelecabin, huge ski area , shuttle bus more than enough to avoid to take the car, food fantastic, hotel clean ... perfect for family ski vacations.
after the cheese tray, a lot of time I didn't see once like that, can't ask better, yes I forget the wine list was also nice :-)
must book with balcony and half board to enjoy at the maximum

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guillaume l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The hotel is a small 2 or 3 star unit. Rooms are small and furnished very sparsely. Do not expect a lot of space to put your luggae, and don't expect any nice furniture or creature comforts. Breakfast was decent, albeit the same boring stuff over and over each morning. Croissants and baked goods are delish though! My main complaint with regards to this hotel is the wi-fi and service. The wi-fi only reaches to a certain portion of the rooms so come 9pm half the hotel is in the lobby on their laptops trying to access the internet. The router configuration is also not set up properly so internet access even when you are in the lobby can be very hit or miss, not to mention it goes down periodically until you ask the receptionist to reset the router. The receptionist was also not very friendly when approached about internet connectivity issues and said a few times "but it seems to work for those guests", as she pointed to some ppl sitting in the lobby working on their laptops who may or may not have actually been on the internet. I realize this is not a high end hotel, but for the >US$360 I was paying during peak season, I think having working internet and a receptionist who gets annoyed at you when you ask for help would be not much to ask for.

On the positives, the croissants in the morning are great and the waiter in the restaurant is super cool! Location is ski in / ski out in courchevel 1550 which means you are OK but not great in terms of location ski-wise. You're not at the very bottom but you'll still have to spend a good amount of time going up to courchevel 1850 via lift each day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelleCourchevel, Owner at Les Ancolies Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Guest (sorry but I don't have your name),

First of all, I would like to say sorry if you did not enjoy your stay at Les Ancolies.
But please I would like to answer to some of your complains.
- Please note that the size of our rooms are over the normal size which a 3 stars hotel in France need to have. I agree with you that some of our rooms need to be renovated as we started to refurbish few but not all.
- concerning the buffet breakfast, you can find every morning fresh foods as Fresh fruits and 3 kinds of dry fruits, compote, yogurts, soft white cheese, pancakes, bread baguette and farmhouse bread + toast, 3 kind of marmalade and nutella, sausage, eggs, tomatos, salmon, cheese and ham (homemade) and fresh orange juice and apple juice.
So I don't know what do you mean by "boring stuff" but I'm sure if you have asked for somethingelse we would be happy to give it to you.
- concerning the WI FI, you totally right. We have realised that when there is more than 30 computer + I phone connected the link was very bad. That's why we are doing a new installation of internet borne for the next winter in order to have a very good internet access to all our guests.

I finish by the location of our hotel which is ski in/out with only 4 mn gondola to reach Courchevel 1850. The guests are usually very happy to spend only 4 mn in a telecabine to enjoy the 3 valleys area.
I would like to thank you for your time and your comments, it is always enriching for an hotel owner to have the impression (positive or negative) in order to improve our services.
I thank you and I stay at your disposal,
My Kind regards, Isabelle Person, Manager and owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

If you want to go to Courcheval and have an excellent skiing experience look no further than Les Ancholis. This is a well managed comfortable hotel with the bonus of a good restaurant. The rooms and public areas offer all that most skiers could wish for and the hotel staff are well above average in terms of the service they provide and the cheerfulness with which they provide it. Most staff are fluent in English. The hotel is almost ski in-ski out and only a short distance from the telecabine from 1550 to 1850.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisjohnwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
1.1 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#4 of 54 in Courchevel
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#13 of 54 in Courchevel
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#11 of 54 in Courchevel
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel New Solarium
Hotel New Solarium
#30 of 54 in Courchevel
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Snow Lodge Boutique Hotel
Snow Lodge Boutique Hotel
#19 of 54 in Courchevel
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Ancolies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Ancolies Hotel

Address: rue des Gravelles, 73120, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range: £135 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Ancolies Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the edge of the forest, in the Courchevel resort, along the sledging track lit up at night, you'll have ski-on and ski-off access to the slopes from The Ancolies hotel. You will appreciate the personalised welcome and the attentive service reserved just for you. The bedrooms are very pleasant and nicely decorated, complete with a satellite TV, radio, telephone, bathroom and separate toilet. The french windows open onto an equipped balcony. This hotel is ideal for a relaxing stay bringing together skiing, gastronomy, and the peace and quiet of Courchevel Village. Delicious, authentic food is offered, with a creative menu making use of authetic produce. The cosy lounge, complete with a large brass fireplace invites you to enjoy a precious moment of après-ski relaxation, soothed by the harmonious tones of the piano. To un-wind after a day of skiing, the hotel proposes a relaxation area with a sauna, hammam, hot tub and massages (at an extra charge). Courchevel's ski domain, the biggest in the world, boasts hi-tech ski lifts and a large variety of slopes. Whether you are a beginner, a confirmed skier, a snowboarder, a lover of wide, open spaces or skiing with your family Courchevel will offer you the ski experience you've been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Ancolies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Ancolies
Les Ancolies Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing