We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel let down by the restaurant food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Lana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Lana
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel let down by the restaurant food”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

This is an expensive hotel but that is justified overall (location, rooms etc). We found the senior staff very good (ie the reception, concierge, sommelier, maitre de , ski room attendant but the junior staff in the restaurant were quite inexperienced for such a so called high quality establishment. Also it was very disappointing on a number of nights (when you have committed to full board ) to get quite bland meals and meat that was over cooked and dry - even when ordering off the al a carte menu. Having said this nothing was too much trouble for the hotel to organise or fix as we had a few issues not to do with the hotel which they helped resolve very successfully. This was our second visit and I think they would need to lift the food element for us to consider returning because for six nights this is a challenge to keep the guests looking forward to dinner each evening. For example last time there was more effort around the cheese trolley and the waiter knew the cheeses. This time they were far less informed and as a consequence much less anticipation. The breakfast was very good buffet style. Maybe dinner should be the same?

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stan658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    8
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
16
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I visit courchevel every year and LE Lana was recommended by some friends .my experience was a disaster ! The rate Per night was 700 euros for a medium room while the service ,the hygiene and interior were far below an average 4 stars hotel.the medium room is tiny ,very old interior ,dirty toilet ,drapesand curtains ...and what is most important is that none of the rooms are quiet! Rooms in first and second floor have a continious noise day and night from ventilation machines ,service doors ,neighbors tv ,and the general crowd...
The hotel is owned by a lady who is not ready to make u any discount even if u have spent the worst night in ur life.the spa is tiny and smelly ,treatments from clarins and massage are below average ,gym open late close early and the machines are old ...the only good thing about LE Lana is the concierge and shuttle service which is not worth 700 euros per night for a regular room.in addition to this ,while checking out make sure to revise ur final bill coz they always add extra items from the mini bar and room service ...lobby is average while prices are again very high....won't stay at LE Lana next year for sure !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Now this is "The Place" for anniversaries ,birthdays and special celebrations.
Not for regular family holidays as it's just too expensive. The facilities ,food ,service and general ambience are second to none. Personal valet service for ski in and ski out is a great novelty too.
JohnW

Room Tip: Always request south facing room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This season, Le Lana has a new chef that increased the restaurant. The management and services are still wonderful.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NeBordosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2011

"The perfect getaway", This was my fifth stay at the hotel in the past four years. To be completely honest the hotel never fails to impress. The hotel has recently been fully renovated. Reception is very spacious with a great bar and amzing view of the mountains. The ski room is perfectly located (only 50 meters from the slopes) and fully equipped. All in all a great experience for couples, families or even friends looking for a great ski vacation in style.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HShelbaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I've been going there for the past 13 years, every stay is exceptional. The staff are extremely friendly, a great cuisine. the hotel has a cosy atmosphere from the lobby to the ski room. Its location is perfect, it is situated so that you are in downtown as soon as the elevator doors open and ski in ski out is something that i realize is a GREAT advantage that i used to take for granted until i visited other resorts.
the hotel has been recently renovated along with the spa. the spa is something to be visited during your stay, it is complete.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbibz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

My hopes were high going back to hotel Le Lana. They had done a huge renovation since my last visit and garnered a fifth star. Unfortunately, they fell short of this rating for me.

FIrst, the rooms. While they are very clean and nicely appointed, my "superior room" at 520 euro a night for double occupancy was tiny. I hear that this is the norm in the alps, but I was barely able to squeeze into the toilet and I am a small person. Obviously the money spent on renovation was not spent on enlarging the rooms. Do not stay here if you are over 5 ft 7 inches and 150 pounds (my size) without a giant shoe horn to squeeze you into the bathroom.

Second, the spa. While offering complete spa service, I found the spa staff to be rude and unaccommodating. I booked a massage with a particular masseuse two days prior. I showed up and they informed me that they had double booked that masseuse without informing me prior to my arrival. They only words I received were, "sorry". At least they apologized. The pool and steam room and sauna are very small and do not look at all in person as they do in the photos on the web page. However, they are clean, and a sauna apres ski is very welcome.

Third, the gym. While there is nice equipment and the personal trainer is friendly, the gym is far too small for the amount of equipment and people using the gym. I wanted more cardio equipment. Also there is poor ventilation and one malodorous person will spoil your experience.

Fourth, the restaurant. We opted for the breakfast and dinner included option which was figured into the price as I listed above. The food was very good with beautiful presentation. I do agree that some of the dishes were "experimental," but I appreciate fine dining with unique tastes. There is no bottle of wine on the list for under 70 euro which was a ridiculous mark-up, and a bottle of flat water will cost 15 euro. I know the dollar to euro exchange is unfavorable, but still, $22.50 for half a liter of evian seems like highway robbery to me. Stick to the tap water and do not drink wine and you will have a good dining experience. Breakfasts were hearty with lots of selection and very tastly. Unfortunately, the wait staff was clueless. I routinely had to ask 2-3 times for something. My last day, I literally asked 4 times for a cappuccino. Even after my pestering, the service was very slow. It was as if everyone was too preoccupied with ironing the table cloths or setting the tables to provide service for the guests.

Lastly, and the best part of the hotel is the ski valet and ski shop (Skiset). The hotel is ski in and ski out and they have a ski room on the slope contiguous with the hotel where you keep your equipment overnight. The ski valets help you in and out of your boots and place your skis on the snow for you in the morning and hang them at night. There is tea and mulled wine waiting for you when you return. The ski shop staff were friendly and accommodating. I wished they worked in the spa and the restaurant. Maybe the rest of the hotel would be better run that way.

All in all, I will definitely go back to the 3 Valleys to ski as it is the most impressive ski area (and largest) in the world. I will not stay at Le Lana again as the service fell far short of the 5 star rating. Also, just to really leave a bad taste in my mouth, the hotel overcharged me on the bill, which I had to go over with the management. They were accommodating, but if you do stay there, pay attention to the charges at the end.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LoloMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
2.3 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#5 of 55 in Courchevel
72 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#17 of 55 in Courchevel
72 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le K2
Hotel Le K2
#8 of 55 in Courchevel
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Le Chabichou
Le Chabichou
#3 of 55 in Courchevel
194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
3.0 mi away
Hotel Manali
Hotel Manali
#9 of 55 in Courchevel
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Lana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Lana

Property: Hotel Le Lana
Address: Courchevel 1850 | BP 95, 73121, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Lana 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Lana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing