We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Registered here to write about La Lana..”
Review of Hotel Le Lana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Lana
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Certificate of Excellence
Courchevel, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Registered here to write about La Lana..”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

And it is true. I could have registered on Tripadvisor long before but I have done it this time as I have just had an experience there I never ever had in my life. (I am close to fifty.) It was just really appalling and a bit ridiculous the way they began to talk to me when I went to the reception. The three(!) ladies at the desk (all of them) simply boldly eyed me up and down as if to estimate my social status and though it was quite evident that I am not French they would keep talking to me in French. I went in to ask about their swimming pool as in every brochure about Courchevel 1850 La Lana is indicated as having a spa open to "outsiders" as well. IT IS NOT. But it is one thing - France.... The big problem is the way you are treated at a five star hotel by the reluctant, untrained personnel who cannot even say "Hello" in English whilst the place is full of English speakers. I'm sorry, but I had to share this. I might be too old... :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
10 Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    8
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
16
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The Lana is among the oldest and most well known hotels in Courchevel. The location of the hotel is great, right on the slopes and within walking distance from the city. The hotel offers a pool and a gym. The gym is great, but the pool rather small. The rooms could be improved, especially the bathrooms that are rather old fashioned. The food and beverages charges are very expensive. Therefore, the Lana is a great hotel, but should seriously consider changing some of its pricing policies. If this changes we would visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

This is an expensive hotel but that is justified overall (location, rooms etc). We found the senior staff very good (ie the reception, concierge, sommelier, maitre de , ski room attendant but the junior staff in the restaurant were quite inexperienced for such a so called high quality establishment. Also it was very disappointing on a number of nights (when you have committed to full board ) to get quite bland meals and meat that was over cooked and dry - even when ordering off the al a carte menu. Having said this nothing was too much trouble for the hotel to organise or fix as we had a few issues not to do with the hotel which they helped resolve very successfully. This was our second visit and I think they would need to lift the food element for us to consider returning because for six nights this is a challenge to keep the guests looking forward to dinner each evening. For example last time there was more effort around the cheese trolley and the waiter knew the cheeses. This time they were far less informed and as a consequence much less anticipation. The breakfast was very good buffet style. Maybe dinner should be the same?

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stan658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I visit courchevel every year and LE Lana was recommended by some friends .my experience was a disaster ! The rate Per night was 700 euros for a medium room while the service ,the hygiene and interior were far below an average 4 stars hotel.the medium room is tiny ,very old interior ,dirty toilet ,drapesand curtains ...and what is most important is that none of the rooms are quiet! Rooms in first and second floor have a continious noise day and night from ventilation machines ,service doors ,neighbors tv ,and the general crowd...
The hotel is owned by a lady who is not ready to make u any discount even if u have spent the worst night in ur life.the spa is tiny and smelly ,treatments from clarins and massage are below average ,gym open late close early and the machines are old ...the only good thing about LE Lana is the concierge and shuttle service which is not worth 700 euros per night for a regular room.in addition to this ,while checking out make sure to revise ur final bill coz they always add extra items from the mini bar and room service ...lobby is average while prices are again very high....won't stay at LE Lana next year for sure !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Now this is "The Place" for anniversaries ,birthdays and special celebrations.
Not for regular family holidays as it's just too expensive. The facilities ,food ,service and general ambience are second to none. Personal valet service for ski in and ski out is a great novelty too.
JohnW

Room Tip: Always request south facing room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This season, Le Lana has a new chef that increased the restaurant. The management and services are still wonderful.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NeBordosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2011

"The perfect getaway", This was my fifth stay at the hotel in the past four years. To be completely honest the hotel never fails to impress. The hotel has recently been fully renovated. Reception is very spacious with a great bar and amzing view of the mountains. The ski room is perfectly located (only 50 meters from the slopes) and fully equipped. All in all a great experience for couples, families or even friends looking for a great ski vacation in style.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HShelbaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
2.3 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#5 of 55 in Courchevel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#13 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le K2
Hotel Le K2
#8 of 55 in Courchevel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Le Chabichou
Le Chabichou
#3 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
2.0 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#12 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Lana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Lana

Property: Hotel Le Lana
Address: Courchevel 1850 | BP 95, 73121, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Lana 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Lana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing