We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel with a great little spa”
Review of Hotel New Solarium

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel New Solarium
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel with a great little spa”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and i stayed here for skiing in Courchevel. Although the hotel is a little way out of the main centre on the lower end of the Jardin Alpin, it's rght on that green run down to the Croisette (about 2 minutes of skiing) and directly across the road to the gondola that brings you straight back up again (or down of course if you don't fancy skiing it).
The food is really good. There's a choice of 5 or 6 main courses which repeat each day along with a daily special. Everything was prepared perfectly and tasted excellent. The desert buffet was to die for - and too tempting to resist. Breakfast is a bit chaotic as it's completely buffet-style and a complete free-for-all between about 08:00 (when they open the doors) and 08:10 but the simple solution was to arrive a bit later and avoid the initial scrum. That worked for us anyway.
The spa is quite small with a tepid swimming pool, sauna for about 4 or 5 people and a steam room that could accommodate 6 at a push. But we didn't have any problems and found it extremely quiet whenever we visited - most people seemed to prefer relaxing on the loungers to using the other facilities which suited us well. The spa was cleaner than others i've experienced and it was a pleasant change to have windows rather than it being in the basement which gave it an open and airy feel.
The bedroom was large and bright with massive windows that filled the end wall and looked out onto snow and evergreen trees, with a gondola passing by every 5 seconds or so between 9:00 and 20:00. The bed was very comfortable and we both slept extremely well.
We had a separate Shower room with WC and a larger room with bath and basin. Robes and slippers are provided, the linen and towels were impeccably clean and for 40Euro you can request a mini-bar fridge in your room stocked with 10 soft drinks. We went for this option and it worked very well for us.
The bar is lovely with some cosy nooks you can take over for an afternoon if you fancy being lazy. There's a sunny terrace to sit out on with a hot chocolate or something stronger and lougers on the level above if you fancy something more relaxing and a slightly better view.
The staff are all great, friendly, helpful and efficient. Almost everyone spoke excellent english too which is always a bonus.
All in all this hotel has amost everything. We'd probably have preferred to be slightly closer to the main hub of things but for the price, there had to be some compromise and location was probably it. That said, the gondola running until 20:00 at least saves a winding walk back up the hill if you do decide to stay in town for some apres.
A final bonus for us was that the Skiset shop is attached to the hotel making ski hire extremely convenient and avoided any need to every carry skis or boots anywhere at all.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a view - the hotel is upside down with the reception and bar on the 5th floor, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séverine B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Customer,
We would like to thank you for you comment; we appreciate, as it helps us to improve our services and quality. We are very pleased to read that you spend a nice stay. Please be assured that it will be transfer to our manager and his staff. We hope to welcome you next season and that you will have the same pleasure.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    122
    58
    37
    31
See reviews for
109
136
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I returned from this hotel recently and have allowed myself sufficient 'thinking' time before writing what I consider a 'fair' review of my stay. From reading previous reviews I was aware of some of the issues with this particular hotel e.g. dated small bedrooms, and complaints about noisy rooms under the kitchen area. So I was very surprised when I booked in, by the way its a tiny cramped reception area, to discover that I had been allocated Room 209, which is one of the rooms I had read bad reviews about. I told the receptionist (lady) I did not want a room under the dining room but she insisted there were no other rooms. I found this hard to believe as I was ahead of the other guests who had arrived at the same time as me!

Room 209 is small, as I believe many of the other rooms are, from the reviews, and the corridor leading to the bedroom area was so narrow my husband and I had to use it one at a time... which meant unpacking was a consuming process. One of the wardrobe doors was practically hanging off its hinges.

We went straight to the bar, the one and only time we went in there, and were shocked by the high prices. A small, and I mean small, glass of white wine was 10 euros. When I enquired what the house wine was like I was informed it was not really drinkable!! Interestingly this 'undrinkable' wine is the same wine they serve in their restaurant if you buy it by the glass.

Could I afford to buy drinks in the bar at that price, yes, but I did not feel I wanted to get ripped off. They are charging 5 star prices in a 3 star hotel. We found that a lot of the bars in Courchevel 1850 itself are far more reasonable...... It was a pity really as we would have been more than happy to spend our money in the hotel bar rather than go elsewhere, so its a shame really that they shoot themselves in the foot!

ROOM 209 : we returned to our room after the bar experience and dinner hoping to get a good night's rest, as it had been a long day travelling. But there was constant noise from above, like a shuffling, scuttling about, and bashing of metal against metal, and what sounded like someone constantly walking around in stilettos..... it went on and on, and when it got to about 11.00 I decided I had had enough as by then I had twigged that I was actually under the kitchen itself! I was so peed off that I nearly went to reception in my PJs but wisely decided to get dressed! The night manager was not at all polite or apologetic and in fact started getting defensive and rude, which I did not expect considering they must hear complaints about Room 209 (& 207) all the time. I made it clear I wanted another room and as I was by that point very tired and irritated he took me serious enough to offer me another room. He begrudgingly took me there and made lots of comments about me getting a family room that I was not paying for. We moved to a big room in the basement, which I believe is what they call a family room. It was the size of room that I usually get in the hotels I stay in when I go skiing. One of the electric heaters did not work and so the room was rather cold but a vaste improvement on Room 209. In fact it was a very quiet room and big enough for all our gear. Including our skis and snowboard, fortunately! Which brings me on to my last gripe - there is NO LOCKER room. No I am not joking. I am surprised no one has commented on this point before in their review. We have never ever stayed in a hotel when skiing that has not had its own heated locker room for skis and boots. Usually hotels ban skis & boots from their rooms but in this hotel there was no choice! We were told we could leave them at reception if we wanted, but fortunately the new room we moved to had plenty of space, and in fact we placed them in the shower cubicle every night to dry off. There was a separate bathroom as well, so they did not get in our way, but if you are in one of the tiny rooms it would be very cosy!!

When I had to go to reception the following day after the room fiasco the receptionist on duty that morning (24th Feb) also had 'attitude' about the room business. I kind of get the feeling that new guests and perhaps British guests get the dud rooms and returning guests and the French get the better rooms. Not just my paranoia speaking here, as another couple who arrived with us were given Room 207 (also under the kitchens), and when they complained were told there were no other rooms available. This was not true as guests were arriving and leaving every single day. Unfortunately this couple were not as assertive as myself and so just put up with the noise for the remainder of their stay!

So a word of warning if you plan to stay at this hotel then email ahead and insist you are not given Rooms 207 or 209, mention reviews on Trip Advisor. Though I did this when booking in, it didn't help, and only a lot of very vocal complaining got me moved!! Interestingly the day we arrived there was a trip advisor sign on the reception desk for all to see, but strangely it then disappeared..... All in all the hotel needs a total revamp, good old British 'health & safety' would freak out if they saw the electrics..... we were just relieved we were on ground level and had patio doors to escape from if a fire broke out.....

On a good note and there are some positives, the food was actually pretty good for a 3 star hotel, and the deserts were fabulous, as good as any we have had in the 4 or 5 star hotels we have stayed in. In fact the 'sea food' night (last evening) was great - the chefs really put themselves out. Admittedly breakfast was a bit of a free for all, and my husband had to wait 15 minutes one morning for some more bacon to arrive. The tables were a bit too close together but other than this the dining experience was okay.

The restaurant staff we came into contact with were all very friendly, helpful and polite. Besides the reception staff with 'attitude' (you know who you are) the other reception staff were all lovely and polite, so I do not want to tarnish all the hotel staff with the two rude members I encountered re: room complaint. The bed was very comfortable, with good quality bedlinen and pillows, and our bed was turned down every evening. I cannot fault the cleanliness of the bedroom or bathroom. Good quality towels as well, which were replenished as often as you required.

The weather was excellent during our stay which more than made up for the gripes about the hotel......

Room Tip: Rooms in the basement (Level 0) and the first floor are best - quieter Avoid rooms 207 & 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiggieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séverine B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,
Tout d'abord nous tenons à vous remercier pour le commentaire que vous avez posté sur Triadvisor. Nous regrettons l'impression négative que vous avez eu de notre hôtel car en majorité l'hôtel est très apprécié par notre clientèle notamment au niveau de l’accueil. Concernant la femme de chambre, n'ayant pas eu de réponse (car vous étiez sous la douche) elle est entré dans votre chambre. Nous nous excusons de cet incident non volontaire. Nous espérons vous accueillir à nouveau dans notre hôtel afin que vous viviez la vraie expérience de l'hôtel Des Neiges. Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Following our recent holiday I felt I should throw in my thoughts having looked at recent reviews, especially the most recent defensive one! People (you know who you are) should refrain from commenting on others reviews...we are all entitled to our opinion. For us it's not the cost that matters, it's value for money and this hotel does not compete on that basis.

Reception is on the first floor as you approach from street level...tricky with heavy bags as no lift. Reception desk is very small and a few steps from the entrance door making It very tight when checking in at busy times. On our arrival there were two staff on reception, neither very courteous and indeed one took a beak from attending to the guest he was with to answer the phone and have an argument with a customer (in English) the conclusion to which was that it was 'their problem' and hung up the phone! Be warned the hotel feels it appropriate to charge €100 per day to your credit/debit card for extras you may incur...this seems excessive for a three star hotel.
Rooms are very basic and tired but in itself this is not a problem, they are very small though (we were on the 3rd floor near to the restaurant). there was some noise but not a huge problem, the bathroom was tiny, be warned, hotel images are deceptive! To be fair the room was always warm (as per other reviews) and there was plenty of hot water. We did have to ask three times for our robes which you need to go to the pool etc as there are no changing facilities in there. The door closer fell off on day two, repaired on day four!
The pool and sauna are again very dated and quiet basic, pleasant enough for a three star but be warned,if this is Crystal's Finest range heaven knows what the others are like.

Generally the hotel is not great, staff are rude especially if you stand your ground on any issue. We had to wait over five minutes one night for a section of the buffet to be refreshed, when we mentioned this to the head waiter had stormed off only to return muttering ...two minutes not five. I'm afraid I'm too old to just accept this now and when I challenged him he again walked off and didn't speak to us for the rest of the week!

Personally I had a problem with the food, nothing was hot, just warm. All appeared to be of poor quality, canned or frozen ingredients, little seemed fresh. Bread was not he best (given this is France you would expect more), the buffet section is poor, lots of quantity but not much quality, if you choose to stray from the HB menu you will incur extra costs. I have eaten all over the world and in lots of hotels and restaurants and this was without a doubt the poorest I have encountered in terms of value for money. Asking for more than one jug of water a night seemed to infuriate the staff...especially if you are not ordering the overpriced wine! Recycling seems to be the order of the day....whatever is left over after dinner appears either at breakfast or as a staple of the next days dinner. Dinner is served from 7.30 to 9.30 but if you come in during the latter part you will find a decimated buffet section which was not refreshed after 9pm. Tables are sometimes dirty, if you get in early you would be ok but any second sitting will find half set tables, often no salt and pepper, dirty cutlery etc. in short there is a real lack of care and attention in the dining offer. Speaking to another guest on departure who had stayed here the previous year it appears the food quality has definitely suffered and is notably worse than in previous seasons.

The bar is very pricey, don't be fooled with the 'Courchevel is expensive everywhere' thing. You can get good value here but the reality is the hotel is not easily accessible at night and you are somewhat trapped unless you want a long walk up and down or are prepared to pay for a taxi....I would recommend anyone does this, it's €20 each way but means you are open to choice, some decent food and some great entertainment in 1850.

Watch your valuables, we went for breakfast one morning leaving our I-pad on charge. On our return the door was wedged wide open but no maid to be seen anywhere. She did appear 20 mins later wanting to know why she could not finish off even though we were changing for a days skiing. The point here is that had something gone missing there would have been an almighty fuss and likely someone would have lost their job....I have not experience anything like this in any hotel before. I'm happy for the room to be cleaned but there is a duty of care associated and leaving your room open to all is not acceptable. On our last day the room wasn't cleaned at all as of 4pm and then only following a few mentions at reception.

If you have an early departure be warned there is not offer for an early breakfast, you cannot even obtain any hot water for a drink as the restaurant is locked down tight....ironic as it appears acceptable to leave guest rooms open!

There is a new hotel being constructed next door, this may mean New Solarium will raise their game but I doubt it. As its part way under construction it's not the best view from the bar.

Overall I am afraid I could not recommend this hotel. There are far too many problems and issues to accept and it offers poor value for money. Definitely the worst we have stayed at for skiing holiday and a real disappointment. Don't let it put you off 1850 though, it's a lovely resort and the skiing offered across the three valleys is second to none in Europe.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JonDS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séverine B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for the comment you posted on Tripadvisor.
We do regret that your stay did not met your expectation. Hotel Le New Solarium is providing all services and range of prestations for a 3 stars hotel and room size are normal sizes for a mountain hotel. Concerning food we regret that the choices we offer didn't meet your expectations, however we do provide as a minimum standard a hot & cold starters buffet, one dish, dessert buffet. We also provide 6 other hot options on the side. These options are offered to suit as many of our guests as possible. For early departure, If you mention it at the reception, we offer you hot drinks and coissants.
On the other side, we appreciate your comments as it is only through feedback, positive or negative that we aim to imporve our standards and the level of our guests satisfaction. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Courchevel hotels

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The recent reviews are totally unfair and very misleading. I have never written a review before but felt strongly that I must defend this lovely hotel. The food was superb, very high quality for a three star hotel. The staff in the restaurant were extremely helpful. The restaurant is cosy with lovely views. It is certainly not like a school canteen. The chef was very accomodating and prepared dishes off the menu for my non meat diet. The starter and desert buffet were of high quality and varied. There was something for everyone. The food was hot. I saw no one using the microwave. I cannot fault the food. The rooms are a little small but............are spotlessly clean and the beds are most comfortable. The rooms are warm but it is easy to open a window!!! The Ski room staff were extremely helpful. You ski in at the end of the day and leave skis outside. The staff bring the skis inside and put them out again in the morning. The skis will obviously be in a different place to where you left them!!! I would definitely return to this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séverine B, Responsable réception at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for those kind comments. What a suprise to see two so much differents comments in two days how diffrerents comments !!
We will be very pleased to welcome you a next time in our hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We are midway through our stay at this hotel and it is disgusting. The food is terrible. The service is poor. The food is of poor quality and lukewarm. It is a buffet service which is poorly organised. The staff in the restaurant are very rude. The rooms are warm but tired and dated. The spa has damp and paint peeling off the walls. There is only one shower in the spa. The door doesn't shut properly in the steam room. We have been skiing for several years and this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in!....the staff answer back and tut if you ask for anything. The restaurant is like a school canteen. The tables are cleaned around you whilst you eat with a dirty blue cloth. We have both suffered with stomach ache which we have no doubt is due to the poor quality and lukewarm food. People actually reheat their breakfast in a microwave once they have selected it from the buffet. I could go on and on. Please do not stay at this hotel. There is plenty to do in courchevel and I would suggest you try self catering or another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séverine B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Customer,
We would like to thank you for the comment you posted onTriAdvisor. We are soory that you did not enjoyed you stay at the hotel. Please be assured that our manager is aware of the issue and will of course ensure that this does not happen again. We hope we will be given a second chance to offer you the true hotel experience.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Rooms and food pretty much as expected given the price and the location. What was very disappointing was the service.

I wouldn't go as far as calling people rude but they definitely did not care. Asked them to reserve a restaurant and call the room - they made the reservation but never actually told us. Asked them to book a transfer to the airport - they didn't and didn't even bother to tell us, thankfully we checked the night before. The skis are meant to be stored in the SkiSet downstairs in reality they are stored on the racks outside and get randomly moved around. Every morning they were in a different place to where we left them the afternoon before. Once my skies were moved with just one pole. When I asked the staff who worked there they just told me to keep looking.. Eventually I did find it but it was neither where I left it nor near to where my skies got moved to. Clearly this didn't make for the best start to my day.

Other "highlights" include a fire alarm going off around 6am and a below average band performing in the lounge late into the evening but given the poor sound proofing there was nothing I could do to escape them even in my room which was 1 floor above.

If you are looking for value for money then stay in Mont Charvin. It's bed and breakfast only and you have to carry your skies across the road instead of ski in/out but it's about 1/3 of the price and has the most helpful people working there. If you can spend a little bit more then go to Pralong. It's the same ski in/out half board concept but since the Tournier family took over the people working there actually care.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pavel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séverine B, Responsable réception at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Customer,
We would like to thank you for comments you posted on TRipadvior as it's always helps us to improve our services.
We are sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. However we are not responsible about what happen in the skiset, but we are going to mention your comments to the manager. We apologize for noice of the band in the lounge but these animations are appreciate by our customers. More over, we hope we will be given a second chance to offer you the true quality of hotel experience of our hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prangins, Switzerland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Location, view, food was much better than we expected. Courchevel has all you may want from a mountain resort. Le New Solarium, on a slope above the village combines two: it is right on the ski piste (or hiking trail in summer) and it is t next to gondola stop, so you may choose to walk, ski or ride to the village, and at the same benefit from fantastic view and quiet.
Beds are comfortable, rooms ok. In France they are usually on a small side.
Breakfast very good and half-board option is very worth it. Piano bar with the fireplace adds charm.
Ski room, ski rent shop, parking, everything is super convenient
Swimming pool is nice, sauna so-so, tiny
Personnel is very friendly, professional and caring

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiklaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#13 of 55 in Courchevel
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#43 of 55 in Courchevel
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#15 of 55 in Courchevel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#6 of 55 in Courchevel
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#5 of 55 in Courchevel
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snow Lodge Boutique Hotel
Snow Lodge Boutique Hotel
#17 of 55 in Courchevel
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Solarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Solarium

Property: Hotel New Solarium
Address: Quartier du Jardin Alpin | Quartier Jardin Alpin, 73120, Courchevel, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Courchevel
#16 Spa Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Solarium 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel New Solarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Solarium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing