We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Kilimandjaro Mountain Resort
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Courchevel
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

The best luxury hotel in Courchevel. The hotel amenities are outstanding and the service is something beyond what we can refer to the Paris Plaza Athenee. Every employee refers to you by the name and each room has a private butler. The hotel also has a Michelin starring 2 stars restaurant (La Table Du Kilimandjaro) and also accounts with a unique La Prairie spa. It is also a ski in and ski out with easy access to the lifts. Absolutely the best in Courchevel 1850. I do recommend it strongly! It is the 3rd time my family stays here and there is no other place that accommodates 15 people from the same family with such comfort and excellence.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Otavio_V_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Kilimandjaro concentrates everything that a luxury ski resort should have. Yes it is expensive, but it is aligned with other 5 star hotel in Courchevel in which I stayed the previous year. The only "weak point" is the distance from the centre of Courchevel, but it also true that every time I asked for a complimentary shuttle service, in 5-minute time a VAN was available on call. The location on the ski slopes is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dado1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This hotel is decorated in the traditional alpine style. It is divided in different chalets hosting each around 4 to 6 rooms. Each chalet has its own ski room.

On the positive side:
- It is located on the slopes.
- It offers an excellent restaurant : La table du Kilimandjaro (excellent food for lunch, dinner and breakfast).
- It has a very good spa with an awesome outdoor hot tub surrounded by snow.
-The concierge is really helpful and managed to organize all our programs.
- A shuttle is available to take you free of charge anywhere in Courchevel 1850.
- On the way back to the airport they had prepared for us a snack box for the road.
- Beds are soooo comfortable

On the negative side:
-We had booked and fully paid our stay 4 months in advance to get 4 rooms in the same chalet for our group of 8 but upon arrival we had a bad surprise : they had changed the bookings without telling us!
-We ended up in different chalets in the less comfortable rooms (ours has such a high toilet you cannot touch the ground when seated, the shower has no door so it splashes the whole bathroom and the shower head was broken, when you sit on the desk chair you block the way as it touches the bed).
-The waiter in the lobby is a Russian trainee. He barely understands french or english.
-No refill for the cookies offered at the bar in the afternoon.
-Some of the days they skipped the night service.
-The ski shop in the hotel is hugely overpriced (125 euros per person per day for skis and boots! At this price -1000 euros for 4 days per couple- you'd better buy new ones or bring yours with you).
-Rooms are not well sound proofed so you do hear a lot of noises (at least ours)
-It is far from the village

I would have been less picky hadn't we paid around 1000 euros a night!!

We did feel that their target clientele is Russians which is not our nationality... We will not return.

Room Tip: Rooms 3,4 and 15 are located adjacent to the ski rooms and hence are very noisy. 3 and 7 are for phy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tanmouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

My husband and I travel on a regular basis. The entire staff is attentive to our needs and extremely friendly. The food and lodging have both exceeded our expectations and the ski in ski out was great. Even the $15 Hot Chocolate (most expensive we have ever had by double) was worth the price!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KimmyB906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

So these guys have thought of everything re. Service. It's simply the best service I’ve ever received at any hotel in my life. Sometimes it's just too much or not enough ... but this was perfect. The evening concierge was superb, he was like a wizard, anything we wanted .. he got it.

The rooms were really lovely. I think we had just a normal room, 1 main room with a super king sized bed, couple chairs and a massive bathroom filled with La Prairie shower and bath products. The pillows on the bed were not very comfortable but not to fear, they have any kind of pillow you could ever want :-) The one problem we had with our room was that it was on the ground floor, outside the entrance to the boot room and lift and it was really noisy in the morning. For some stupid reason the people above us were up at 6am walking around in their ski boots, i mean seriously. The lifts didn't open until about 8:30, keeners who don't know how to use a boot room. Not a good room for people who like a bit of a party and up a bit later for breakfast and ski. Oh, and the rooms were soooooo hot, need to get the wizard to turn the temperature down for a comfortable sleep. Blackout blinds are great!

We had 1/2 board which meant breakfast was included as well as either lunch or dinner. The breakfast was average to be honest ... but the lunch and dinner menu was brilliant, really really nice! I was impressed with the food in the restaurant.

We got our skis from the ski shop in the hotel, ok ... WORNG price. Don't use this ski shop if you are renting skis. For 2 of us to hire skis and poles for 8 days it cost us 1520 euros. It's more than the cost of 1 pair of skis.

The hotel bar was dead, usually my boyfriend and I were the only ones in there. You really need to get a lift into 1850 if you want any atmosphere while drinking.

There is an outdoors hot tub, it's amazing when it's snowing (and the bar guys will serve you drinks while you are in it if you ask nicely)

The hotel is quite far from 1850 town itself ... the have shuttle cars to take you down and bring you back up. These are perfect, we never had to wait for more than 10 minutes at either end and to the best of my knowledge, they are 24 hours.

Overall it was a great hotel, I would defo go again.

Room Tip: try and get a room which is NOT next to the boot room and the lift. Try not to get a room on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeezerBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Had a coffee and a hot chocolate on the terrace and the bill was 24 Euros.Those prices are outrageous even for a luxiurious place like Hotel Killimandjaro. We suppose that Russians have the money to pay those prices since there were lots of them there.. Luckily there are other places,even in Courchevel, with more pocketbookfriendly prices. The quality of the drinks was nothing to write home about but the seats were soft and nice.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
7  Thank ja_net57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I've been to Courchevel many times and have stayed at different hotels. This year I stayed with my family and I've got to say it has been a wonderful experience. Rooms are incredible, beds could not be any more comfortable, food is excellent and service is impeccable.
Only thing to keep in mind is that the hotel is quite far from the village so sometimes it takes a while to wait for the shuttles to come and pick you up. Apart from that, everything else is simply GREAT!
I will not look for another hotel when I return to Courchevel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cescotet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.2 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#7 of 54 in Courchevel
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Suites de la Potiniere
Les Suites de la Potiniere
#32 of 54 in Courchevel
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grandes Alpes Private Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Chabichou
Le Chabichou
#2 of 54 in Courchevel
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Joseph
Le Saint Joseph
#36 of 54 in Courchevel
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Ducs de Savoie
Les Ducs de Savoie
#17 of 54 in Courchevel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Kilimandjaro Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Kilimandjaro Mountain Resort

Address: Courchevel 1850 M, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Courchevel
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Kilimandjaro Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Kilimandjaro Mountain Hotel Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing