We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gem in Courchevel 1650. Good for Chinese guests as well”
Review of Le Seizena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Seizena
Ranked #8 of 12 Courchevel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Will start this review with a declaration - I am biased. I have been coming to this hotel for nearly 10 years, which in some respects is testimony enough to the comfort, service and ease of staying here.

The hotel is right in the centre of Courchevel 1650, the poorer, and most certainly preferable neighbour to 1850. Prices certainly reflect the difference in altitudes as does the service which is excellent in every way, and most importantly consistent every year under Ann Marie the manageress' stewardship.

Also - and this is important - if you are Chinese and looking for somewhere to stay there are two Chinese staff members here; front of house and housekeeping, plus the maitre'd speaks a little Mandarin.

The rooms are essentially of three types, all furnished the same way - family rooms which are a main room plus a bunk bed annex for the kids; valley facing rooms which over look the stunning valley down towards Moutiers and finally village view. The latter are obviously a little noisier but as 1650 is not exactly Time Square this should not bother or disturb you. All rooms are fully kitted with nice amenities; drying racks for damp ski gear and nice fixtures and fittings.

The owner of the hotel is a former pilot and also owns the significantly more expensive (1k per night starting) Killimanjaro and K2 so understands the value of quality service and what guests expect. Seizena is the less formal more relaxed sister hotel but certainly punches way above it's weight. The theme of the hotel understandably is aviation and wood is mixed with aluminium to exude a cool interior. The hotel has a great hamam and gym although it only has a cross trainer which in all the times I have stayed I have never once seen anyone use.

Breakfast is included and this is great with a classic french breakfast of juice, coffee, patisserie and cold cuts. Juices and coffees are all available with a tiny supplement for a cooked breakfast.

Best of all - the hotel is directly opposite the escalator to the lifts so it is only a short walk to the lifts in the morning and back at the end of the day

Room Tip: Go for a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dsharratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

What a lovely find! The staff could not have been more helpful. Before we arrived all emails were handled promptly and professionally. Our welcome was the same. The location is easy. The rooms for a family of four are a perfect size and set up. Beds super comfortable. Not huge but large - but this is France and this is 3 star prices!!! Separate bunk room at no extra price! Bath AND shower. Rooms spotless everyday. Restaurant once again open and the food is wonderful. The lounges are welcoming. Drying room ground level. A wonderful B and B and would highly recommend. It's exactly what it says it is but with a touch more! No daggy pine here! Just lovely staff in a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: No lift but a bag lift. Rooms that face the valley are quiet. Take the biggest room you can afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is not a hotel. In any shape or form. It serves breakfast but has no restaurant or crucially, bar. The result is an odd, soulless 'lodge' sort of feel to the place - we barely saw and indeed did not speak to any other guests - it felt like staying in one of the those chain places in an airport? The room was fine - but just fine. A family room had one bedroom (with not a lot of floor space), a bunk room (ditto floor space) and a bathroom. The location to be fair is great - across the road from the main 1650 gondola. The staff were very willing but the chain which runs this place needs to sell it as a B&B - which it is. We dont really spend much time in our room on a ski holiday but even so - it needs to have a bit more comfort to it. The views out of the back rooms are great though. But for the price - I would not really recommend. I would spend a bit more on a better place or less on a genuine B&B.

Room Tip: Valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bearsontour_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice spot at 1650. The reception was nice and hospitable. Our room was perfect, size, amazing view, nice furnishings. The night staff ( one lady) was SUPER! Would definitely stay there again, in a room with that view, breathtaking!

Room Tip: Stay on the valley side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Le Seizena. A B&B really rather than a hotel but room was great, not brand new but clean and all one would expect with a great view in our case. Breakfast was better than expected having read other reviews here - usual buffet inc. various breads, crossaint, toaster, yoghurts, fresh fruit, cereal, and even that day's newspapers - but also hot food on request for extra £. Easy location for bubble up 1650. All staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. I guess the fact it has a steam room is good but don't get too excited!

Room Tip: Valley rooms smaller but still fine with fab. views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkdisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Will start with a qualification - I have been coming to this hotel for nearly 10 years now and I like it. But on the flip side I hope that gives me a degree of experience. The first thing you notice about this hotel as a repeat guest is the staff do not change much - that means happy staff and happy staff normally equals good service. I always stay in a valley view room which gives you views down towards Courchevel 1550 and the valley below - the view is one reason but also for a skiing holiday perspective the morning sunlight acts as a great first lift wake up call.

It is also worth highlighting at this point I have stayed in this hotel with friends (all male group) plus with my partner. The experience is the same in all cases with an extremely friendly staff and great comfortable rooms. If you are travelling with kids there are family rooms with a separate set of bunk beds.

The hotel is the sister property to K2 which unless you own an oil field is a little out of most peoples league. However the benefits of that partnership carry over with great amenities in the rooms, bath robes, condiments and toiletries etc. The rooms are always spotless and the decor is clean, crisp and a million miles away from the typical Savoyard themes of most places in the area. The hotel has an aeronautical theme, I thnk because the owner is a pilot. This theme carries throughout the property from the reception, the salon and the breakfast room.

Breakfast is included and this is more than ample ahead of a days skiing with typical french patisserie, cold meats, cheese and cereal all on a buffet basis. Coffee, hot chocolate, juices.

After a hard day on the slopes your gear is safe in the secure ski locker and what is more tired legs only have to cross the road from the base of the lift station to the hotel. The entrance is also 15m from the bus stop to 1850 and 1550. Tired limbs can soak up in the steam room and for those that evidently didn't ski hard enough there is a cross trainer - in 10 years I have never seen anyone on it!!!

In terms of the staff all languages are covered and this year, amazingly there is a Chinese speaking receptionist.

All in all a fantastic well priced hotel in a lovely resort which is made excellent by kind, attentive, polite and genuinely nice staff.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a valley view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dsharratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 week in january. The location could not be better as its just at the bottom of the slopes. The room was clean and comfortable, we had a room with a bath and it looked out over the valley. Breakfast was okay but could have been more choice of warm food.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tluxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
1 mi away
Les Ducs de Savoie
Les Ducs de Savoie
#18 of 54 in Courchevel
72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
1.3 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#5 of 54 in Courchevel
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Les Peupliers
Hotel Les Peupliers
#6 of 54 in Courchevel
114 reviews
1 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#7 of 54 in Courchevel
79 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 54 in Courchevel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Seizena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Seizena

Address: 1650 Courchevel, 73120, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Courchevel
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Seizena 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Le Seizena Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing