We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location for a Ski holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Hotel Dahu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Dahu
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb location for a Ski holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Perfect location for quick access to the main lifts in Courchevel and the adjacent village amenities. The hotel is fairly basic but perfectly comfortable for a ski chalet hotel. The lounge and bar areas are inviting and the staff create a home from home atmosphere, while also providing an excellent service to your requirements. The Ski hosting is a real bonus and also serves as a great ice breaker with meeting the other guests. The bar prices are also good for Courchevel.
The hotel is just across the road from the Forum Centre , with easy access to the bars, cafes and shops which provides easy access to and from the Kudeta (popular apres ski bar & live music).
I would highly recommend the Dahu and the Trois Vallees which provides a full range of ski terrain to suit everyone.

Room Tip: Back rooms are the quietest but you trade a view at lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    36
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
32
35
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel itself is not the best, but if you're looking for location and being treated like a king this is the place for you. The hotel is warm and very clean. The Mark Warner staff we're excellent and the ski host tours were brilliant. The food was delicious and the service was great. We would definitely return to this hotel or go on another mark warner holiday.

Room Tip: Pay more if you want a bigger room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayjunkie_231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We returned to the Dahu on 6th January (Room 2), after a lovely March trip last year. We returned for the friendly Mark Warner service and we were not disappointed. The hotel looks fine, all the public areas look fresh, bright and presentable with numerous comfy chairs to relax into after a hard day skiing. Both our bedroom and ensuite bathroom were equally fresh and bright. Believe me when I say that the Dahu really is a well maintained Chalet Hotel compared to other hotels in Courchevel,

Darren the hotel manager was extremely friendly and professional leading a friendly, smiling and eager English speaking staff.

Food was generally good, breakfasts seemed varied with hot and cold ranging from French croissants and cheeses to hot scrambled eggs, bacon (or omelettes, you only need ask). Three course dinners included a half bottle of wine per person with a choice of reds, rose or whites. Nothing seems too much trouble and the staff genuinely seem to want everyone to experience a good time.

Location is key in Courchevel and the Dahu is outstanding, being only approx 50 metres from the piste and main lifts, hardly any walk.

Though a couple, we constantly heard from others and saw for ourselves probably the best child care arrangements we have seen over the 10 years we have been skiing in Courchevel. I would be making a bee line for this hotel just for the child care arrangements if I still had younger children.

One main reason for coming back to this hotel for us was the excellent and free Mark Warner ski hosting guide experience we had last year. Considering a personal ski lesson can set you back 170 Euros for 2 hours in Courchevel, if you can ski to either advanced, intermediate, or leisurely intermediate standard, then the use of a free ski host guide for one of these three groups for a week makes this holiday very good value. Indeed we met some lovely people in these groups and were shown by our host some of the more reasonably priced lunch stops on the slopes. Our thanks to friendly Sean, our leisurely intermediate Mark Warner ski host for the week who managed to make our week of skiing the best we have ever experienced in the 10 years skiing Courchevel 1850, I was handed a not so leisurely award certificate (thanks guys) so even my skiing must have improved a little.

Room Tip: Be aware many of the mountain restaurants are expensive and can catch people unawares, ask hotel ski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiggerSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Went the week before Xmas 2012, and while the snow was fantastic and the resort as ever brilliant, the Dahu is not the place to go if your a single skier and they put you in one of the bunk rooms. Despite being told I was booking a "small" double, I actually got a bunk room. The bed had been assembled by I assume a local joiner, and was basically a few sheets of veneered plywood. It was the smallest, shortest bed I have slept in for over 20 years, and not suitable for anything other than a child - it was impossible to have a decent nights sleep as you were constantly waking yourself up when you legs bang against the wall or the bed frame. The foldaway bunk bed above you, even when pushed up, was intrusive and meant that it was impossible to sit up in bed at all. The room is so small there is no room for a chair, so you have to on the edge of the bed to put your ski books on, or watch the TV, and constantly bang your head on the upper bunk (even when folded up). There is only one plug in the room behind the chest of draws into which the TV is plugged, and the only other plug socket is in the bathroom light fitting meaning that you have to suspend your phone over the toilet to charge (asked for adaptor, but never delivered).

The shower in the bathroom is a joke. An already small unit made all the worse for have a triple sliding door and a poorly fitting shower valve which has to be pulled out both of which rob you of even more space. No soap dish or glass shelf for your shampoo, and a hook ripped off the bathroom door and not replaced.

Food OK, but seems to be very much cooked to a budget. Asked for single scoop of ice-cream with a choc-toffee pudding and was told the chef wouldn't allow it.

Bar prices are as ever with Mark Warner a joke. A splash of tonic with your gin from a large two-litre bottle costs an extra 2 .5 euros. The wi-fi is still chargeable (don't they realise that we all have broadband at home and know how cheap it is), and what's more this year you have to pay per device, so no more getting one code for the family. Take note, Neilson provide free wi-fi in the public areas, so why not Mark Warner.

The hotel is pretty shabby with a very dated decor. One the first day the smell of drains in the reception area was appalling, and came and went all week. On speaking to someone at Grenoble on the way home, he told me he had stayed at the Dahu the previous year and they had the same problem, so not like they hadn't had plenty of time to get it sorted.

Emailed Mark Warner customer service about my issues and got a very dismissive reply from Gordon Spence their Head of Customer Service who seemed indignant that I was making a complaint. He even told me that the room provided was "adequate" - well if adequate was the standard that Mark Warner were hoping to achieve, they even failed to do that.

Courchevel is a great resort, but the Dahu is a poor hotel, and the Mark Warner customer service equally poor. I have used Mark Warner for in excess of 25 holidays, and while we stopped using them for summer holidays, preferring the service that Neilson provide, I had until this year continued to use them for winter holidays. They are certainly not top of my list any more.

Room Tip: dont book room 27 EVER
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Courchevel hotels

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We have had a few Mark Warner ski holidays all of which have been in comfortable accommodation with good , plentiful food, overall excellent value for money This Xmas week skiing holiday left much to be desired. The accommodation is in a tardy state, with threadbare furniture , lights that don't work, mouldy bathrooms, loose light sockets and switches , grubby paintwork and an horrendous smell in the hotel reception. Breakfast was great , afternoon tea good but the evening meals were of varying quality , no where near our experience in terms of quality and quantity on previous MW holidays. Considering this was just the second week of the ski season we were extremely disappointed with what we found!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

basically stayed with Mark Waner and thought the staff were young and inexperienced. the building was run down -old but still perfectly functional. The food plentiful, full of variety and tasty (but not 5 star).
On saying that - it was a great holiday as the staff were also very professional for their inexperience, friendly and good fun. the location of the hotel is fantastic - next door costs 1300 EUR a night..!!.
You dont go here for the luxury. You go for the snow and we will be back as its a great alternative a a good price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRandFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We spent the week before Christmas at Chatelhotel Dahu having holidayed four times with Mark Warner - 3 beach resorts & 1 ski trip - in the last ten years. The hotel is in a great location, in the centre of Courchevel and 3 minutes walk from the ski lifts. Our room was spacious and clean. As noted in other reviews, the hotel decor is tired and in need of refurbishment but as we didn't spend much time in our room this was not really an issue. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was quiet, only the usual expected noise in the corridor. The Mark Warner staff were all very friendly, helpful and professional and the general manager was very visible.

My husband joined the ski hosting offered by Mark Warner which is an excellent feature of the package. My son took classes at The Magic Ski School which was excellent - there were only 3 other children in his group and he had a wonderful time and made solid progress.

The chef and restaurant staff did a very good job - the food was varied, of a high quality and table service was prompt.

I would definately stay at the hotel again but Mark Warner should take note that the place needs refurbishment.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the hotel (2nd floor) was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseInCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
0.1 mi away
Les Suites de la Potiniere
Les Suites de la Potiniere
#34 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Kilimandjaro Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#46 of 55 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes
0.3 mi away
Le Bellecote
Le Bellecote
#45 of 55 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Dahu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Dahu

Property: Chalet Hotel Dahu
Address: Courchevel 1850, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Chalethotel Dahu Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing