We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barman with attitude, one toilet facility, shabby and tired...”
Review of Chalet Hotel Dahu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Dahu
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Barman with attitude, one toilet facility, shabby and tired...”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

A huge disappointment, and certainly one of the worst hotel we stayed in over the last 10 years!!!
Thumb down Mark Warner, really not up to expectations!!! worst of all, a grumpy barman with attitude, almost unpleasant and definitely in the wrong job, does not seem to "do" people, other than his mum & dad sponging free drinks at the bar every evenings! Luckily, many good and welcoming bars and wine bars in town to welcome us, good spenders too, as you do in a 20 plus group of professionals on holidays...even run out of Gin on Friday night!!!(try the mini market across the road, but get off your stool first!!!) Holiday camp check in, name, floor key on door, thank you will do - but, all staff including waitresses,chefs,and therapist carrying huge suitcases to the floors, well done for that. Rooms: well, poky, shabby, tired, dated, old fashioned... bathrooms: washrooms, cracked tiles, poor lighting, change of towels on "Wednesday "only", broken blinds, clunky plumbing, need gutting, let alone finish the season... Dining Room: very pleasant waiting staff, good food & selection, good B/fast range- but poor afternoon tea selection, could try better... Entertainment: boring as a whole, apart from the quiz night, highly presented by the best staff on duty at all time... I think the manager should learn a thing or two, as we never saw him other than the welcome session, so booooriiiinnnnngggg....!!!! in all, dirty carpets, worn out, scuff marks every where, busted armchairs and settees, ski room that small, that you could not sit and take your boots off and no ventilation whatsoever, quite unpleasant, and ONE single toilet for the whole place located next to reception front desk in lobby, just the one, male and female, and really not welcoming...
Location: 50 yards at the most from the main lift, but why on hell, did they drop us off a good 300 yards from the chalet on arrival in the resort??? Apart from that, good skiing and great company, made up for poor bar management, lack of management, and a disappointing hotel, so, very unlikely to go "MW" again!!! to finish, on going noise from 5 am in the morning from departing guests on changeover day, and housekeeping on floors at 5.30 am to make sure that every one is ready to go...great finish!!!

Room Tip: away from lift and floor doors, if you would like a quiet evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinewood007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    36
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
32
35
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

After many years of being fans of the Mark Warner formula I think we have just had our last holiday with them.
Good points about the Dahu this year,great staff in particular the chalet and dinning room Charlie and Josh real stars.Rooms clean and tidy each day.Food very good.Barman needs a bit of training.No PR skills whatsoever,"you want lemon in your gin and tonic"?Lazy! Bar opened at 4.00 and he would be sitting chatting whist customers waited ignoring them.
The overwhelming experience was that you were staying in a tatty hostel,carpets worn,sofas dirty and threadbare.I am really sad that the management cannot see that by investing a bit of money in the Dahu would not only bring it back up to its former glory but encourage old hands like me back.We are a faithful bunch Mr Chitty pay us back for all that we have invested in you over the years!

Room Tip: Shop around for a better experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaudifantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Courchevel hotels

Hampton-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Overall, a disappointing hotel. Staff tried their best and were very helpful and courteous, but really, this is beyond ‘tired’ and is now headed towards ‘run down’. Mark Warner lease their hotels, but it’s time they bite the bullet on this place and either negotiate a major refurbishment or quit all together. The ‘boot room’ is pathetically small – more like a cupboard, and there’s chaos in the lobby twice a day as people are preparing to leave or arrive back. The shower in our room (within the bath, no dedicated shower) couldn’t be directed easily, and was difficult to use, although there was no shortage of hot water.

Although there was no risk from either fellow guests or staff, it was somewhat disconcerting to find our room unlocked after cleaning on two occasions (once the door was open) and once the balcony door had been left open all day and the room was freezing.

Good things? The bar is cheap and very well run by Jake. The food is excellent especially at dinner with good quality wine, and the location is very good – literally a three minute walk from the lifts. Flo and Rupert are lovely ‘social ski hosts’. However, this is an expensive hotel and these good features don’t make up for the expense given the state of repair and generally poor facilities.

You can pay less for better overall quality, or probably more in Courchevel, but still get better overall value for your money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a fantastic week with Mark Warner at the Dahu. The hotel is superbly located, 2 minutes walk from the main lifts. While the rooms are perhaps a little tired, they are very clean and warm. There is also plenty of hot water, whatever the time of day (a problem we have often experienced in previous resorts although not Mark Warner ones). The lounge is very spacious and comfortable. The food is great. Excellent choice at breakfast with fresh/dried and tinned fruit plus yogurts and lots of hot choices and cereals and pastries etc. The afternoon tea is the best I've ever had in a ski hotel. There was always soup, cake plus sandwiches or flapjack and bread and jam and fresh fruit. The evening meals were of an excellent standard with plenty of choice and unlimited wine.
I cannot sing the praises of the staff enough. They were excellent. We made use of the childcare and our nervous 5 year old could not have been happier. The nannies were kind, fun and experienced. While the ski hosting was not available, there were always guides on hand to plan routes etc.
The only downside of the week was the very indifferent weather but even Mark Warner couldn't solve that!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Olivers12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

OK, yes the hotel was a little tired but it was clean and the quality of the staff outweighed any little issue with the hotel. It has a superb location only a couple of minutes from the main lifts, the food was first class, plenty of choice, the free wine was good and not rationed. English TV for non skiing times and the staff really tried hard to overcome the issue of no ski hosting. It was not as good with out it but the law is the law. Our room was reasonably sized, good view, comfortable beds, clean towels, some toiletries and was cleaned daily.

Issues for us, wifi expensive, ski room very small and smelly, quite a lot of noise at night with children crying, recommended ski hire shop small and little choice ( they do take and collect skis though so that is great to just leave skis on last day in the ski room) , not much room to put boots on when lots leave at same time.

Would like to thank all staff for their professional level of service, the welcome they gave us and their willingness to help and adapt to special needs. We would recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Room 30 but on top floor, there is a lift though. Good view but as on front susceptible to street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nottolerable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
323 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The main thing that the Dahu has going for it is that it's bang in the middle of Courcheval 1850 - and you can afford to stay there even if you're not an oligarch! So from a location point of view it couldn't be better.

As a hotel, it's a typical Mark Warner product (and I've stayed in most of them!) - tired, shabby and not-so chic. The rooms are tiny and very hot - we ended up turning off the heating and opening the window! - although there was a decent amount of wardrobe space and hooks on the wall. The bathrooms are very basic (ours had a broken shower) with one tiny shelf for toiletries. And our balcony looked out onto the equivalent of a back alley.

What does make the Dahu stand out from the others is that the food was excellent both at breakfast and at dinner, with an imaginative range of dishes providing a real dilemma every mealtime. The staff were also excellent, as always - I don't think we've ever had a cleaner chalet room! It was a real shame that there was no ski hosting due to the recent French court ruling, but the hosts did their best by holding morning briefings, handing out itineraries and arranging lunch stops.

But one real gripe - when are Mark Warner going to enter the 21st Century and stop charging for wifi? Not only were they asking E15 for access but this was PER DEVICE!! On top of this, the signal was so poor that we had to sit in the lounge to access our emails.

Room Tip: If you stand by the windows in the lounge, you should be able to pick up the unsecured wifi from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lazzagear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
310 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This was our 4th stay at a Mark Warner ski chalet / hotel and whilst they have all been good this was by far the best given the quality of the food and the fantastic service from the chalet team. From the ski hosts (Tim was excellent with great knowledge of the ski area and very mindful of the safety of the group) to Lewis on the bar or the team serving in the restaurant or on the front desk they all made our holiday very enjoyable. The food at the MW hotels tends to be decent home cooked meals which is exactly what you want after a long day skiing but Dean and the team have taken this to another level and a couple of the meals I would happily have paid for in a good restaurant. I do agree with previous posts that the hotel needs updating as the rooms are tired and our bathroom had a well worned shower curtain and bath. Also the boot room is tiny and a bit of a scrum in the mornings and in this day and age paying for WiFi seems a bit of a cheek especially as it can only then be used on one device. However, the service, food and location (its less than a 5min walk to the Verdons lift) more than make up for this. We also used Whitestorm to hire our skis from (the recommeded shop by MW) and they take you to the shop by car, deliver your skis to the hotel and collect them again at the end of the week and were on hand on the first morning if they were any problems. We ate at La Fromagerie on the evening when the MW team have the night off and it was very good although very busy. Overall a fantastic week (the snow was incredible :-)) and I would definitely return ....it's just a shame Courchevel doesn't have the same quality of nightlife as St. Anton.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBurgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.8 mi away
Alpes Hotel du Pralong
Alpes Hotel du Pralong
#37 of 55 in Courchevel
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Kilimandjaro Mountain Resort
0.1 mi away
Les Suites de la Potiniere
Les Suites de la Potiniere
#42 of 55 in Courchevel
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes
0.1 mi away
Grandes Alpes Private Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#43 of 55 in Courchevel
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Dahu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Dahu

Property: Chalet Hotel Dahu
Address: Courchevel 1850, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Chalethotel Dahu Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing