We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location, food and staff.”
Review of Chalet Hotel Dahu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Dahu
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
1 review
“Fab location, food and staff.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Dahu and what a great holiday once again. Not going to mention the decor as everyone else has and the location compensates for it. Only moan is the wifi. Not reliable and crazy to charge 15€ per devise. Fantastic staff. Sue the manager even after breaking her collarbone was still smiling and very attentive to all guests needs. Sophie and her team in the resto did a great job and always with a smile. Dave in the kitchen served fab food giving 3 choices for each course! Yes rooms small but you only sleep in them! Skiing in the 3 valleys is just the best in the world. Lift network is awesome. Hoping the French courts make the correct descion re ski hosting as that is the only thing missing. Though Flo and Rupert did a great job sorting groups and fun after dinner bar games. Must not forget Rosie from Viva. Fantastic massages, a great way to treat yourself after a hard day skiing or not!

Room Tip: Best rooms are prob on top floor and far end on road side. Room 33 and 34 are adjoining. Great for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    36
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
32
35
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

As all previous reviews have stated the hotel is tired & the boot room very small. However everything else more than makes up for it. Susan & her fantastic team make you feel very welcome. We were a group of 9 and had great fun. Amazing resort. People should ask themselves where do they expect to stay in 1850 at this price?? When the hotel is fully refurbished I'm sure this will be reflected.

Room Tip: We were 3, 5 & 8. All on 2nd floor with street view, balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandymandyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is our 3rd time to the Dahu, and yes it is tired but, you cannot beat the location and the skiing !

Staff was simply fantastic, Mark Warner always seems to find the most friendly, enthusiastic and polite staff.

The ski route notes given out to address the issue of not being allowed to ski host worked well, and it gave those who did not want to ski in a group some nice touring options.

The prices in Courchevel are eyewatering so here are a few money saving tips ;

Sit in the right hand corner ( when facing the window) of the lounge and you can log on the chalet le forum WIFI for free.

If there is more than 2 of you, pick up your own ski pass as you get a discount of 10 Euro per person on the new pricing system, a bigger saving if there is more of you.

If you drive ( as we did), buy your weekly parking ticket from the hotel reception and you will save 40 Euros on a weeks parking.

We decided to drive as we hate the traditional airport scrum, and would certainly do it again, there wasn't much of a discount from Warners for driving.

Eurotunnel across quick and easy, car packed to the roof with stuff, but room left for the necessary wine purchases on the return trip.

Stopped over night at Nuit St George and made it up to mountain by lunch, if we had thought about it we could have set off earlier in the morning and had an extra day skiing.

Motorway all the way until the last 15 miles and then a good road up the mountain. Plenty of space in the le crossette underground car pack.

Pulled up at the hotel and the staff unloaded and took our bags to the room and then offered to valet park to the car.

Purchased a nice selection of wine on the way home.

I have only one complaint about the hotel, the bedrooms are incredibly hot, we need to open our windows at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courchevel, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is my first trip with Mark Warner and to Hotel Dahu. I was disappointed with the somewhat shabby look to the place, chipped paint and scuffed wood panels. Curtains could have done with cleaning. Mark Warner charge 15 Euro per device for internet access. Considering the cost of the holiday, and that the majority of chalets and hotels these days with other companies do not charge I think this charge is outrageous. You can get free internet if you go to the lift station or from the chalet next door if you sit in the right place in the hotel!!!
Staff were very good, with excellent service other than when I missed putting my towels into the bath on Wednesday to get them changed, and it then took four requests with various people before I got the clean set on Thursday.
Bedroom on the third floor I was in was OK, it was a twin room, so we pushed the beds together. Room was in the main quiet, some noise from the corridor, and the chap snoring loudly in the next room. Did not like the half bath, you either sat up and soaked your aching legs, or lay down with legs sticking out. I am small, so goodness knows what it would be like for a six footer.
Food was in general excellent, the pork belly is highly recommended.
Special mention goes to Rupert who is one of the Winter Hosts. He does a very good job organising itineraries for the various abilities of skiers, arranging lunch stops in different mountain huts, meeting guests at lunchtime and for apres-ski, although no-one turned up for that all week except for one man on the last day! Rupert's knowledge of the runs and lifts in the whole of the Three Valleys area was excellent. He is a walking piste map.
All in all I was disappointed by the hotel, I didn't think it was particularly good value for money, especially the internet charge, but the staff made up for it.

Room Tip: Third floor is best, get one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurboToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Soon as we arrived there was a warm welcome ! That continued throughout the week ! The manager Susan was very helpful ! The food was wonderful ! The hotel could be refurbished ! But then I'm sure it would be a lot more expensive ! The location is perfect ! We go away to enjoy ourselves and we truly did !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

What can I add that other reviewers haven't already?

Yes, the rooms are small, the hotel is a bit dated and the ski room is small. But I don't visit Courchevel expecting luxury for a few hundred Pounds and frankly, wasn't planning to spend much of my holiday in the ski room.

To sum everything up, the rooms are "ok", small but clean. Housekeeping was a bit selective in what was cleaned during the week however. Bar and restaurant areas are decent and the food ranges from edible to great. Breakfast and afternoon tea were fantastic, dinner was so-so, but that's because I'm vegetarian and we're an awkward bunch. Starters were definitely better than the mains.

Top marks to the Mark Warner staff though, what a credit to the company and resort they are. I have no hesitation in recommending Dahu and Mark Warner to future guests.

Room Tip: Some rooms open out onto the stairwell, which will be a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Having stayed with MW on numerous occasions Chalet Dahu is a disappointment and needs a total refurbishment, however as usual the staff more than made up for the short comings of the hotel itself.

Jake on the bar, and Flo and Josh were particularly helpful and the guys in the dining room were brilliant. The food was in the main delicious as was the afternoon tea.

The boot room is ridiculously small and no more than 2 people at any one time can change their boots. MW need to take heed and invest in this brilliantly located hotel which is about 3 minutes from the lifts. The bar areas was really warm and welcoming but there was a large group in when we were there who insisted on moving all the sofas which made it difficult for the rest of us.

Apres ski is restricted as there are few affordable bars due to the Russians but if you want a Michelin star restaurant there are 5!! All in all a great holiday but only because of the great staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dam980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.8 mi away
Alpes Hotel du Pralong
Alpes Hotel du Pralong
#37 of 55 in Courchevel
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Kilimandjaro Mountain Resort
0.1 mi away
Les Suites de la Potiniere
Les Suites de la Potiniere
#42 of 55 in Courchevel
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Au Rond Point des Pistes
0.1 mi away
Grandes Alpes Private Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#43 of 55 in Courchevel
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Dahu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Dahu

Property: Chalet Hotel Dahu
Address: Courchevel 1850, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Chalethotel Dahu Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing