We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
1 review
“Lots of atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed in the family room and it was very clean and good beds and linen. The owner was very friendly, flexible as we had to change the date of stay and the breakfast was very good and sufficient. The hotel has a lot of atmosphere. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thanks for leaving us a review. We're glad you enjoyed the family room. We always try and accomodate our guests when it's possible for us, so don't hesitate to ask for something when you need it.
Hope to see you again soon,

Mike, Catherine and Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    104
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
101
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights on the top floor from September 26, 2012. Great view of the lake, large room and extremely clean. As we were travelling for one month, it was great place to end our trip. It is a family run hotel and it is obvious that they take alot of pride in their hotel. The breakfast room is large and fresh baked goods were included each day. Daily papers were made available and the internet worked well. We recommend this hotel highly and parking is not a problem. It is a two minute walk to the public parking which is cheaper than any hotel that offers parking. The parking is underground and very safe. Alex was very helpful as she printed out our airline tickets and provided us with an iron and ironing board. This hotel should be rated 3 star as we have stayed in 3 star hotels that don't come close to what the Hotel Continental is...dated October, 2012...residents of Vancouver Canada

Room Tip: Room 42 is very large, end room that has a view of lake...quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Hello and thanks for leaving a review. I very much enjoyed your stay at the hotel and am glad you enjoyed coming back to Evian and the region.
I hope you will come back sometime,
Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Nice and friendly staff, great location. Stayed for one night 7-8oct 2012. Expect some noise from the main street in front of the hotel, but not bad. Absolutely recommended, would stay here again!
We travelled with young boy and wireless internet and tv chamnels is a must. And it worked well all the time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have wireless internet in all the rooms and french, english and german TV channels. We can also recommend good restaurants to eat at and things to see in the region. We love to share information, so don't hesitate to ask us questions!
Hope to see you again soon,
Catherine, Mike and Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We chose this hotel to have stop in between our trip from Italy to home (in The Netherlands). The hotel itself is a cozy and in the middle of the shopping/restaurant street. The bed itself is very comfortable, although the pillows are way too soft and provide no support at all.

Breakfast was reasonably good as can be expected in France, there was enough choice and the quality was good as well. From croissants to yoghurt, although we didn't find any fresh fruit unfortunately. Strange thing was that dogs were allowed, as one guest couple took their chihuahua into the breakfast room. To me this is not very hygienic and it should not be allowed.

Within the room we encountered quite a lot of issues, some of which you can expect for a two star hotel, but some were even for a two star hotel in this price range bad. The shower cabin was of a reasonable size, but the toilet was put into a corner and you literally have no room to spare when you go to the toilet. We also did not find a "do not disturb" sign anywhere and on our second day we came back for some stuff at around 16:00 hours when the room was cleaned already, but even though someone tried to enter the room without knocking first. We had no idea why. The room itself had a very crooked floor and the tables at one side of the room were standing literally 10cm off the wall on top while the feet were placed against the wall. To us this was kind of scary, because sometimes you would stand on a part of the floor where you had the feeling to almost fall over.

The whole hotel is also very noisy with extremely bad isolation. You could hear the elevator and people chatting across the hall. People walking in their room, whether it was above our room or next to it, was also very noisy. The bathroom cannot be locked, which was no issue for us, but it can be for some people. As a last thing I noticed the curtains do not close well at all. We had to use our suitcase in order to block incoming street lights.

The personnel is very rude and if you ask them anything they immediately think you are blaming them and starting to react as if it is our fault. An example was that nowhere it is said where to park and that the hotel is badly accessible by car, which is why we were looking for quite a while to find a suitable spot to park our car (temporarily). The Wi-Fi connection was very instable, my iPad constantly lost the connection. All in all it was less than a two star hotel experience and we would not recommend this.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShockFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for leaving a review. we are sorry that the hotel clearly did not meet your standards.
As we are renovating our bathrooms this winter, we hope you will come back and give us a second opinion next year.

Catherine, Mike and Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent two nights at the Continental in September. The hotel is on a street closed to traffic. The room was very nice with a view overlooking the church steeple and lake. There are lots of nice little shops on the street including a great bakery a few doors away. There is also a supermarket about two blocks away and a casino just down the hill toward the lake. If you are lucky, you can also win enough at the slots to pay for the room. Bonne Chance!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddyd263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thanks for your informative review, sounds like you enjoyed your stay in Evian! I don't know if everyone is as lucky at the Casino, but it's also a great place to eat and the theater next to it often has events going on.
Hope you'll be as lucky during your next visit to Evian!
Catherine, Mike and Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We enjoyed out stay at the Hotel Continental - loved the central location, friendly atmosphere, very helpful advice re places to visit and restaurants, WIFI & internet access v useful, large comfortable bedroom with good facilities, attractive breakfast room.

Room Tip: Large room with seating area is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2511_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our Double Deluxe rooms are large rooms with a sitting area, ideal for spending a few nights in confort. You can find our best deals on our official website.
Hope to see you again soon,
Catherine, Mike and Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We spent a week in Studio. Nice, clean, quiet, convenient. Great price. Kitchen saves time and money. Oweners very friendly and informative. Location is great and no problems with parking. If we had to go again, we would stay only there without any doubt. And certainly will recommend it to our friends.
Yelena, Arnold ( NC, USA)

Room Tip: I'm sure that the rooms are good, but we stayed in the studio with the kitchen and it was perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yelena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We have 2 studios in the hotel which we rent by the week. This is a good option if you want to stay in Evian for a few weeks and visit the region.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Evian and hope you will come back soon.

Mike, Catherine and Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evian-les-Bains hotels
0.7 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#6 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cygnes
Hotel Les Cygnes
#7 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Littoral
Hotel Le Littoral
#5 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#8 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: 65 rue Nationale, 74500, Evian-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Evian-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1868, Hotel Continental has preserved all its charm from yesterday but with the comforts of today.Located in the heart of Evian in the pedestrian street, step out and discover the numerous shops and restaurants the town offers. Take a walk to famous Lake Geneva, the beautiful Casino, the thermes (spa) or the conference centers.Between lake and mountains, Evian is ideally situated to explore the Chablais region and nearby Switzerland.Our spacious and nicely furnished rooms evoque the 19th century past of Evian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Évian Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing