We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable, Comfortable and Charming Hotel”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Currently staying at this hotel for 5 nights while my company hosts business meetings in the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to all travelers - both business and leisure. The rooms are charming and very clean. Breakfast is very nice - but there are also several excellent bakeries very, very close by. The hotel is located on a street closed to traffic and lined with shops. Had a great time taking walks and browsing in the shops. Had a wonderful meal at the nearby Moroccan restaurant. Also had a great time going for a run down by the lake front.

The owners are absolutely wonderful.

Overall, don't be put off by the 2 star rating. This is as comfortable and nice as any 3 star hotel I've stayed in recently.

Room Tip: The moroccan restaurant down the street is worth the visit. The rooms on the 4th floor facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MileMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, a charming but basic room retaining many original features. Bed was reasonably comfortable and room was clean. Breakfast was plentiful if a bit limited on choice. The only negative was the terrible coffee at breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langemeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We have stayed in this hotel twice with my wife.

Found by accident:
In 2011 summer we spent one night in this hotel just because hotels in Geneva were so expensive. We were coming from Streasa Italy to catch out flight from Geneva airport and needed to stay one night somewhere.
The hotel was a very nice surprise. Personnel vere extremely friendly and on breakfast there was fresh croisant and good coffee. Location is also nice - the hotel is on a pedestrian street and very short distance to boulevard next to the lake.
Also we found out Evian was very pretty city.

Back in 2012:
In 2012 we were coming again from Italy. This time we stayed 2 nights engouraged by the previous year experience. The hotel was the same good value for money. We got even the room on the top floor with view to the lake over the roof tops.
The hotel was a good "basecamp" for visits to Old castle of Château de Chillon, beatiful town of Yvoire and Le pont du Diable.´

Room Tip: We have had a 3-person room on the inner yeard side which was pretty quiet. also we have had a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ateronen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thanks for leaving us a review! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us the first time and decided to come back for more! Between France and Switzerland, there's always so much to do in the area.

Maybe we'll have the pleasure of seeing you again a 3rd time!

Mike, Catherine and Alex Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed in the family room and it was very clean and good beds and linen. The owner was very friendly, flexible as we had to change the date of stay and the breakfast was very good and sufficient. The hotel has a lot of atmosphere. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thanks for leaving us a review. We're glad you enjoyed the family room. We always try and accomodate our guests when it's possible for us, so don't hesitate to ask for something when you need it.
Hope to see you again soon,

Mike, Catherine and Alex Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights on the top floor from September 26, 2012. Great view of the lake, large room and extremely clean. As we were travelling for one month, it was great place to end our trip. It is a family run hotel and it is obvious that they take alot of pride in their hotel. The breakfast room is large and fresh baked goods were included each day. Daily papers were made available and the internet worked well. We recommend this hotel highly and parking is not a problem. It is a two minute walk to the public parking which is cheaper than any hotel that offers parking. The parking is underground and very safe. Alex was very helpful as she printed out our airline tickets and provided us with an iron and ironing board. This hotel should be rated 3 star as we have stayed in 3 star hotels that don't come close to what the Hotel Continental is...dated October, 2012...residents of Vancouver Canada

Room Tip: Room 42 is very large, end room that has a view of lake...quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Hello and thanks for leaving a review. I very much enjoyed your stay at the hotel and am glad you enjoyed coming back to Evian and the region.
I hope you will come back sometime,
Alex Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Nice and friendly staff, great location. Stayed for one night 7-8oct 2012. Expect some noise from the main street in front of the hotel, but not bad. Absolutely recommended, would stay here again!
We travelled with young boy and wireless internet and tv chamnels is a must. And it worked well all the time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have wireless internet in all the rooms and french, english and german TV channels. We can also recommend good restaurants to eat at and things to see in the region. We love to share information, so don't hesitate to ask us questions!
Hope to see you again soon,
Catherine, Mike and Alex Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We chose this hotel to have stop in between our trip from Italy to home (in The Netherlands). The hotel itself is a cozy and in the middle of the shopping/restaurant street. The bed itself is very comfortable, although the pillows are way too soft and provide no support at all.

Breakfast was reasonably good as can be expected in France, there was enough choice and the quality was good as well. From croissants to yoghurt, although we didn't find any fresh fruit unfortunately. Strange thing was that dogs were allowed, as one guest couple took their chihuahua into the breakfast room. To me this is not very hygienic and it should not be allowed.

Within the room we encountered quite a lot of issues, some of which you can expect for a two star hotel, but some were even for a two star hotel in this price range bad. The shower cabin was of a reasonable size, but the toilet was put into a corner and you literally have no room to spare when you go to the toilet. We also did not find a "do not disturb" sign anywhere and on our second day we came back for some stuff at around 16:00 hours when the room was cleaned already, but even though someone tried to enter the room without knocking first. We had no idea why. The room itself had a very crooked floor and the tables at one side of the room were standing literally 10cm off the wall on top while the feet were placed against the wall. To us this was kind of scary, because sometimes you would stand on a part of the floor where you had the feeling to almost fall over.

The whole hotel is also very noisy with extremely bad isolation. You could hear the elevator and people chatting across the hall. People walking in their room, whether it was above our room or next to it, was also very noisy. The bathroom cannot be locked, which was no issue for us, but it can be for some people. As a last thing I noticed the curtains do not close well at all. We had to use our suitcase in order to block incoming street lights.

The personnel is very rude and if you ask them anything they immediately think you are blaming them and starting to react as if it is our fault. An example was that nowhere it is said where to park and that the hotel is badly accessible by car, which is why we were looking for quite a while to find a suitable spot to park our car (temporarily). The Wi-Fi connection was very instable, my iPad constantly lost the connection. All in all it was less than a two star hotel experience and we would not recommend this.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShockFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Thank you for leaving a review. we are sorry that the hotel clearly did not meet your standards.
As we are renovating our bathrooms this winter, we hope you will come back and give us a second opinion next year.

Catherine, Mike and Alex Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evian-les-Bains hotels
0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#8 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cygnes
Hotel Les Cygnes
#7 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
719 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel et Restaurant Le Bourgogne
Hotel et Restaurant Le Bourgogne
#18 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 65 rue Nationale, 74500, Evian-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Evian-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Price Range: £53 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1868, Hotel Continental has preserved all its charm from yesterday but with the comforts of today.Located in the heart of Evian in the pedestrian street, step out and discover the numerous shops and restaurants the town offers. Take a walk to famous Lake Geneva, the beautiful Casino, the thermes (spa) or the conference centers.Between lake and mountains, Evian is ideally situated to explore the Chablais region and nearby Switzerland.Our spacious and nicely furnished rooms evoque the 19th century past of Evian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Évian Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing