We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for cycling round the lake”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Delightful hotel in a town that's well worth a visit. On a cycling trip with friends so very pleased that they have a secure area for bikes out of the view of prying eyes. Clean, airy and pleasant room and a good feel to the whole place.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCR1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We appreciate your review. I'm a cyclist myself and so know the importance of one's bicycle :-)
The area offers great biking, either around the lake or climbing up the mountains. Don't hesitate to ask for advise at the reception for biking or hiking trips.

Hope to see you again on your next trip over,
Mike Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked the small double room and found it clean and comfortable. They even have an elevator! We were given excellent restaurant recommendations, and great advice for getting around. We stayed 3 nights, loved the town and the hotel. Great location, easy to find from the train station - we walked. Easy walk to lake, or anything in town. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bordeaux-drinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed two nights in this very attractive, easy to find, central hotel.
A warm welcome from Catherine the owner who was fluent in French and English. Booked and got a room on the fourth floor with a wonderful view across colourful roof tiles to the 13th-15th century church, Notre-Dame de l'Assomption and beyond to Lac Leman.
The hotel was built in 1868 and has some beautiful furniture in the very clean and comfortable rooms. The heating was efficient and quiet, large windows with shutters enabled us to close out the 2°C weather and get warm and cosy.
Breakfast was served in a lovely room on the first floor, only thing missing was fresh fruit.
Bathroom with shower was modern and had a warm floor.
Mattress was one of the most comfortable I've slept on.
Our stay coincided with the Le Fabuleux Village ou la légende des Flottins 2013 a magical occasion and well worth the trip across Lac Leman from Lausanne.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the lake request fourth floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the Hotel Continental for 6 nights, just leaving yesterday. We both loved it and would thoroughly recommend it.

Firstly, it is in the perfect location, being in the centre of the town (close to everything) and in the pedestrian precinct (lovely and quiet). Secondly, the proprietors are genuine, helpful and friendly and although we were doing our best to speak French, I did hear them speaking English too, so hopefully no major language issues there. Thirdly, the building is elegant and nicely decorated, in what I would describe as the best of French hotel style - high ceilings, large windows, classic style (neither old fashioned or modern, somewhere between the two). Fourthly, our (twin) room was spacious and well-maintained, with a nice view to some houses and the hill beyond. Fifthly, quite a good range of telly channels and good free wifi connection. And lastly, the breakfast experience is all of those good things rolled into one. The room is high-ceilinged, elegant, with large windows offering views to the characterful street below. The food choice is wide (bread you can toast, rolls, pastries, croissants, cheese, ham, sausage, fruit purees and yoghurts, cereals, some dried fuits, hot water in a large flask and a good choice of tea bags, coffee too in a large flask (so you can have as many goes as you like), you can help yourself to Evian water and juices too). Also, there was some gentle classical music wafting around in the airy room, a piano in the corner and a lovely fireplace.

Lovely town, lovely hotel, had a great time, go there if you can!

Lastly, I would call this a mid-priced hotel, but that's subjective, check the rates, we paid about 600 euros for our stay, which included the breakfast (although that is optional). Bonne chance!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this hotel! Lovely antique furniture in rooms, which created a bit of an early-1900s feel. Very clean. The staff was helpful and kind. A great quality-price value. You can easily walk to top sites in Evian from here. Hotel is located on the pedestrian street, just a few steps from the public underground parking garage. We wish more hotels like this one existed!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Super helpful and friendly staff (both before and during our stay). Excellent pricing. Great location. You should be aware that there is no AC but even during the summer-time it doesn't get very hot in Evian. It's close to restaurants, cafes, parking, and a Laundromat. The drive to/from Geneve is about an hour.
We parked in the Parc du Centre (up the hill and southwest of the hotel - on Av Commendant Madelaine) - it's 0.5 euros per hour, a 4 hour maximum, and free between 7 pm and 9 am, and free on Sundays. The walk from/to the parking garage and hotel is a couple of minutes and the turnover was such that we never had a problem finding a parking space. During the 3 days we stayed in Evian (over the weekend) it only cost us a few euros in total for parking.
If you like to hike then here's a suggestion. Drive from Evian to St Paul (otherwise known as St Paul en Chablais), then to Bernex. When you get Bernex you will reach a 3 way intersection. Turn left (slight uphill). Again, don't go right (downhill towards the church and post office). A few hundred feet down the road you will reach a fork. Take the right hand road. Again, don't go left or up the hill. Drive down this road for about 5 minutes (maybe less) and past some buildings that border the road until you get to what looks like a place to park on the right (I think there's a sign with a goat on it - not sure what that's about). The trail head looks like a road but it's actually hiking trail access. We took the trail on the left - there's a super nice stream and it climbs pretty quickly.
Additional driving advice.
Be aware of where the toll roads are. We did not have a toll pass so did not use them.
Get the navigation and learn how to use it - it will provide you with expanded ability to explore (and not get lost).
If you have rented a car in Geneva in order to get to Evian, and will need to return your car before resuming your vacation by catching a train in Geneva, allow at least 2 1/2 hours for the drive to Geneva. It will take longer than you think for the drive, to refuel the car (there are gas stations in the city center), and return the car. The gas stations are not easy to find and traffic in Geneva is incredibly busy. Also, this city has lot's of one way streets so navigating back to the car rental place may be more difficult than you anticipate.
You should take your passports with you when you go to/from Switzerland. We never had any issues (forgot to do this when we went to Montreux one day) but there is border control between the two countries.
Overall we loved the Continental hotel and Evian in general, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not have access from a patio through the window...could be accessed by folks wh...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEO_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Did not stay at this hotel but ate at its outdoor restaurant laid out on the main shopping street in Evian. Received a warm welcome on arrival. There was a wide choice of meals and courses with a wide price range. We enjoyed our meal and were surprised to discover on leaving that we'd spent almost two hours over our lunch - so it was definitely a pleasant and relaxing meal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank muskateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evian-les-Bains hotels
0.7 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cygnes
Hotel Les Cygnes
#7 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#8 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Littoral
Hotel Le Littoral
#6 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 65 rue Nationale, 74500, Evian-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Evian-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Price Range: £53 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1868, Hotel Continental has preserved all its charm from yesterday but with the comforts of today.Located in the heart of Evian in the pedestrian street, step out and discover the numerous shops and restaurants the town offers. Take a walk to famous Lake Geneva, the beautiful Casino, the thermes (spa) or the conference centers.Between lake and mountains, Evian is ideally situated to explore the Chablais region and nearby Switzerland.Our spacious and nicely furnished rooms evoque the 19th century past of Evian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Évian Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing