We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I shall return....”
Review of Hotel Le Littoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Littoral
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Greystoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I shall return....”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Having read an earlier review about a parking problem, I arrived with a printout map of all the surrounding car parks. Needn't have bothered. Firstly there are two 5 minute parking bays right outside the hotel which allowed us to register and drop our bags. Then there is an underground car park entrance just 50m further along the street. Absolutely no problem. It was around 6€ for 24 hours and pro-rata, so not a huge cost if you were only parking overnight anyway.
I would have thought that it would be impossible to miss the signs about the twice weekly market if you were going to park on the street. Big pictures of a trucks towing cars away on Tuesdays and Fridays work in any language.
I had also read reviews about thin curtains - well I didn't find the roll down shutter on the outside of window until after our second night either :) So again not a problem.
This is a great little hotel. Friendly helpful staff, excellent location 100m from the lakeside, comfortable room with very effective and quiet air con. Absolutely no noise from the Casino and we were on that side of the hotel. It is actually half a block away anyway.
Cons? The usual European showerhead fixed to the wall 4ft above the side of the bath and hence suitable only for 3ft aliens with three arms. No shower curtain, so we regularly flooded the floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    58
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
85
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We dropped into the Littoral as we were cycling around Lac Leman for the weekend. We had not booked but they found us a room and were very friendly and helpful. No complaints at all. They have responded to the car parking issue from the last review by posting signs in the hotel - however it should be noted that there were very clear signs in the parking area which detailed when the market was.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor and liked the location. BIG MISTAKE #1. Upon registration, the receptionist informed us that the hotel did not have it's own parking but we could use the public parking lot in front or the garage parking in the back. She told us that the parking lot in the front required a parking meter paid ticket to be displayed in the window and from 7PM to 9AM there was not charge. We opted to stay in the public parking lot. No problem with the parking on Monday morning, so we opted to use the same parking lot Monday evening when we returned from our day out. Paid our $$ to park there, placed the paid ticket on the dash and figured the car was safe for another night. BIG MISTAKE #2. Noone warned us that Tuesday and Thursday mornings there is a local market set up in this parking lot and all cars must be parked elsewhere. On Tues. morning we were awakened around 5AM by lots of noise, we didn't know what it was until around 8:30 when my husband went out to get the car to go to his business appointment. NO CAR!!!! It had been towed to a parking lot 30 minutes away in Thonon. Imagine his surprise and the stressful position he was now faced with. The receptionist at the hotel apologized and offered to call a cab for him. Obviously she was very aware of this situation happening to other unfortunate customers and explained the drill to my husband. Get money, pay lots of it to get your car back. Aprox. costs were Cab - ($30 USD); towing fine ($90 USD) and a ticket for parking there to begin with ($35 USD). He had to go to an ATM and then the police station in Thonon to retrieve the car. The hotel receptionist told me about this situation when I left the room around 10AM. She was apologetic and said "we really should put signs in our elevators warning customers about this problem". Great idea, but a little late for us. I wonder what happens when you don't happen to have $165 in extra cash to retrieve your car?

Other thoughts about the hotel are:
There is no breakfast included in the price. Obviously no parking included. The hotel room was clean but out-dated. The bed, mattress, pillows etc. were old and uncomfortable. The bathtub has a hand-held shower nozzle affixed to the wall at about the 5 ft. level. Like my husband always tells me - you get what you pay for! I wish I had booked the Hilton which in the end would have cost less than this hotel if you count the $200 mistake and my husband would not have had to deal with the stressful situation described above. Obviously, we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Liked — location is convenient to Lake
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
166 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Great location, friendly staff, very clean, quiet, and great views for not a lot of money!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gvaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evian-les-Bains hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
459 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cygnes
Hotel Les Cygnes
#7 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
#2 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#8 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Littoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Littoral

Property: Hotel Le Littoral
Address: 9 avenue de Narvik, 74500, Evian-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Evian-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Evian-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Littoral 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Littoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Littoral Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing