We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gallia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gallia
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel has been completely renewed (hopefully the price won't rise), the room was very nice and clean (see pic). The service is very good and people are very nice and friendly.

Breakfast is a bit expensive (9€) but the price is in-line with other hotels.

The location is fine, 10/15 min walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enricocoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    33
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
7
42
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We just passed by this nice looking hotel, parked the car in front and checked in without a reservation. Very friendly welcome by the efficient, helpful and english speaking receptionist. We opted for the newly refurbished part of the hotel for €65 a night excl €9 p.p. for the breakfast buffet in a, on hindsight, nicely decorated but stuffy room. Basic breakfasts only in this hotel. Vending machine with cold drinks in the lobby .
Elevator was small and the double bedroom only slightly bigger so to speak. But very neat and clean with a giant flatscreen TV and WiFi. The bed was comfortable. The airco was not an airconditioner but rather a built in cooling fan that just did the job. The bathroom with a toilet was also very neat but simply too small and did not have any ventilation. Its size would certainly be a problem for bigger people.
Overall less than average hotel on a fairly nice location in Grenoble.

Too bad for the nice young man at the reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grenoble hotels

Tourves, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed one night, we got 3 rooms, everybody was very satisfied, ,clean rooms,airco functionning, , the only negative issue/ the rooms are very small but the prices are very reasonnable.The hotel is also near the city-center, very good for a Grenoble-visit

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bacchus1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

This is an acceptable (just about) 2 star hotel. My room was reasonably clean although mould was taking hold in the bathroom. No proper shower in en suite - just handheld shower attachment on the taps with no shower curtain. Windows don't close properly and finding the carefully hidden single plug socket is an interesting challenge. It is also noisy from 6am onwards (and I was at the back). Breakfast isn't worth the charge - plenty of nearby cafes or boulangeries offer better. On the positive side decor is cheap and cheerful and the bedrooms reasonaly comfortable. Rooms have mini-fridge and air conditioning. Good free wi-fi connection and it's in a decent location.
All the French-language reviews say the reception is unfriendly - I'd agree - there is a friendly younger man, but the older man and woman appear to regard guests as nuisances who should be off the premises as early as possible. They are impatient with people making mistakes in French but unwilling to speak any other language. Basically it's not appalling but I doubt all Grenoble's hotels make you feel quite so unwelcome. And I do think a proper shower is not an unreasonable expectation in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Janeinmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grenoble hotels
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Gambetta
Inter-Hotel Le Gambetta
#11 of 50 in Grenoble
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citadines City Centre Grenoble
0.3 mi away
Operalia Grenoble les Cedres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 50 in Grenoble
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Grenoble Centre
Ibis Grenoble Centre
#15 of 50 in Grenoble
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Grenoble Centre Alpotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gallia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gallia

Property: Hotel Gallia
Address: Boulevard du Marechal Joffre, 38000, Grenoble, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Grenoble
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gallia 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gallia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing