We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Three-Star Hotel in Grenoble”
Review of Splendid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Splendid Hotel
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Had a four-day meeting in Grenoble and was placed by the local organizers in this hotel, which I had never stayed at before. Rooms are nice, though not great. Hotel is on a not-so-busy street so most rooms are relatively quiet. Full-breakfast provided for an extra 9 Euros. Tram stop just a 5-minute walk, and the train station is about a 15-minute walk away from the hotel. I would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Splendid Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

if i would judge by the bed, service, room - the hotel would deserve much better rating (3 or 4 tripadvisor stars)
however, the room i was in was on the side to the street, right above some bar that was playing very very loud music all night long. i wanted to complain on reception, but could not find anyone (i tried it only once, was too tired to wait and search for them).
the choice i had was - either sleep in a very hot room, with earplugs
or, open windows and enjoy a chilly evening with the loud music and no sleep

i picked the first choice, but sleping in a hotel with earplugs is not my idea of a good rest.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bratislav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We chose this hotel because of a three star quality rating. It's two star at best. Decor is very tired. Air conditioning does not work. With window open the road and pedestrian noise is terrible. At least the Internet works and there is secure parking. NOT a Splendid experience at all!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel was fine for the price we paid. It is a bit tired in places and our standard double room was small but it is excellently located, clean with a very welcome car park.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Nothing leaps out about this place but it's a good, solid choice. It gets a bonus point for having the chutzpah to indulge in some slightly whacky décor in what is otherwise a fairly standard mid-price city hotel. Handy location. My room was fine - all the usual stuff, and the bathroom was perhaps a little better fitted than I might have expected for the price. Breakfast buffet was generous. Friendly staff. Free wifi. In all, a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering_Seahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This hotel is in a convenient location in Grenoble within walking distance of most museums and sites. The staff are friendly and incredibly helpful in making suggestions about what to do in Grenoble. There are family rooms that sleep 4 - something usually hard to find. The decor is fun and interesting, with different themes painted on the walls (ours was the moon and other planets). This is a family friendly hotel that is excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the4newmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

It was my third stay at this hotel. The staff was, as always, very helpful and pleasant. WIFI is fast and free and there is a safe open-air parking right outside. The hotel is right in the center. It has all the amenities you can imagine but it cannot be called "boutique". The multicoloured decoration makes a terrible sight. They should have started with the paintings instead of doing it the other way round.

Room Tip: Room 18 is close to an electric closet that vibrates behind your head all night !
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisandVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grenoble hotels
Hyper-Centre
Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre
Royal Hotel
#12 of 50 in Grenoble
323 reviews
Novotel Grenoble Centre
#7 of 50 in Grenoble
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inter-Hotel Le Gambetta
#10 of 50 in Grenoble
188 reviews
Hyper-Centre
Hotel de l'Europe Grenoble Hyper Centre
Hyper-Centre
Hotel d’Angleterre
Hotel d’Angleterre
#15 of 50 in Grenoble
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel

Address: 22 rue Thiers, 38000, Grenoble, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Grenoble
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Price Range: £47 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Splendid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Grenoble

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing