We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good French cooking, they have looked after us well” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Ardoise

L'Ardoise
Ranked #10 of 886 Restaurants in Grenoble
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good French cooking, they have looked after us well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very varied but good cooking, good food, good variety, copious, nice ambience, warm, friendly service. good for lunches and dinners

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    312
    53
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would defiantly return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I ordered the set menu 20 euros and got snails for entree, lamb shank for main and a traditional French desert it's was very satisfying, my wife got the duck which was very nice, the staff that looked after our table were very helpful and explained the menu and even recommended dishes. The price was reasonable considering that food and service was of high quality, we will return on our next visit to grenoble.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dc100007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenagh
2 reviews
“great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

the set menu was excellent value. It hadv fantastic choice. We even got to try snails. The food was also excellent quality. The staff were very helpfull.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“If you only eat once in Grenoble, eat here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We found this gem thanks to Tripadvisor, looking for somewhere a short walk from out hotel - and what a find! This isn't posh nosh but by golly it's good nosh, and they seem proud and pleased to serve it. Ona farily chilly Sep evening we were fortunate to get the last table for two indoors - another time I would book. Others have said what good value it is, but for me the big attraction is that this is eating out in France the way it used to be - a happy experience all round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 295horace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leganés, España
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great option for a non-expensive dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

A really good place for having dinner in Grenoble. Friendly staff and good atmosphere. The dinner menu (20 €) is really a great option. I would have preferred to have an option not including necessarily a dessert but even so it's really a good offering. The menu allows you to choose from most of all dishes offered by the restaurant, so it's really difficult you won't find something you long to have.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hector_MMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Ardoise also viewed

 

Been to L'Ardoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing