We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Touring Hotel(Grenoble)
View Hotel
Hotel des Alpes(Grenoble)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Lux(Grenoble)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Gloria(Grenoble)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Alize(Grenoble)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
113
156
62
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
156
62
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationdecent choiceold townbusiness triptowelsfloorwifi
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have stayed twice at the Hotel Royal in Grenoble for a couple of days each time, in the summer. Its main strong points are the beautiful hall -historic mosaique floor!- and staircase, central location and charming well equipped very clean rooms, at affordable rates. The only downside was the occasional bell ringing of the trams as I like to leave the windows open at night, but then that's my choice!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara-lacoccinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Excellent price/quality. This is where I stay when I'm in Grenoble. Clean rooms, good bed. Toilet/bathroom in the rooms I've stayed in are small but who cares? You won't spend your time there. Internet is a bit slow at evening time (shared connection?) Good location. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the railway station, and about ten minutes walk from central Grenoble. Very convenient. Also close to a number of bars, bistros, and restaurants. It is situated on a quiet, albeit rather drab, side street, The facilities are basic. My room was comfortable, but rather small. One night was certainly enough. However, this hotel's room rates are reasonable, and the breakfast buffet (though limited) was better than I have enjoyed at more expensive establishments. This hotel is fine for a budget stop-over, and (on that basis) I would recommend it. If your budget is tight, and you are visiting Grenoble for just a couple of days, this hotel is a good choice. If you have money to splurge, or are seeking a longer stay, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPMUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Nice two star hotel, very clean, good location, breakfast above average for a two star,good location. On the minus side rooms pretty small and younhear the tram if window is open. Plus side, nice staff freecwifi good breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anectine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

This hotel was recommended by the tourist office so we weren't very worried. First problem was finding the place as none of the maps showed the street 'Gabriel Peri', still we got there after a good 12 hour journey half an hour after the allocated checking in time.
Problems with the e-mail reservation and receptionist couldn't get the computer working .. this took a long while and then we were handed our room key only to find it hadn't been prepared. We had to sit in the room whilst poor maid rushed around, very flustered and not entirely happy to tell the truth, not a very good start.
The room was very, very basic with a view not on the French Alps, not on the Bastille, not on the beautiful town but onto very delapidated buildings very close to our window. No spare blankets, pillows or towels available.
On the plus side, the breakfast was excellent and the dining-room was very pretty.
On the last day, for some reason, the receptionist had muddled up our reservation and we got only one set of towels between the two of us, not really acceptable before a long journey home.
Please note that there is nowhere to park for guests and that the staff recommended we do not park in their street as not safe ..
I would not stay there again sadly.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank ellygloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews