We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic rooms in good location, but no A/C”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to the train station and a block from a tram stop. It is slightly off the main street, so was quiet. It was very hot while we were in Grenoble-- the air conditioning promised on my confirmation turned out to be a ceiling fan. For the price we paid, this room was just fine. No frills, but clean with relatively new bathroom fixtures. I would skip the breakfast. The croissants were bad and there is a nice little bakery about a block down with wonderful food. I might have given this hotel a higher rating if they hadn't tried to charge us for a breakfast we had told them we did not want. Fortunately, my daughter was able to argue in French and they finally took it off the bill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelgrenoble, Responsable relations clients at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

First of all, thank you for your stay and feedback on our hotel
We are pleased that you are satisfied with your stay, the location of the hotel and the renovation of rooms,
For the problem of air conditioning, we believe that there was a problem booking and for breakfast we order from the best bakery in Grenoble "the talemelerie" and we will put more choice from September

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute while visiting the area to see the Tour de France. I found it to be overpriced for what it is. The room was ok but there was only a ceiling fan, no air conditioning. The room did not have a hair dryer or clock and only all purpose liquid soap was provided in the bathroom. Also, because it was so warm, I had to have the window open at all times and outside of the room there were always dozens of pigeons making pigeon noises. It was very noisy and I was very afraid one of them would end up flying into the room.

The bed was not terribly comfortable and the pillows were small, lumpy and filled with foam, not down.

The bathroom has been recently renovated and was nice. The shower stall was very large with god water pressure.

Room Tip: Try to face the street to avoid all of the pigeons who nest outside the rooms facing the back.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelgrenoble, Responsable relations clients at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hello,
Thank you for your review and your stay at the hotel,
First of all, thank you for your compliment on the bathroom,
On the clock, we have a 24H/24 wake, the beds are 5 star quality, and pillows,
For a supplement of € 10, you have air conditioning and a fully renovated room

Sincerely,
THOMAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Was given a room with poor air conditioning (it was blowing out warm air) in the height of summer and despite complaining about this on our first night, was told by the management that the air conditioning was cold, even though it was cooler outside in the streets. We were unable to stay in our room for any length of time in the hot weather and it was incredibly frustrating that we were not offered another room or a refund. Don't stay here in summer!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelgrenoble, Responsable relations clients at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hello,
Thank you for your review of this hotel,
I apologize for the problem of air conditioning, and we check and repair the air conditioning was not working,
Thank you for the show to air conditioning, and we have proposed a 10% refund or supplement the air conditioning on the day of your check-out,

Sincerely,
THOMAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Second time in Grenoble but first time in this hotel which has a quite elegant reception area and a nice small breakfast room. The staff was polite and friendly and the room was spacious, renovated and well maintained. It was equipped with a comfortable double bed, a flat screen TV, a fan (no air conditioning) and a closet.

On the other hand, the en-suite bathroom didn't look as renovated as the room. The taps had rests of limescale (they don't glitter as I expect taps to glitter), the rubbish had not been removed from the trash bin, a couple of towels were not folded (were they used towels?), there was a long hair in the washbasin and there were rests of soap in the shower tray. So it looks like they allowed me to check-in too early (I guess I would have found a cleaner bathroom if I had arrived a little bit later).

Something else I didn't like was the room's view (there's no view at all) because the window looks into the air shaft, which means that that room (#118) was neither so much light-filled. The only good thing that this has is that the sleeping quality was very good because there was no noise at all. In fact, I have the impression that the sleeping quality must be good in all rooms because the street onto some of the rooms look out is a small side street with almost no traffic.

With reference to the location, this is a very good location because it's just a 10 minutes walk maximum from the railway station and the bus station. In addition you can find places to eat in the really close Av. Alsace Lorraine or in the Av. Félix Viallet (in front of the hotel there is also an Indian restaurant).

Finally, let me add that the breakfast, which was not included in the price and which costed 9,50EUR, it's decent enough but not outstanding.

Considering everything, I think this is an ok hotel but in my opinion it should be rated as a 2 stars or a 2,5 stars place.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 118 if you want a window looking out onto the street.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelgrenoble, Responsable relations clients at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hello,
First of all, thank you for your stay at the hotel and review your night in our hotel,
Thank you for the compliment on the renovation of rooms and reception
Indeed, we renovated in November 2012,
Currently, we are renovating the bathroom for standard room
We hope to see you soon at the Royal Hotel Grenoble to show you our work bathroom,

Sincerely,
THOMAS of Royal Hotel *** Grenoble

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The hotel is well located, rooms in good condition and breakfast is decent. Wifi worked pretty good (which seems to be a rarity in France). Front desk was good at english. Overall an average hotel. I would rate it 3.5 if I could. ;)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My wife and I, mid sixties, spent four nights at the Royal Hotel in Grenoble. Price cheap. Location excellent - towards middle of city. Room adequately furnished though on the small side. Great fun with lift which accommodates only two medium-sized people but not two corpulent ones. Hotel and rooms demonstrably clean, Breakfast buffet of high standard and well stocked. Hotel reception staff most knowledgeable and helpful. TV has only French channels. Local tram network so efficient and useful (buy a one or two or three day ticket). Hotel parking could be a problem.

Would happily return and can recommend as a simple, non-deluxe hotel.

Room Tip: If using Wi-Fi do check that the room has good connectivity.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed for one night at the Royal which has clearly had a make over to modernise the rooms and facilities, leaving it comfortable but unremarkable. Our bathroom was dated and had a hand shower in a very small bath tub without a shower curtain - a sit down shower!! The lift to all floors is very small so if there's two of you with luggage you'll need to shuttle up to your room. We parked in a public car park 5 minutes walk away which is fine and the hotel can give you a discount. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSpaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grenoble hotels
Hyper-Centre
Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre
Novotel Grenoble Centre
#7 of 50 in Grenoble
442 reviews
Hyper-Centre
Hotel de l'Europe Grenoble Hyper Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inter-Hotel Le Gambetta
#10 of 50 in Grenoble
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 2 rue Gabriel Peri, 38000, Grenoble, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Grenoble
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Price Range: £47 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort, service and well-being first. City center, 300 meters from the train and bus stations, the Congress Centre of the World Trade Center and easy access to Tram Alpexpo conference center. Near Minatec and scientific center.The Royal Hotel welcomes you in a family atmosphere. The hotel offers 37 quiet rooms with premium bedding, including several rooms in a renovated decoration design ... All have 20 channels (flat screen TV), from standard rooms to comfort versions and Grand Confort with private lounge to enjoy a pleasant stay in Grenoble. Wi-Fi access and free parking High-speed city nearby.A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room from 7:00 to 10:30. We recommend you to start your day with a wide choice in our rich breakfast buffet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing