We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel on Grenette”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ResidHotel Grenette
Reviewed 29 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sergey B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed here with my brother for 3 nights. We were stuck in Grenoble with a broken down car, so it was a last minute booking. Whilst ‘acceptable’, this was the poorest of the three hotels we used in central Grenoble in the same week, so I would definitely suggest checking my other reviews.

This is a hotel/self catering hybrid the French refer to as ‘apart-hotels’. This basically means it has a sink / hob / fridge in the room, plus some crockery and cutlery. Unfortunately there was no kitchen work surface as such, so preparing any food necessitated using a steel topped table in the bedroom area. It was by far the smallest of 3 ‘apart-hotels’ we used in city locations in France on this trip (2 in Grenoble, 1 in Nice). The kitchenette area was well equipped with a rotary salad drier and an old coffee machine, but this had no filters, so was essentially fairly useless! Suggest bringing paper coffee filters with you if you actually intend to use this, as I wouldn’t know where to look for them in central Grenoble. The fridge was full sized, which is a plus. The room was pretty small and had nowhere to relax other than lying on the beds, which were fairly spartan – narrow, hard, and equipped with a single pillow each. Our towels were not changed, nor our room cleaned in 3 days – there was only one tea-towel as well, so this was fairly impractical.

The bathroom was OK – shower cubicle was reasonable size, no bath, separate toilet cubicle, but oddly this had no sink. The free Wi-Fi was almost useless – I am not exaggerating or joking when I say I have used dial-up that was faster – 2 cups joined with string would be similarly efficacious. The access on most 3G mobiles is significantly faster. Do not stay here if you need Wi-Fi to hook up remotely for work, as my brother tried to and it was hopeless.

In terms of service, we had to check in on a Sunday. Website states check in starts at 2pm. We arrived at around 12.30pm not expecting to be able to access our rooms, which we were not. We were advised check in is from 2pm. We asked if there was anywhere we could leave our bags, and were told they could be put in the office behind reception, but this would be locked until 4pm. So, we left with our bags and returned at around 1.45pm to wait for check in. Nobody showed up until 4pm – hence the comment about the office being locked – although no explanation had been given at 12.30pm that we would not, in fact, be able to check in at 2pm. This was pure disregard on the part of the staff rather than a misunderstanding as my brother’s French is pretty fluent, and so was the receptionist’s English. To add to the general insult, the girl we spoke to at 12.30pm walked straight past the locked office to leave for the day on the dot of 2pm, without offering any further advice on when we may be able to check in. This, in my view, is a disgraceful lack of basic customer service. The final downside was the pervading strong smell of blocked sewer in the ground floor area and some areas on other floors (although thankfully not our room) - really unpleasant.

On the plus sides, breakfast was OK and the location is perfect, right in the heart of the city and only 100 yards from a tram stop.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sergey B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Conveniently situated, clean and comfortable. Enjoyed my 6 nights here although it's a little pricey for 1 person it's worth it for the catering facilities. I was there to walk in the hills so I really appreciated having a bath to come 'home' to. Hot water was plentiful and VERY hot!
There is free WI-FI but the connection is very slow, ususlly timing out before the page opens. If internet is important to you opt for the pay version which i found to be fast and reliable: 7 euros per day or 20 euros per week.
There are two supermarkets within about 3 min. walk, a 'Mace' on Rue Felix Viallet and a 'Casino' on Rue Montorge. The cable car is also just a few minutes walk away. (7.05 eruos return, curious price!).
TV has no english channels, at least one news channel in english would be appreciated.
I would happily stay thee again and intend to try some of the other Residhotels. Has anyone stayed in Residhotel Festival, Cannes le Bocca? I don't see it on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Only some rooms have balconies but there is not much of a view anyway, so it's not really impror...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ossier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Cleaning is not included in the price, as the hotel is more studio/apartment style. Breakfast was decent and cost around 9 euros. The location is a few steps from downtown and shops, and the restaurant across the street was nice. Nice staff. I remember having internet access, but some reviews here say there wasn't any. All around a good place for seeing Grenoble. Not far from the train stations, either.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tinkerbell722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Nice little studio with kitchen. Bathroom was good but something was smelling very strong in there. Service is good. Breakfast is very small, better to have breakfast outside.
Grenoble is beautiful but be aware that everything is closed on a Sunday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank orvalectiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Nice to have a hotel with kitchenette :) lovely and clean, quiet .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiliekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grenoble hotels
Ibis Grenoble Centre
#13 of 50 in Grenoble
434 reviews
Hyper-Centre
Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre
Royal Hotel
#11 of 50 in Grenoble
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyper-Centre
Hotel de l'Europe Grenoble Hyper Centre
Hyper-Centre
Hotel d’Angleterre
Hotel d’Angleterre
#15 of 50 in Grenoble
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ResidHotel Grenette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ResidHotel Grenette

Address: 12 rue de Palanka | Angle rue Clot Bey, 38000, Grenoble, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Grenoble > Hyper-Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Grenoble
Price Range: £41 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ResidHotel Grenette 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Chartreuse massif and 5 min from historical center, the 3*** residence Grenette is an ideal starting point to visit Grenoble, or for an escape to the mountain. In this warm and convivial atmosphere, Grenette offers a personal welcome with its 65 comfortable and well appointed apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ResidHotel Grenette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing