We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Eskis - CLOSED

Eskis
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My first experience in a so called "cuisine contemporaire" or "molecular gastronomy" restaurant and I must say it was spectacular! Very creative associations of Incredible tastes, textures, colours ending up in a unique and beautiful visual and gustative symphony!
Bravo the Chef!
Need to book ahead - very limited guests and the price is in line.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    37
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A delicious meal, a memorable experience!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We've been to Eskis twice - first for Valentine's Day in 2011 and last month with American family visiting from out of town. Eskis is a great experience and one of my favorite restos in Lyon: The menu changes with the seasons so everything's fresh, and it's really just a list of ingredients: You tell the waiter what you don't like or are allergic to, and the chef whips up a series of innovative, delicious courses with what's left. I'm always surprised, always pleased. If my wallet was a bit deeper, I'd go more often! A real gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbarry524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A must if in Lyon”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I had to admit that my wife had to drag me kicking and scream to this place. When we first saw it while walking the town it look a bit austere. With its Italian look, white, modern leather seats and round tables, it appeared a bit affected. Well, nothing of the sort. The waiters are extremely gregarious, the food is fantastic, and we had a great time. The menu is changed monthly so we had June to choose from and it means that you have a list of products that they will use in your meal. All you have to let them know is what you don’t like out of the list and away they go. There is a bit of molecular cooking (especially when the dessert comes) but most of it is very well made and seasoned portions of delight. The staff is fluent in English (they describe every dish and its contents) and extremely professional and attentive. The price is more than adequate for what you get, how it’s presented, and savoured. Would definitely return if back in Lyon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience as always”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

It was already our third visit to the Eskis. For my daughters birthday, we travelled especially for dinner in the Eskis to Lyon. We love the creativity of the Chef. We love the small size of the restaurant. We love the personalised service. They change the menu every month. The cuisine leans towards molecular and nouvelle cuisine. Very creative, and an experience. The tastes explode in your mouth. The ingredients and their compinations are surprising. We always take the big menu at Euro 69 per person. It is composed of 8 different dishes and it is worth every cent. I actually find it very reasonably priced. One has the choice of matching wines. They are very knowledgeable about wines and always find surprising ones. In short, great restaurant and we already look forward to return. Note: you should book well in advance as it is often very full.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sibylle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Quite average”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We've had enough "molecular cuisine" to not be impressed by this little place. The truffle and chestnut soup had no truffle flavor. The portions were tiny, and even while we had the seven course menu, with a couple of amuse bouche thrown in, we kept wolfing down the bread a girl kept serving out. It appeared most other tables did the same. Going home, we had to stop by a McD for a small burger just to feel full. And we're not huge…

Our biggest gripe was with the wine menu. The wines were good, but for some reason our waiter insisted on pouring after each plate was served, a few times quite a while into the dish, once after the mouthful on the plate was gone. Quite annoying.

Still, the food was good, our waiter was mostly (except when pouring wine), excellent, and spoke perfect English. Perhaps we got the only one speaking English, and that messed up serving? We enjoyed most of the dishes, and if you think you'll be fascinated by your dessert flash frozen in liquid nitrogen by your table, you should by all means go. For the quality and the service, we thought the bill was acceptable, except for the tiny portions.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Espen806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing