We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good for Lyon”
Review of Hotel Central

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Central
Ranked #139 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 12 July 2011

It is actually not VERY good in my opinion. But if we start rating based on value i would give it a four (out of five) since it would not be easy to find better centrally-located hotels at a similar price.
A 10-mt walk from Place Bellecour (the very center), nice interior design, comfortable and relatively large rooms (although ours had a really small window). Mind that there is no safe box and no mini-fridge - although thats typical for hotels in France.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a 1-week business trip, and was not disappointed. Although it is basic, it serves its purpose well. My only complaint would be the location, which did not always feel quite safe especially at night, but once inside the hotel it's fine. The rooms are clean and comfortable, if small, and have flat-screen TV's with at least two or three channels in English including BBC world news. The beds are quite comfortable. The elevator is old and very cramped, and bounces a lot when you get on. Breakfast was typical for Western Europe and simple but good, with a choice of cold sliced meat, cheese, yogurt and fruit. You are asked to leave your key at the desk whenever you go out. The hotel is very convenient for Lyon Perrache train station and tram service on the T1 from Gare Part-Dieu (literally only one block away), but finding it on arrival can be quite tricky. The hotel is basically hidden away on a back alley behind the train station, and to get there you have to walk down two flights of stairs that exit onto a large parking lot and tram tracks. You have to walk across the tracks and parking lot to get to the hotel, and at night it is dark and isolated with the occasional shady character lurking about, which could be a drawback for solo travellers (I went there with a work colleague). However, the location is great for exploring the city, particularly the old town which is only a 15 to 20-minute walk away. The Brasserie St.-Georges restaurant next door to the hotel is very pricey (and has separate seating depending whether you want dinner or just dessert, they ask you first). We mostly had quick cheap dinners at Subway and various other local sandwich shops, and there is also a McDonalds about three blocks from the hotel past the train station. There are also good restaurants within a short walk, past the Place Bellecoeur in the direction of the old town. Don't miss the river walk along the Rhone, particularly at night when the bridges are lit up in various colors.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator are the most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AquaBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

As first time visitors to Lyon, our hardest task was finding the hotel, located amongst Perrache`s concrete jungle. Our route: Lyon Airport (St Exupery), Rhonexpress to Part Dieu, T1 tramway to Perrache (Montrochet direction), cross tramline to exit on foot to Verdun Perrache, Hotel Normandie in view, Central Hotl on right before Ibis...

Hotel staff were brilliant & bilingual, the room was small but clean & well appointed but the best thing was the half hour wander through the town, Place Bellecour and eventually across the west river to the old town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJK67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I stayed at Hotel Central Perrache for 2 nights while visiting Lyon in June. This hotel is one of the example that the French hotel star rating system makes no sense. The hotel is completely renovated, modern, beautiful, and comfortable. It's centrally located within a few minute walk to Perrache station for the train, metro, and the tramway. However keep in mind that the longer distance trains stop at Part-Dieu station, so you would need to take the metro or the tramway here.

Now finding the hotel is a bit of a challenge, because it's at the back side of the bus terminal which is next to the Perrache train station, and the street faces a highway, so the street pattern is confusing. In fact it took me almost an hour circling the station to find the hotel. As I learned later, the easiest is to walk through the bus terminal, go to the ground level where the tramway is, and walk out a non descriptive driveway/parking exit to Cours Verdun Perrache to get to the hotel.

The staff at this hotel are really friendly and all spoke reasonable English or/and were patient with my French. Wifi was again free. The room was modern, clean, nice, and the bed large and the most comfortable I have had during my entire 2.5 week travel. The room is not big, but efficiently laid out. My room had a tiny window to the street, and since there is no AC, I left the window open, and there was some noise and being on the second floor, people were smoking right outside my window downstairs.

The only issue I had with the hotel was that, I got the breakfast buffet for 7.5 Euros/day. I booked my room from Booking.com, and it defaulted to 2 people, which fit me fine, since I wanted space. However the hotel assumed that there was 2 of us, and charged me double for the breakfast. I had email back to the hotel to explain that there was only one person, to get a refund, which was promptly refunded.

Now although centrally located the neighborhood is not right in the center of town. You can take the tramway, metro, or walk about 15-20 minutes to Place Bellecour and Vieux Lyon...etc. Which is a bit farther than I prefer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siminnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This is a great 2-star hotel, located right beside the Lyon Perrache train station (very convenient for us as we arrived by TGV from Paris) and later rented a car from the station). Unlike many areas around train stations in cities, this one is fine. It's right beside an autoroute intersection, but the sound-proofing was very good and we slept well. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the room was modern and clean - if small. It was also very good value and only 15 minutes walk to Place Bellecour. The only gripe I'd have would be that the cleaning staff are a little over-zealous. On our last day, we were badgered to leave the room from 10am onwards, despite check-out being noon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Stayed here for a three nights whilst organising a pick up a car from Geneva.
Location was ideal, easy walk to the city and close to the rail station.Clean and comfortable with excellent customer service.
Wouldn't hesitate staying here again

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_m2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Older building but very modern inside. Great rooms and everything. Breakfast was awesome and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel du Simplon
Hotel du Simplon
#57 of 194 in Lyon
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
#60 of 194 in Lyon
450 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 194 in Lyon
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 26 cours de Verdun Perrache, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £56 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing