We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smart price & great location”
Review of Hotel Central

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Central
Ranked #126 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Milano Marittima, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“smart price & great location”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

we stayed at hotel central lyon perrache for 1 night.
the location is right next to the central station and have easy access to the parking. i am also attaching the parking prices (which the hotel offers with some discounts).

we booked a double and a twin bedroom. the double room was way way way too small compared to my friend's twin bedroom and i asked to change also to a twin room as the price was the same but as they were fully booked they gave me a bigger room... but one minor part about the room was the bathroom felt like a hospital and had a strong smell. as i was searching for a hotel in lyon with a smart price & great location it's always difficult to really understand the condition of the place unless you see some reviews with actual pictures. as there were some bad review regarding the toilet showers... i was actually expecting more worse conditions but it wasn't so bad.

the hotel is small... but for the price it's good. breakfast are not included and u can either choose 8 euro for buffet or 4 euro for light breakfast.

the front desk was very kind.... the rooms were too cold for me and i asked them regarding the heater and they lent me additional heater to warm the room for free of charge. u can also leave u luggage and pay for the parking at the front desk. i would recommend those that are just visiting for few days searching for smart price with good location to travel.

Room Tip: for those that receives a small double room.... ASK if they have other rooms avaiable which are BIGG...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank passi0ntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    96
    36
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
82
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This was a decent hotel, but was under construction when my mother and I stayed there in late October 2012. It's a small hotel but the room was a decent size. The bathroom was a nightmare. It smelled bad and the shower and toilet were in the same room but not separated by anything, so the water ran out and flooded the room. The sink was out in the main room, which was nice, but the bathroom was the worst part of the stay. Location was pretty good, next to a great restaurant and walking distance to Place Bellecour. There was a nice market on the way with great local food and wine. Staff was helpful and pleasant and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaucene
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This is our third stay at the Hotel Central in Lyon - lit`s just around the corner from the Perrache railway station, its true this isnt the classiest neighborhood , not that far from the prison/red light district but dont let that put you off, you are just 10 minutes away from the great avenues, antique and art shops and the major squares of the southern end of the Presqu`ile The hotel itself: clean, modern, friendly efficient staff, good functional bathroom , amazing room prices and ample continental breakfast. No parking but arrangement with nearby enclosed parking works well. Dont expect to swing cats in the compact bedrooms but if you`re not planning to spend city time hanging around at the hotel , who cares! ... everything works well. For €51 to be that close to the center of one of France`s great cities is a real bargain. And you are next door bar one to the legendary Georges Brasserie, a must for micro brewery and choucroute fans.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

For those of you looking at the maps of Lille, don't be fooled by the fact that this place is close to Gare Perrache - this is not the main train station in and out of town, that honour goes to Gare Part Dieu. However, it's a short ride by taxi or tram to this Hotel.

And it's a lovely place to stop. Yes, it is a little out of the main city, but a 20 minute walk and you are there. The rooms are quite dark, as are the corridors, and yes the rooms are small, but they provide everything that you need. The staff are friendly and do try to make your stay better.

I'd recommend this for a decent budget option.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndustryBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Central Hotel is in a fab location as it's near one of the main train/tram stations that accesses the entire city, so it was easy to get around. The hotel was covered in scaffolding but this made no difference to us as we didn't book it for a nice view! We were given room 001 on the ground floor which I think is for wheelchair access and extra large, as we had a 2 year old and travel cot/pram etc. And it also had patio doors to a small courtyard area. It was ideal for us, and very soundproofed and warm.
It's quite contemporary, and the reception staff were very friendly.
It's also right next to Brasserie Georges, and absolute MUST when staying in Lyon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat_ford2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The location is as in the name, it is in a very central location, being just two minutes walk from the Gare de Lyon-Perrache. It is handy for the very user-friendly metro service and just ten minutes walk from the Place Bellecour. The welcome from the staff was very warm and all spoke good English. WiFi is available free of charge for any phones/laptops and the breakfast was popular though I preferred to eat out. The rooms are cleanand well decorated,but are however, on the small side.The bed was very comfortable but only had a space of 50cm on all three sides. The bathroom was a wetroom and equipped with a very good shower. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bimco63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Location is convenient, easy to catch metro, tram or train. Would not expect much from 2 stars, but Hotel Central surprised me: receptionists were speaking good english, rooms were clean and cleaned every day, wifi was free of charge, bed was extremely comfortable. Morning breakfast extra charge and is basic, but tasty, just the way i needed it to start my day. Just remember, that breakfast room is not the big one, so sometimes it might be full of people. One minus is that rooms are not air-conditioned so staying in the room during summer time might be a problem for some people. For me it was a big minus. I asked for a fan and managed well with it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#93 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#159 of 193 in Lyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Best Western Hotel Charlemagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De La Loire
#99 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel du Simplon
Hotel du Simplon
#54 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: 26 cours de Verdun Perrache, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing