We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Central

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Central
Ranked #136 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here one night, and chose it due to the location from the train station. The neighbourhood isn't anything special, but it is close to some of the main attractions and shopping areas. Our room was on one of the higher floors and was overlooking a highway, but was still fairly quiet with the window closed.
The room itself was small, but clean and had all the amenities we needed for the night. The front desk staff were very friendly. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast, but did appreciate the free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_janevan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just spent a week in Lyon staying at the Hotel Central which was a perfect base for exploring the City.
The Perrache Transport Hub is adjacent to the Hotel and with the ease of transport in Lyon you can get anywhere in a short time.
The Hotel is small but very clean and good value for money.Reception speak good english so our french language skills were not overly required!
Only downside was our room overlooked a small courtyard at the back containing bins and people seemed to like noisily emptying their rubbish there from very early in the morning!
Walking to central areas and the old town was very easy,although there is a tented village on the other side of the station which is a bit off-putting.
Recommend the open top bus tour,trip to the Roman Ruins,and the Paul Bocuse indoor Market.
Set price menus are available in most restaurants for under 20e and food is normally first class.
Beer is expensive but the Pots of local wine available in restaurants are good value!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the coutyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyA104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed two nights in hotel Central Lyon and enjoyed the experience. It was a short stroll from Perrache station after our arrival on the TGV from Paris and a pleasant stroll along pedestrian streets to the centre of Lyon. The decor is modern and the location is quiet despite being so close to main roads and railway lines. The layout of the two-bedroom suite was practical, with plenty of space and facilities were clean. The only drawback is the lack of space in the ground floor dining area during peak breakfast times - it can be quite crowded with the need to share tables.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Modern, small and clean hotel tucked away behind the train station! Selected after looking at other reviews and the pictures of the hotel, it did not disappoint us. The rooms were very well kept, clean and very nicely arranged, albeit a little hot (unfortunately, opening the window did not always work to cool down the room).

 All the staff were very attentive and friendly and did everything in their hands to accommodate us (like helping us find a tailor). The  breakfast area, by the lobby, was also a good representation of the hotel.  Do not expect anything fancy for breakfast but the assorted selection of cheese and meats, accompanied by yogurt, bread, fruit and coffee will definitely get you through with your excursions in Lyon.

It is a shame that this hotel is just behind the train station and a major road.  Although we were not disturbed by either one, coming back to the hotel at night (either by a tunnel under the train station or an underpass), while it did not feel unsafe, it did feel a little unsettling. More than that, it is a great hotel and definitely a jewel for its price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasoiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was an overnight stay and the hotel had everying you could wish for on an overnight stay. We would have like to be a bit closer to the old town and thought we were. However, it was an interesting 20 minute walk to get there. The staff are very helpfulwe would definitely choose the hotel if we went back to Lyon.

Room Tip: Parking can be a problem but ey have a spot outside the front of the hotel for unloading bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianandgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spend 5 nights in May at this hotel. Born in Lyon I knew the area was central. Despite the rom's camp quite close the area is pretty safe. The hotel was clean, modern. The room was cleaned, the towels changed every day. Beakfast a little bit expensive but honest. The staff was nice and friendly. For young with few money I'll recommend it! Except the bed which was a little inconformtable (you could feel the spinges). Very close to the Brasserie Georges, a must do in Lyon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed 1 night in Hotel Central. Small basic room with no air conditioning, clean, good shower and comfortable bed. Easy walk round shopping center and into old town where all bars and restaurants are. Good value hotel but very hot at night in warm weather.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margho_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#157 of 196 in Lyon
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Best Western Hotel Charlemagne
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
#57 of 196 in Lyon
418 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#102 of 196 in Lyon
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 26 cours de Verdun Perrache, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £59 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing