We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“沒有冷氣,但其他都不錯 No air condition, but otherwise good”
Review of Hotel Central

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Central
Ranked #136 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 29 June 2014

旅館位於里昂市中心一個不是特別好的地段。四周有不少大眾交通工具近在咫尺,後方也有一些夜間免費的公用停車位。櫃檯人員都很好。不過,要注意的是旅館並不像網站說的每個房間都有冷氣。我們拿了最後一個電扇,但晚上睡覺還是很熱。

The hotel is located at the centre of Lyon, albeit a not so delightful neighbourhood. It has convenient public transportation within walking distance, and some public parking on the back side that's free at night around. The receptionists are nice, too. However, one thing to be aware of is that the hotel does not have air condition in some rooms, in contrast to how it is advertised. We asked for a fan and took the last one, and it was a hot night to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernestnywang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

As many have said, this hotel is a great value for Lyon. The rooms are clean, if simple, and the staff is extremely helpful. The location is a bit strange. It's in a kind of no man's land near the Perrache train station, but there is all kinds of transportation very nearby. They have a very reasonable, small continental breakfast in the mornings as well.

What you really, really need to consider here is the time of year you're going. Their website states that they have air conditioning, however they do not. We were there during a heat wave, and our room was on the third floor, and it was H-O-T. Many people were complaining at the desk about the heat. I asked a couple of times and was told they had been working on the air conditioning. The next morning, I asked again and was told that it was not actually air conditioning, but "air refreshening" (rafraichisseur d'air) - for those of you who speak French. Essentially, there is a tiny vent in each room that blows a very, very tiny stream of 75 degree air into the room - that does nothing at all. They finally gave us a fan and we slept with the windows wide open for 3 nights. If you don't mind this, then I would wholeheartedly recommend this nice little hotel. The bistro next door is absolutely classic - a must.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shigvic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed for a weekend at the hotel. We drove there and we found a spot just next to the hotel (there is a big parking nearby anyway). We were given a room in the second floor, overlooking the street. There was no noise from outside and we slept very well. The room was small but clean. As we were there only to sleep, it was great value for money. The reception staff were very polite and ready to help. Breakfast is offered but we did not take it, preferring to go outside to one of the plenty of cafés around town to eat.
It is conveniently located to walk to the city and the old part of town and it is next door to a train station and the metro and bus.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked through booking.com (therefore?) and got the smallest room overlooking the motorway. One foot around the bed. The "bedroom" itself minus hallway and bathroom could not have been more than 6.5, 7 meters squared. Stubbed toes and banged heads all around. I will also mention that the room was so hot, we slept with the window open; overlooking the motorway. Literally. Strangely, the traffic noise didn't bother us too much. Probably because we couldn't sleep anyway. Why "poor" and not "terrible"? It's right next door to the Brasserie Georges, a culinary masterpiece that we wouldn't have seen had we not booked there.
I understand that room 305 is the smallest in the hotel and I'm sure that, if you get a room overlooking the back and bigger it might be alright. It was conveniently located.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank earwiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel had a lot of positive points and a small amount of negative ones.
Starting with the bad, the elevator was a little bit untrustworthy, making me feel a little unsafe. The room was a little bit small, however you expect that for the small amount you pay, and isn't anything worse than what you get in other 3 star hotels. The final negative point was that the shower had little ventilation, is soon due for a restoration and water easily collected on the floor.

Now to the good points.
Breakfast was good, similar to all other budget breakfasts (cold meats, selection of breads, chocolate and plain croissants, cereals, coffees, juice, brownies) Next door to famous and beautiful tasting restaurant Brasserie Georges (recommend eating there). Price is great, right next to train station and wifi works. The best thing about Hotel Central was the service. The staff were all very friendly and helpful even printing out some train tickets for us at no cost. They spoke English very well and always greeted with smiles. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Central Hotel for 2 nights. It is within walking distance to Bellcour, old city, shopping areas and all the main attractions. It is also ideally situated if you are traveling by train or if you are going to use the metro/tram. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was modern and quite but NOT spotlessly clean. The bed wasn't the most comfortable one. I would recommend it only if you are traveling on a tight budget.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Constantina-Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were pleased with our room, which although small was modern and clean with a powerful shower. The staff are helpful and friendly with a good command of English. If you are arriving at Perrache Station as we did, it would be a good idea to ring ahead to the hotel to get directions for exiting the station. We took the wrong 'Verdun' exit and ended up on the dodgy side of the station, near the tented encampment.

Once the friendly staff gave us good directions to get through the tunnel to the nearest square, we found getting round the City easy. We were blessed with lovely weather and enjoyed many a leisurely meal or drink in the open air, as the People of Lyon do. On our one rainy day, we visited the museum of miniatures and cinema in The Old Town, which was fascinating.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the noisy courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gailew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel Berlioz
#130 of 194 in Lyon
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 194 in Lyon
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 26 cours de Verdun Perrache, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £55 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing