We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The great water rip off” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Layon

Le Layon
Reserve with
Le Layon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #374 of 3,203 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: US$22 - US$38
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Cordeliers - Jacobins
Description: Le Layon, found on the rue Merci��re in Lyon, is a unique bistro-style restaurant famous for its authentic Lyonnaise cuisine as well as its stellar jazz soundtrack which includes the likes of Ella Fitzgerald and Diana Krall. The owners of Le Layon are passionate about good food, wine and music, and all three have been woven together at Le Layon to create chic setting for relaxed and romantic meals. Classic dishes at Le Layon include the Bouillabaise cooked with rouille, croutons and grated cheese; fresh salad with French beans, foie gras and duck breast; and the steak tartare with raw egg, capers, onions and parsley. Le Layon has a fantastic boutique wine list which changes monthly.
Scotland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The great water rip off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

First night in Lyon and first dinner out and it happened to be in this restaurant.

The food was average, service average and atmosphere average.

If you eat here and you want water with you wine you will be charged 6.50 Euros a bottle...as the unsuspecting visitors 2 bottles of water left us with a bill of 13 Euros. (When I queried this the rather dismissive waitress said that ...'it is price on this stree')Further they do not sell wine by the glass...as virtually all Lyon restaurants do.....cheapest bottle 30 Euros.
( Incidentally If you want water in a restaurant in Lyon simply ask for une carafe d'eau....d'eau is pronounced 'doe'....and it is free and top class).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smokiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    153
    64
    40
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good menu, service, and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Reqlly enjoyed the dinner here. Staff were great, but not overly formal. Good choice of menu with duck, pigeon, fish, beef. The gourmand menu at 28 euros was fabulous with 4 courses. Starter, main, cheese and desert. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah562747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
“Excellent Food, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant so much, we ate there repeatedly. Given how many places there are to eat in Lyon, it says a lot that we opted to return to a place we had already tried. We had the asparagus with truffle oil all three times. The mussels were exceptional. The duck is the best I have ever had at a restaurant. The staff was efficient, pleasant and helpful. The head waiter who has an excellent command of the English language, made wine recommendations that were spot on. We were always greeted with smiles and found no fault with the space or the food. We have no hesitation recommending this place and would even encourage people to go. They won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible service on busy night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were so happy to find a table on a Saturday night. Then we waited and waited, and waited some more. After. 20 minutes, I finally caught a waiter's attention and asked for and received a menu. After another 15 minutes, again I caught a waiter's attention and we ordered. After another 10 minutes, i again flagged down the waiter to ask for bread. 30 minutes later, my husband received his marrow bones, which were excellent. After he finished, we waited another 40 minutes to receive our main courses. His mussels were good, but my frog legs which cost €26.50 for the plate, were tough and overcooked. When no one cleared our plates, after waiting again, we had to flag someone down to get our check. We have traveled annually to France for more than ten years and have never had such terrible service..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bertvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
308 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Authentic French Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We picked this place over the others around it because of its menu and cleanness. The young servers were friendly and patient - we even heard them translating the menu to English for people who were confused with the language. This place also had entrees on the menu that we haven't seen elsewhere, such as stuffed pigeon and frog legs. The food was properly cooked and delicious. We ended our mean with the chocolate mousse, which was so smooth and tasty. We wished that we had come back here again the next day instead of going to another place and been disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Waverunner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Layon also viewed

 

Been to Le Layon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing