We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel near everything”
Review of Hotel De Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Paris
Ranked #149 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 10 January 2012

During my twenty-five day driving trip to France and Switzerland, this was probably the best deal considering price/comfort/location. The hotel is located in the historic downtown, in a pleasant street. There's a supermarket right in front, which is great for a vegans and vegetarians. Lyon is probably the city with the fewest options for vegetarians, having the supermarket so close was awesome. The lovely 19th century building and the funky decoration were also a plus. Very nice staff too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

It's our pleasure to make you comfortable. We are very happy to hear that you've rated us #1 in your trip !
You seem to like travelling... please come again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Clean hotel in a great neighborhood in the center of Lyon. The quality/price thing is right on. The deco is fun.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank more2gofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Thank you for your comment. Our hotel suits businessmen as well as travellers ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We are just back from a three day stay at Hotel de Paris, Lyon. We were on the first floor in room no 10 at the back of the hotel. The room was large and the bathroom was also a good size. The room looked to be updated recently. The room was quite dark as it looked out to a courtyard. But it had lots of lamps and very modern lighting throughout the room. There was a radiator, a fan and another portable little heater in the. So no problems there. I found the room extremely comfortable with nice heavy curtains matching the bedspread. We didn't have any problems with towels. The were large and fluffy and changed every day and bed made up. Didn't see the cleaner but all the reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was in an excellent location. You just had to cross the river to the old part of town which was extremely busy with many restaurants that were full every night and last night, Saturday night, people were queing outside many restaurants. It is easy to reach from the Airport. Take the RhoneExpress Train(Bus) to Part Dieu station and take bus/tram No C3 to Square Terreaux.

I would certainly recommend it. It is a two star hotel and very reasonable at €80 per night without breakfast for a great area. I don't know if all the rooms were like ours but we certainly could not find fault with this hotel. We didn't hear any noise at all. If we ever go back to Lyon, we will certainly stay there again. This was not our first choice. We had booked to go to Hotel St Paul in the old town (across the river) but at the last minute that hotel emailed us to say that the room was no longer available and they booked us into the Hotel de Paris so we didn't know what to expect but we were very happy, overall, with our stay. AFarrell

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Thank you for your comment It will help travellers for sure as it is very detailed.
We're looking forward to seeing you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I liked this hotel for the following reasons: price, clean, location, rooms. However, it's hard to sleep with the loud music that seems to play all night. I think there's a club nearby. It actually sounds like it's under the place. Last night the Music was blaring from 10:00 pm until 5:00 am. One thing required of any hotel, from the opulent to the worst dive, is an environment that is conducive to sleep. For that reason, I'd never come back. Too bad, it's a nice place and I don't think there's anything they can do about the all night noise. You've been warned.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtf1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Glad you liked our place !
Regarding the all night music that you've experienced during your stay, you'll be happy to hear that the people who used to play at night must have moved somewhere else as we haven't had any complaints about that for a long time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

The hotel room was a good size. The place was relatively clean. There was free wi-fi. The staff were pretty helpful. Location was pretty good. That's where the good stuff ends, sorry to say. There was only one large towel for 2 people despite requesting more. There was no ac if you stay below the 4th floor. The windows have see through curtains and you can see your neighbors clear across the way if you are by the courtyard. During the day into night there is a band of some sort practicing loudly. The maid came in twice without knocking to clean the room. And the one day we chose to sleep in we were awaken to the sound of constant banging (cleaning we believed) for four hours. Overall, not the best experience despite the low price (80 euros a night).

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank kreyes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't a great experience.
We're doing our best to improve our service and we do hope we're doing so every day a bit more...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

This funky hotel eluded us as we had lost our map when we left the train station and sadly were in the metro. Our thanks to the central Lyon visitors centre to put us back on track! You're all fantastic for putting up with our odd request - ok, stupid, as we only had vague reminders of the hotel name we booked (this was hotel #16 on our trip), we were out of your hair in less than 2 minutes. Lucky ,15-20 minute walk away. Having not seen any photos or knowing much of the hotel, the mod 70’s retro double room was a welcome surprise (hello Brady Bunch) and what fun checking the out the decor.

Staff were great and welcoming, internet was free but at times slow. All rooms have some sort of theme. Our room was without a view, but let's be honest, finding our hotel was like finding Nirvana. And you should never spend all your time in a room, Lyon has you covered. Sadly ran into a holiday and many shops closed but the restaurants in Lyon will have you crawling back for more. I'm already smiling when I think of the various food I enjoyed. I'm so addicted. Cheers!

Travellers from Canada

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Thank you for your nice comment. We've improved our website and many photos of the rooms are available now, as we have so many different rooms to show ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 曉明 喬
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#167 of 195 in Lyon
64 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Best Western Saint Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Le Boulevardier
Le Boulevardier
#96 of 195 in Lyon
135 reviews
Hotel Saint Vincent
#101 of 195 in Lyon
99 reviews
Saint Paul
#157 of 195 in Lyon
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Paris

Address: 16 rue de la Platiere, 69001, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £59 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the historical and gastronomic city of Lyon (Opera-Hotel de Ville neighborhood) just a few blocks away from the Vieux Lyon (Old Lyon).Hotel de Paris has all the necessary modern comfort as well as the charm of a beautiful XIXth century building.Our staff, available 24/7, hopes to have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel De Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing