We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location, spacious, great value”
Review of Hotel De Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel De Paris
Ranked #150 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Booked a "Cosy" room for a few nights for a city-break in Lyon. For me, the place is all about value-for-money. It's a prime spot, right in the middle of Presque-Ile, about two blocks from Hotel de Ville, and right next to the Saone river and the Quai de Bond that crosses over to the edge of the old town. Tons of restaurants and bars immediately surrounding the hotel, and your walking distance from many more bars and restos just north of the hotel around Rue Martiniere.

The decor in the hotel, as implied on their website, is funky. The hallways are blacked out, with lots of aluminum panels. Almost looks more like a club. Our room, however, was really large by French standards, very clean, and had two big windows overlooking the street.

Don't expect much in terms of amenities--tiny TV, only the French channels, and basic toiletries. I forgot some toothpaste and a few things, but there is a grocery store literally in front of the hotel (Franprix chain), where you can pick up anything you need.

Reception is open all night, and when I had questions for the staff, they were helpful. No problems at all.

Fresh copies of L'Equipe downstairs each morning, which was an added bonus.

If you're in Lyon to see the town, hit up some restaurants, and don't plan to lounge around in your room very much, this is a great option. I'll be back.

Room Tip: I haven't seen the other rooms, but the street facing rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selecta713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlahdp, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Selecta,
We are very happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city.
We would also like to thank you for this detailed comment which will be helpful to future guests, for sure.
It is with great pleasure that we will welcome you again (don't hesitate next time to ask how to get other than french channels : we do have a few foreign ones)

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

I am travelling through Switzerland & France, and this is the worse place I have stayed. The room is not only small, there is no natural light, the decor is dingy & shabby, they do not change your towels or give you fresh soap. I have never experienced such a place. The hallway is decorated like a warehouse. The hotel is directly around the corner from a sex shop & adult movie!!!! Save your money & find a nicer hotel. Only staying 1 nite, so not worth the hassle of finding a better place. The good thing is they have free internet, which allowed me to write this review!!!
Also, Lyon is not worth visiting in my opinion. Very dirty & not much to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froggysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlahdp, Responsable relations clients at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Froggysgirl,
We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory.
However, we are very surprised not to have found any messages about any stay during the week-end of May 4th and 5th. Anyway, regarding the lack of natural light in your room (probably a room on the backside), you surely could have requested to be moved in another same category room with a street view or to be upgraded in a bigger room (more expensive of course) if you wanted to have more space. Regarding the decoration of the room and the hotel, we have chosen to be different and each room has its own style. Once again, we are sorry if your taste did not meet ours.
Regarding housekeeping, for a 1 night stay, we do not change the towels during the night. If you had request of any kind, you could have asked the receptionist (24hours) and we would have been pleased to assist you.
Fo our future guests, we would like to inform them that our direct neighbour on the right is a famous caterer and on the left and corner of the street, a DIY store. Right in front is a drawing and painting shop. You can also find in our street a convenience store, a trendy bar and a bakery (see urbandive.com).
And finally, regarding the lack of interest you found in Lyon, we are very surprised to hear that as our lovely city is part of the UNESCO world heritage and many of our guests like to stroll our streets and enjoy our famous gastronomie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

During my twenty-five day driving trip to France and Switzerland, this was probably the best deal considering price/comfort/location. The hotel is located in the historic downtown, in a pleasant street. There's a supermarket right in front, which is great for a vegans and vegetarians. Lyon is probably the city with the fewest options for vegetarians, having the supermarket so close was awesome. The lovely 19th century building and the funky decoration were also a plus. Very nice staff too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

It's our pleasure to make you comfortable. We are very happy to hear that you've rated us #1 in your trip !
You seem to like travelling... please come again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Clean hotel in a great neighborhood in the center of Lyon. The quality/price thing is right on. The deco is fun.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank more2gofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Thank you for your comment. Our hotel suits businessmen as well as travellers ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We are just back from a three day stay at Hotel de Paris, Lyon. We were on the first floor in room no 10 at the back of the hotel. The room was large and the bathroom was also a good size. The room looked to be updated recently. The room was quite dark as it looked out to a courtyard. But it had lots of lamps and very modern lighting throughout the room. There was a radiator, a fan and another portable little heater in the. So no problems there. I found the room extremely comfortable with nice heavy curtains matching the bedspread. We didn't have any problems with towels. The were large and fluffy and changed every day and bed made up. Didn't see the cleaner but all the reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was in an excellent location. You just had to cross the river to the old part of town which was extremely busy with many restaurants that were full every night and last night, Saturday night, people were queing outside many restaurants. It is easy to reach from the Airport. Take the RhoneExpress Train(Bus) to Part Dieu station and take bus/tram No C3 to Square Terreaux.

I would certainly recommend it. It is a two star hotel and very reasonable at €80 per night without breakfast for a great area. I don't know if all the rooms were like ours but we certainly could not find fault with this hotel. We didn't hear any noise at all. If we ever go back to Lyon, we will certainly stay there again. This was not our first choice. We had booked to go to Hotel St Paul in the old town (across the river) but at the last minute that hotel emailed us to say that the room was no longer available and they booked us into the Hotel de Paris so we didn't know what to expect but we were very happy, overall, with our stay. AFarrell

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Thank you for your comment It will help travellers for sure as it is very detailed.
We're looking forward to seeing you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I liked this hotel for the following reasons: price, clean, location, rooms. However, it's hard to sleep with the loud music that seems to play all night. I think there's a club nearby. It actually sounds like it's under the place. Last night the Music was blaring from 10:00 pm until 5:00 am. One thing required of any hotel, from the opulent to the worst dive, is an environment that is conducive to sleep. For that reason, I'd never come back. Too bad, it's a nice place and I don't think there's anything they can do about the all night noise. You've been warned.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtf1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Glad you liked our place !
Regarding the all night music that you've experienced during your stay, you'll be happy to hear that the people who used to play at night must have moved somewhere else as we haven't had any complaints about that for a long time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

The hotel room was a good size. The place was relatively clean. There was free wi-fi. The staff were pretty helpful. Location was pretty good. That's where the good stuff ends, sorry to say. There was only one large towel for 2 people despite requesting more. There was no ac if you stay below the 4th floor. The windows have see through curtains and you can see your neighbors clear across the way if you are by the courtyard. During the day into night there is a band of some sort practicing loudly. The maid came in twice without knocking to clean the room. And the one day we chose to sleep in we were awaken to the sound of constant banging (cleaning we believed) for four hours. Overall, not the best experience despite the low price (80 euros a night).

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank kreyes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't a great experience.
We're doing our best to improve our service and we do hope we're doing so every day a bit more...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Le Boulevardier
Le Boulevardier
#93 of 194 in Lyon
134 reviews
Hotel Saint Vincent
#102 of 194 in Lyon
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Best Western Saint Antoine
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#167 of 194 in Lyon
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Paris

Address: 16 rue de la Platiere, 69001, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £58 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the historical and gastronomic city of Lyon (Opera-Hotel de Ville neighborhood) just a few blocks away from the Vieux Lyon (Old Lyon).Hotel de Paris has all the necessary modern comfort as well as the charm of a beautiful XIXth century building.Our staff, available 24/7, hopes to have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel De Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing