We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and spacious”
Review of Hotel De Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Paris
Ranked #176 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Comfortable and spacious”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The room had a very sixties feeling to it, lots of space, big bathroom, bed ok. The bathroom had a bathtub with a hand shower but no door or shower curtain, meaning that it is possible to flood the place if not careful. Continental breakfast with good croissants and baguette. Good location in a calm street but very close to the old city and a block away from the townhall. One of the ladies at the reception desk brings her beautiful cat Leo to work and he just lightens up the place. Down side: we arrived on a Sunday and the room had just been painted so the smell was strong, but of course that means the hotel is kept in good shape. The problem was that during the painting I guess the bathroom door had some problem and it wouldn't close. We called the reception desk and someone came to check but not fix it, as the hotel was full they didn't propose another room and they said they couldn't do anything about it because the person responsible was not available on Sundays. But we stayed for almost a week and the door wasn't fixed. We discovered that it is very important to leave the key at the reception desk because this is how they know the room is empty and can come and clean it. After the first night we left without leaving the key and we came back in the evening to find the room just as we had left it. When we called the reception desk the person asked us first of we had left the room long enough and then that as we were staying for more than one night the room would not be fixed every day, very odd explanation we thought but then we
discovered we had to leave the key. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlahdp, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear JimBta,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We indeed have a few habits that should probably be reviewed, such as the key story... We understand that it can be a problem so no matter what ,we now go and check if you need anything between 12 and 2pm if you are still resting in your room.
Thank you again for your undertanding and your positive attitude !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    32
    36
    16
    18
See reviews for
9
32
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Booked a "Cosy" room for a few nights for a city-break in Lyon. For me, the place is all about value-for-money. It's a prime spot, right in the middle of Presque-Ile, about two blocks from Hotel de Ville, and right next to the Saone river and the Quai de Bond that crosses over to the edge of the old town. Tons of restaurants and bars immediately surrounding the hotel, and your walking distance from many more bars and restos just north of the hotel around Rue Martiniere.

The decor in the hotel, as implied on their website, is funky. The hallways are blacked out, with lots of aluminum panels. Almost looks more like a club. Our room, however, was really large by French standards, very clean, and had two big windows overlooking the street.

Don't expect much in terms of amenities--tiny TV, only the French channels, and basic toiletries. I forgot some toothpaste and a few things, but there is a grocery store literally in front of the hotel (Franprix chain), where you can pick up anything you need.

Reception is open all night, and when I had questions for the staff, they were helpful. No problems at all.

Fresh copies of L'Equipe downstairs each morning, which was an added bonus.

If you're in Lyon to see the town, hit up some restaurants, and don't plan to lounge around in your room very much, this is a great option. I'll be back.

Room Tip: I haven't seen the other rooms, but the street facing rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selecta713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlahdp, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Selecta,
We are very happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city.
We would also like to thank you for this detailed comment which will be helpful to future guests, for sure.
It is with great pleasure that we will welcome you again (don't hesitate next time to ask how to get other than french channels : we do have a few foreign ones)

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I am travelling through Switzerland & France, and this is the worse place I have stayed. The room is not only small, there is no natural light, the decor is dingy & shabby, they do not change your towels or give you fresh soap. I have never experienced such a place. The hallway is decorated like a warehouse. The hotel is directly around the corner from a sex shop & adult movie!!!! Save your money & find a nicer hotel. Only staying 1 nite, so not worth the hassle of finding a better place. The good thing is they have free internet, which allowed me to write this review!!!
Also, Lyon is not worth visiting in my opinion. Very dirty & not much to offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froggysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlahdp, Responsable relations clients at Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Froggysgirl,
We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory.
However, we are very surprised not to have found any messages about any stay during the week-end of May 4th and 5th. Anyway, regarding the lack of natural light in your room (probably a room on the backside), you surely could have requested to be moved in another same category room with a street view or to be upgraded in a bigger room (more expensive of course) if you wanted to have more space. Regarding the decoration of the room and the hotel, we have chosen to be different and each room has its own style. Once again, we are sorry if your taste did not meet ours.
Regarding housekeeping, for a 1 night stay, we do not change the towels during the night. If you had request of any kind, you could have asked the receptionist (24hours) and we would have been pleased to assist you.
Fo our future guests, we would like to inform them that our direct neighbour on the right is a famous caterer and on the left and corner of the street, a DIY store. Right in front is a drawing and painting shop. You can also find in our street a convenience store, a trendy bar and a bakery (see urbandive.com).
And finally, regarding the lack of interest you found in Lyon, we are very surprised to hear that as our lovely city is part of the UNESCO world heritage and many of our guests like to stroll our streets and enjoy our famous gastronomie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyon hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

During my twenty-five day driving trip to France and Switzerland, this was probably the best deal considering price/comfort/location. The hotel is located in the historic downtown, in a pleasant street. There's a supermarket right in front, which is great for a vegans and vegetarians. Lyon is probably the city with the fewest options for vegetarians, having the supermarket so close was awesome. The lovely 19th century building and the funky decoration were also a plus. Very nice staff too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
It's our pleasure to make you comfortable. We are very happy to hear that you've rated us #1 in your trip !
You seem to like travelling... please come again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Clean hotel in a great neighborhood in the center of Lyon. The quality/price thing is right on. The deco is fun.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank more2gofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for your comment. Our hotel suits businessmen as well as travellers ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We are just back from a three day stay at Hotel de Paris, Lyon. We were on the first floor in room no 10 at the back of the hotel. The room was large and the bathroom was also a good size. The room looked to be updated recently. The room was quite dark as it looked out to a courtyard. But it had lots of lamps and very modern lighting throughout the room. There was a radiator, a fan and another portable little heater in the. So no problems there. I found the room extremely comfortable with nice heavy curtains matching the bedspread. We didn't have any problems with towels. The were large and fluffy and changed every day and bed made up. Didn't see the cleaner but all the reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was in an excellent location. You just had to cross the river to the old part of town which was extremely busy with many restaurants that were full every night and last night, Saturday night, people were queing outside many restaurants. It is easy to reach from the Airport. Take the RhoneExpress Train(Bus) to Part Dieu station and take bus/tram No C3 to Square Terreaux.

I would certainly recommend it. It is a two star hotel and very reasonable at €80 per night without breakfast for a great area. I don't know if all the rooms were like ours but we certainly could not find fault with this hotel. We didn't hear any noise at all. If we ever go back to Lyon, we will certainly stay there again. This was not our first choice. We had booked to go to Hotel St Paul in the old town (across the river) but at the last minute that hotel emailed us to say that the room was no longer available and they booked us into the Hotel de Paris so we didn't know what to expect but we were very happy, overall, with our stay. AFarrell

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for your comment It will help travellers for sure as it is very detailed.
We're looking forward to seeing you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I liked this hotel for the following reasons: price, clean, location, rooms. However, it's hard to sleep with the loud music that seems to play all night. I think there's a club nearby. It actually sounds like it's under the place. Last night the Music was blaring from 10:00 pm until 5:00 am. One thing required of any hotel, from the opulent to the worst dive, is an environment that is conducive to sleep. For that reason, I'd never come back. Too bad, it's a nice place and I don't think there's anything they can do about the all night noise. You've been warned.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtf1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Glad you liked our place !
Regarding the all night music that you've experienced during your stay, you'll be happy to hear that the people who used to play at night must have moved somewhere else as we haven't had any complaints about that for a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#172 of 194 in Lyon
60 reviews
Griffon - Royale
Hotel Le Patio des Terreaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint Paul
#153 of 194 in Lyon
188 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Paris

Property: Hotel De Paris
Address: 16 rue de la Platiere, 69001, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the historical and gastronomic city of Lyon (Opera-Hotel de Ville neighborhood) just a few blocks away from the Vieux Lyon (Old Lyon).Hotel de Paris has all the necessary modern comfort as well as the charm of a beautiful XIXth century building.Our staff, available 24/7, hopes to have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing