We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more, have eaten better at cheaper establishments!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au 14 Fevrier Vieux Lyon

Au 14 Fevrier Vieux Lyon
Reserve with
Au 14 Fevrier Vieux Lyon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 3,203 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Namibia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Expected more, have eaten better at cheaper establishments!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

First let me tell you that I have spent five days in Lyon as it is dubbed the gastronomical capital of France. My foot! We have saved this restaurant for the last as it was supposed to be the best and boy, were we disappointed. You can eat better and more flavoursome food anywhere in Barcelona, not to mention Madrid or San Sebastian, which I truly believe is the foodie capital of the world! For the money you pay, 82 Euros I would expect consistency and amazing taste, but out od 8 dishes, perhaps two were top notch, definitely desserts and the others I cannot even recall and I was there two nights ago! The service was impeccable, the interior nice, the wine suggested fantastic, pity the food lacked character or was too chewy. i honestly cannot understand how did this restaurant become number one in Lyon??? Obviously people are snoba, if they pay a lot, they assume it is the best. I would happily pay more and have done so in many different establishmenst, but this time the price did not equal quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LouLouCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    62
    18
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A special night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

In brief, we highly recommend this restaurant. It might not quite be perfect, but it offers an unbeatable combination of ambience, service, gorgeous presentation and genuine fine dining at an affordable price. For details read on ...

Book early so you don't miss out. Au 14 Fevriere is deservedly one of Lyon's most popular fine dining restaurants, and as it holds only 14 diners you need to book early. We did so by email from Australia some months in advance, giving the restaurant a 6-day 'window'. They were helpful in finding a suitable time and told us about the restaurant and to expect an 8-course degustation for 82 euro pp. This is not a la carte dining, as the chef (Tsuyoshi Arai) prepares a gastronomic symphony for you to enjoy - no choices unless you have any food issues which they apparently cater for.

We were booked for 8.00 pm, and so it seemed were the other diners, who all arrived at about the same time. We arrived a few minutes early and were locked out in the rain and cold with another couple. This was odd, but once inside we found both the restaurant and the staff warm and friendly. In fact, the restaurant is one of the cosiest we have been in, with warm-toned plush décor, dividers discreetly separating tables, and a partially mirrored ceiling creating a sense of opulent space (and catering for the voyeurs amongst us). Easy listening music played softly in the background. Tables were beautifully set with fine china and novel cutlery, and re-set for each course with suitable utensils - very classy.

As all diners arrived at much the same time it was a bit of an exercise to get us all comfortably settled with water on the table, menu and drink options explained, and an aperitif on the way. Service was a bit clunky at this stage, but for the rest of the night (almost 4 hours) it was impeccable. Wait-staff made a serious attempt to explain each dish in English, which we appreciated.

To match the food there were three alternative wine degustations (3, 4 or 6 glasses each 100 ml), or you could order by the bottle from a limited cellar. We took the smaller of the wine degustations (23 euro pp) as we planned to walk back to our hotel unassisted! We also enjoyed a champagne aperitif (12 euro/glass). It's a bit hard to happily marry 3 wines to 8 courses, so the food/wine matches did not always work well.

The meal started with a signature amuse bouche of sliced/toasted brioche with embedded saucicon - delicious. In a seeming nod to Japan, we then had a second amuse bouche of salmon and salad greens in a fried rice wafer with shrimp mousse. Then 8 courses followed, followed by a superb complementary petit four presented in a special double-deck Japanese box full of sweet surprises. The Japanese element of the French-Japanese fusion was most evident in the fastidious presentation of every dish, making the overall experience a feast for the eyes, as it should be in fine dining. The Japanese influence also meant the food overall was light, but seafood featured less prominently than we had anticipated.

The 8 dishes, often successfully innovative, comprised (i) an egg froth with mustard sauce served in an egg shell with potato waffles, (ii) avocado, crab gel and trimmings, (iii) white asparagus with legumes and chorizo (the asparagus spear came in 4 sections, the base being disappointingly fibrous), (iv) superb fois gras with beetroot, pistachio and raspberry coulis, (v) a delightfully light cuttlefish with butter sauce, (vi) veal with vegetables and buckwheat, (vii) a heavenly mousse of Guiness, mandarin and passionfruit served in a champagne flute and, for those still craving something sweet, (viii) a stack of mousse, raspberry and white chocolatea with pear meringue, green sorbet and a pistachio sponge. Then the amazing petit four, followed by a selection of teas (at 5 euro pp).

I mentioned when booking that we were celebrating a special time, so it was a nice touch when a celebratory candle was brought to our table with dessert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Petercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little bit of magic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Superb quality of food and some dishes really innovative. Service was professional and we appreciated their efforts to describe everything on English. So 82 euro gets you 8 courses plus cheese, amouse Bouche and petit for. It's not expensive considering the work that goes into each dish. The decor inside is stylish and it has quite a magical feel about it. Would agree with another reviewer in that theres french than japan in the fusion! not that that bothered us. Giving only 4 stars as for us the fish dish lacked any wow factor and the meat dish - the meat was incredibly tough. We enjoyed ourselves though and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaguarpaw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Modern food in the old city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The restaurant only has room for 12-14 guests, so make sure to book ahead (we ended up calling, as the feedback by email was poor).

We arrived with very high expectations, and were surprised to find that most guests arrived at the same time (causing a bit of a wait before the pre-drink could be served, as the staff is only 2 persons).

The meal was of course very good, but nothing really stood out. We had expected an even greater touch of Asia, so we were a bit disappointed in that regard. The wines were adventurous and the staff was friendly. However, in a city that offers such a great choice of restaurants, we will choose a new place next time....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dordi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We recently dined at Au 14 Fevrier and were thoroughly impressed by the skill and creativity of chef Tsuyoshi Arai. If you want to experience a special meal in Lyon, this is the restaurant to visit! The gastronomic experience of a lifetime!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angiolina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au 14 Fevrier Vieux Lyon also viewed

 

Been to Au 14 Fevrier Vieux Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing