We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Market”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Croix-Rousse

Croix-Rousse
Book In Advance
More Info
US$166.54*
and up
Private Storytelling Walking Tour of Croix-Rousse in Lyon
Ranked #22 of 202 things to do in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic neighborhood was the location of Lyon's famous 19th-century silk industry.
manchester
Level Contributor
201 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

worth the walk up the hill. the vibe reminded me a little of chorlton, manchester, only this place has a great fresh food market on a sunday (maybe other days too?)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bagg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    308
    84
    31
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great views, interesting streets to explore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We walked up here to visit the Roman amphitheatre we had spotted on our map. The Roman ruins were a disappointment but we really enjoyed walking around the streets here. It is definitely less touristy that Vieux Lyon but it has as many interesting buildings and some nice bars and restaurants to visit. It is also a lot less crowded. As you climb up you can get some great views of the city and Fourviere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nics218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

With its food market, traboules and little shops, its a very relaxing place to spend time far away from the busy central area of Lyon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Lots of walking involved, great views from the top of the hill. Good photo opportunities . Very steep decent, garden was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank meandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A charming slice of French living.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Firstly buy a 1 day unlimited bus/metro ticket. Five euro and worth every centime. We walked around the quarter and found "Impromptu Cafe" We had such a good experience in the afternoon (coffee 1 Euro!!) that we went back there in the evening. There were at least 50 people sitting around, drinking all kinds of alcohol and the buzz was most charming. I had two Chartreuse green and joined in the buzz. We then moved down a block to Le Jardin Gourmand, a small restaurant run by a husband and wife team. Fabulous French food and service with a bill of 35 euro for 2.
It is treasure finds like these that make up for all the dissapointing tourist rip offs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kuzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Croix-Rousse also viewed

 

Been to Croix-Rousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing