We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tough going unless your French is really good”

Museum of the Resistance
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.42*
and up
Lyon City Card
Ranked #29 of 203 things to do in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum and depository of historical documents regarding the French resistance to Nazi occupation, of which Lyon played a central role.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Tough going unless your French is really good”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The best parts of this are the films (the long one on the trial of Klaus Barbe (sp?) and all the shorter ones throughout the museum detailing the experiences of those in the resistance -- all with English translations or subtitles) but even with a fairly good knowledge of France during WWII there was little context given in English. There is a pamphlet available in English at the Coat Check but it doesn't tie well to the various exhibits. Also, for those of us Americans whose parents risked or lost their lives in WWII, it is disappointing to note that the only mention of those brave Americans that I saw was a mention of how it was Allied bombing that damaged Lyon. Still, the story this museum seeks to tell is an important one that must be respected and remembered.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vinnyandbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    95
    46
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lyon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holocost Museam”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This covers the Holocost from a French point of view--- with parts going beyond the terrible event that Jewish people specifically suffered. It is housed in a building that served as Gestopo headquarters during the war. This is certainly not a fun and feel good subject. But an important part of French history.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank georgeinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
355 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but should consider non-French speaker needs”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Situated in the building that housed the Gestapo in the war, the museum provides a factual view of the times, showing the different resistance groups and other details of the time such as the refugee status and impact on the area. Lyon attracts a number of foreign visitors, and the museum doesn't appear to be set up to attract many of them - little signage outside, exhibits not in chronological order, and mostly with long French text. Some audio is translated, and an English recording was available two hours after we arrived, but the only English guide books were a few copies to borrow. Definitely interesting, but a multi-lingual audio headphone guide or something similar would help the experience, and I'm sure generate more visits - one of the few translated videos of a 16 year old taken prisoner and spending the war in different camps was really moving.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SolihullRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Large space but not enough to fill it”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Not as interesting as I had hoped, considering Lyon was one of the most important areas of resistance in France during World War II. It is well laid out with plenty of information. The problem was I felt it rather clinical, not many primary sources and not a great deal of personal reminiscenses except for snippets of audio visual stuff. I was more impressed by the Resistance Museum in Besancon

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mimmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“worth going”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

As an American who doesn't know a lot of WW2 history concerning France, I now have a better understanding of how the war affected this region. My husband is a fairly fluent French reader which helped me a lot; however, there are plenty of English recordings and an English movie so that even if I didn't have such a guide, it still would have been worth my time. It was easy to get to by bus and then a short walk from the bus line. I wouldn't take children to see the movie, but the museum would have been okay for the younger than high school child. To be clear, the movie has verbal descriptions of torture, that included violence against women and use of animals.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank achin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Museum of the Resistance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing