We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional collection.”

Musee des Tissus et des Arts Decoratif
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.45*
and up
Lyon City Card
Ranked #30 of 216 things to do in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A historic collection of textiles and decorative arts.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
348 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Exceptional collection.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The museum has two collections as the name suggests -- textiles and decorative arts -- which complement each other with East and West as their two benchmarks.

And what a collection -- enough to inspire even the least creative amongst us, such as myself!

The textiles include Coptic tapestries and vestments, Persian textiles, Byzantine and Islamic fabrics, Oriental carpets, etc etc.

The Decorative Arts Museum displays ancient textiles as a decoration of an eighteenth century private residence. The silk exhibits were woven by well known craftsmen who are the pride of the Lyon region.

During my visit in May a temporary exhibition entitled "Legendary costumes, 20 years of Lyon Opera creation" was on and that was the icing on the cake for me. Accompanied by video clips of famous arias to match the costumes, I walked (on cloud 9 !) through several rooms of exceptional stage costumes of opera's most famous characters . The exhibition is on until September 21st 2014.

www.musee-des-tissus.com

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Roshni2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    163
    68
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tissus et Arts Decoratif”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Must see museums for anyone with an interest in history and beautiful antiques. The gift shop had way too many gorgeous cards and postcards, and I had to have them all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MA9065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you are looking for a museum that is a bit different but very interesting then this is a place you should consider. Located in a lovely old building, the history and textiles are quite unexpected.

Lovely gift shop, a good way to spend an hour or so.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank susana323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I never thought I would appreciate textiles until I went to this museum. It was worth the price and time. Do not leave Lyon without going to this museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyV409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7Oaks
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Having been to Lyon many times, we didnt think this museum would be worth a visit. How wrong we were.
In the end we spent about two hours wandering around the pair of museums.
The museums are quite old fashioned in their layout and their signage could do with some improvement.
The Tissus museum is fairly specialised and possibly not exciting to many, although the hall with the operatic costumes was amazing.
The Arts Decoratif was more popular. But quite a mixture of different periods and objects with no pattern of that I discerned. There is even an rather incongrous room full of mostly 20thC tea and coffee sets.
I would say at 10€ each it is pricey for what it is.But it was enjoyable non the less.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm5823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee des Tissus et des Arts Decoratif also viewed

 

Been to Musee des Tissus et des Arts Decoratif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing