We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, wonderful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cour des Loges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cour des Loges
Ranked #10 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, wonderful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our stay was great! We loved the hotel, the breakfast was excellent and the service was fantastic! Francoise, the concierge, was so helpful and sent us to wonderful, local restaurants. He was a wealth of information regarding sights to see! I highly recommend this hotel. I just wish that the rooms had more natural light.

Room Tip: Rooms are dark. Be sure to ask for a room with lots of light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsahney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
François and the whole team of Cour des Loges are delighted that you had a great stay in our hotel and hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    289
    115
    56
    21
See reviews for
131
773
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

What an interesting hotel. The rooms were uniquely decorated and very comfortable. The service was great and we were well looked after. The welcome treats and breakfast were spectacular.
The concierge was very helpful in recommending activities and helping us find a laundromat around the corner from the hotel.
We can highly recommend the Sunday artists market and fresh food markets along the river.
One thing is that if you have a car, expect to pay to park it. The hotel is located on a cobblestone back lane full of pedestrians and the streets have timed and ticketed parking. We parked by the river in the public car park and paid about 45 euro for two days. The hotel charges 35 euro per day.
Some delightful shops, restaurants across the road and in the lanes. The cathedrals are spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noula15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We are glad you enjoyed staying at Cour des Loges, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had been recommended to stay at Cour des Loges by a taxi driver on a previous visit to Lyon. He said that it represented the finest in old Lyonnaise architecture. It does. It is situated in the centre of the old town and comprises 4 old merchant houses that were built around an original courtyard (now the restaurant).

The rooms, perhaps as you would expect, are all on different levels so multiple staircases to negotiate. Perhaps you would expect less the additional stairs within the room, up to the narrow bed platform, down then up to the bathroom/toilet, etc.

It is the classic horror of a room designer who never intends to sleep in the room, else why would they also use curtains in black, and with so few lights that it is almost impossible to find your clothes in the wardrobe after dusk? Access to the safe requires you to crawl on hands and knees in front of the bed, in the narrow channel between bed and TV unit - hardly ideal.

Room service is a joke. An afternoon snack when we arrived (restaurant closed after lunch) consisted of a plate of hams, cheeses and breads on a slate. No plates, no napkins. Placed onto the desk, the only flat surface, the food rolled off the side, and rendered the desk unusable until after evening turn-down. Requesting an afternoon cocktail from the bar was also impossible as the bar had closed, even though we discovered that it was the cocktail barman who delivered our room service snack.

The food in the restaurant that night was pleasant enough, as were the staff, and a lunchtime snack sat outside at the hotel's Cafe Epicerie was even better. Nothing beats people watching looking down the old lanes.

If you travel with a car, then take note of the instructions as this hotel is situated in a pedestrian only area, and negotiating extremely narrow lanes requires caution. Access is by code number, changed weekly.

Our greatest gripe about the hotel, other than the service, was that it was not as clean as it should have been. We complained when checking out, and the duty manageress was shocked, and did not believe us until I pointed out the keyboard on the reception computer in front of her which had a layer of dust so thick that running a finger along the top of the keyboard left a clear muddy streak.

This is still probably the best hotel in Lyon, especially if you want to be based in the Old Town, but the hotel chain should up its game. 5 star dust does not necessarily make for a 5 star guest experience

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues, then check very carefully what the access is to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMH_and_GFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Don't doubt it, Cour des Loges is undeniably a 5 star hotel!

We are truly sorry that you didn't have that feeling during your stay. Our service was not as high as you expected and we are to blame.

Nevertheless, regarding the room service, we propose slate platters and verrines because we don't want to offer a classic service on serving cart and white tablecloth which would not reflect the hotel.

Manifestly, your room didn't suit you which is unfortunate because each room has its own character so unless the hotes is full, we can always suggest you another room.

Finally, regarding the cleanliness, as you can imagine our rooms are cleaned every day. As you mentioned, Cour des Loges was built within old walls so the salpeter is inevitable. What you took as dust and dirt is just a deposit that can come back only few minutes after the room was cleaned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Very nice even but very expensive. My life and I like special places with well chosen furniture and soul and we were not dispointed for that but for the services and room size, we found this hotel a little bit overrated. Yet, we enjoyed our stay. We had a nice room in the red tone. The breakfast was good too. Our stay in this town was nce too, though Lyon is a very busy town.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank seth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
We thank you for your comment and for your usefull opinion which will help us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for the last three nights of our trip to Europe. I love 5 star hotels and this had to be my favorite hotel ever. Beautiful setting, great location and the hotel was stunning. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. I can't say enough about this hotel. I just loved it. The room was on the corner of the 4th floor, overlooking a hanging garden. I read that one person said the room was dark, I say the room was lit for ambiance and was extremely well appointed as was the rest of this lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your kind comments on Cour des Loges.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next stay in Lyon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel for the last night of a 4 week stay in France. As it was only for one night my review is a bit limited. The staff were certainly helpful and friendly.
I get the old charm angle of this hotel, it is in an amazing location and the history is fascinating - but hello we are in France and there is a lot of that about!
The room we stayed in was definitely not 5 star - with damage to walls (gouges out of the red painted wallpaper), damaged blinds in the entrance and furniture that was worn and not well dusted. Right outside the entrance is a fish pond which while not smelly was pretty unappealing - really murky with an ugly glass backdrop, with a few plants and a clean up it would have been a pleasant place to sit.
The room was impossibly dark, even with every light on, which is fine if you just want moody ambience but frustrating when you are trying to pack your bags.
Didn't experience the restaurant - which was completely dead - not surprising when you are in an area with tons of competition with cheaper options than their 95euro option.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
We are so sorry that you did not appreciate your stay at Cour des Loges.
The room where you stayed is usually enjoyed with its terrace.
Regarding the rates of the restaurant, it is possible to dine "à la carte" or with a three course set menu at 75€.
The five course set menu at 95€ is our tasty menu.
This price is consistent for one star Michelin restaurant.

However, we do take note of your comments for which we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Pricey well situated hotel in the old city. Odd rooms. no exterior wndow and people walking by the interior window. Very poor dark lighting. Strange airplane-like toilet closet (literally) and bathroom equally odd. Very poor air conditioning and worst of all 28k internet. Not a first class experience although the concierge and staff were terrific. Unfortunately a little too 12 Century for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonytraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We regret you are disappointed of your stay at Cour des Loges.
The air conditioning has been totally renovated and the wifi is now connected with ADSL system.
If you do us the honour of another visit, we will assign you a room with an overview of our hanging gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Villa Florentine
#8 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cour des Loges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cour des Loges

Property: Cour des Loges
Address: Entree 468 2 rue du Boeuf, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#5 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#11 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cour des Loges 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cour des Loges hotel is one of the finest jewels in Lyon's old town. Its Renaissance courtyard, home to the Loges Michelin-starred restaurant, 61 rooms and suites, the hanging gardens, the Pure Altitude Spa... Whether for romance or gourmet delights, on business, for a shopping or cultural break, treat yourself to an exceptional stay in Lyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cour des Loges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Des Loges Lyon
Cour Des Loges Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing