We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience in a lovely location in Old Lyon”
Review of Cour des Loges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cour des Loges
Ranked #10 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Yarra Valley, Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A delightful experience in a lovely location in Old Lyon”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

What a wonderful experience. This Renaissance period hotel is beautifully decorated with all of the quirky 16th Century architectural features including spiral staircases, arches and internal courtyards. There is a lift for those who remain in the 21st Century but we enjoyed using the stairs for that Renaissance feel. Standing on one of the close cobblestone streets of Vieux Lyon, it couldn't be better located to enjoy the many cafes, bars, restaurants, ruins and museums of this lovely city.

We stayed for 8 nights in mid to later July. Our Concierge, Gerard, made many wonderful suggestions and bookings on our behalf, keeping us as busy as we wanted to be and we enjoyed doing every one of them. While Gerard appears to be helping guests all of the time, of course he must go home at some time, and our Concierge, Francois, was available to save the day after our solitary bad food experience elsewhere in Lyon by obtaining an immediate booking at a delightful very busy 3rd generation Italian restaurant. All of the staff at Coeur des Loges are particularly attentive but Gerard, Francois and Yann (who assisted us in our journey through the various whiskeys available at the bar) are particularly memorable.

On a more practical note, the beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms are totally silent for a good night's sleep and the quality of the food available at breakfast is outstanding (though, it is as difficult to get a nice cup of strong breakfast tea here as it is in the rest of France).

I truly enjoyed the delightful experience of staying here.

Room Tip: The apartment is spacious and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go2andfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you very much for all these compliments.
Cour des Loges team is really glad for making your stay in Lyon delectable and we hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    302
    118
    57
    21
See reviews for
134
812
29
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We were greeted on the road by the doorman who relieved us of the car and parked it in the hotel garage, well worth the money for the convenience.

The concierge was fantastic, very informative and polite, the receptionist was also polite and helpful, showing us around the room and giving us information about the hotel.

The car was brought out of the garage at our time of departure with two bottles of chilled water ready for our journey home, a nice touch.

The only small downsides were that we didn't try breakfast as we thought 20 EUR each was a bit steep and on return to our room in the evening, we fancied a drink but the mini bar only contained 1 small can of beer and fruit juice which was a bit disappointing.

Overall, a great hotel in a great location with fantastic staff - well done!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerpotManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for your good rating of Cour des Loges.
The clients who try our breakfast are always delighted and never regret the experience.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed here in early July with my nieces and my sister-in-law during the middle of the week, so peak season was just around the corner. I emailed the hotel for assistance in securing two rooms that were next to each other as well as to find out about parking. Both requests were easily done online.

When we arrived in Lyon, it took us a really long time to find the hotel as we were driving. Fortunately, we found a well located public parking structure along the river and ended up leaving the car there during our stay as the hotel's parking is very inconveniently located down a narrow cobblestone street, and was just as far (just a couple blocks).

The location of the hotel is FANTASTIC. You can literally walk down the block to great restaurants and sites. The hotel itself is a beautiful Italian Renaissance style composition of four different buildings and is a great space to wander. My nieces loved wandering the halls and then taking a break in the spa which had a small wave pool. The guest rooms had a lot of character as well, but as other reviewers noted, the lighting is really bad. I thought the rooms were very well appointed for a centuries old structure!

Anyway, the staff was definitely on par with the number of stars that this hotel has. Francois, the concierge, helped us out tremendously as well. Brunch is the only meal that we had here, but I thought it was really good and enjoyed sitting in the hotel's atrium.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay at Cour des Loges.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our stay was great! We loved the hotel, the breakfast was excellent and the service was fantastic! Francoise, the concierge, was so helpful and sent us to wonderful, local restaurants. He was a wealth of information regarding sights to see! I highly recommend this hotel. I just wish that the rooms had more natural light.

Room Tip: Rooms are dark. Be sure to ask for a room with lots of light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsahney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
François and the whole team of Cour des Loges are delighted that you had a great stay in our hotel and hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

What an interesting hotel. The rooms were uniquely decorated and very comfortable. The service was great and we were well looked after. The welcome treats and breakfast were spectacular.
The concierge was very helpful in recommending activities and helping us find a laundromat around the corner from the hotel.
We can highly recommend the Sunday artists market and fresh food markets along the river.
One thing is that if you have a car, expect to pay to park it. The hotel is located on a cobblestone back lane full of pedestrians and the streets have timed and ticketed parking. We parked by the river in the public car park and paid about 45 euro for two days. The hotel charges 35 euro per day.
Some delightful shops, restaurants across the road and in the lanes. The cathedrals are spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noula15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We are glad you enjoyed staying at Cour des Loges, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had been recommended to stay at Cour des Loges by a taxi driver on a previous visit to Lyon. He said that it represented the finest in old Lyonnaise architecture. It does. It is situated in the centre of the old town and comprises 4 old merchant houses that were built around an original courtyard (now the restaurant).

The rooms, perhaps as you would expect, are all on different levels so multiple staircases to negotiate. Perhaps you would expect less the additional stairs within the room, up to the narrow bed platform, down then up to the bathroom/toilet, etc.

It is the classic horror of a room designer who never intends to sleep in the room, else why would they also use curtains in black, and with so few lights that it is almost impossible to find your clothes in the wardrobe after dusk? Access to the safe requires you to crawl on hands and knees in front of the bed, in the narrow channel between bed and TV unit - hardly ideal.

Room service is a joke. An afternoon snack when we arrived (restaurant closed after lunch) consisted of a plate of hams, cheeses and breads on a slate. No plates, no napkins. Placed onto the desk, the only flat surface, the food rolled off the side, and rendered the desk unusable until after evening turn-down. Requesting an afternoon cocktail from the bar was also impossible as the bar had closed, even though we discovered that it was the cocktail barman who delivered our room service snack.

The food in the restaurant that night was pleasant enough, as were the staff, and a lunchtime snack sat outside at the hotel's Cafe Epicerie was even better. Nothing beats people watching looking down the old lanes.

If you travel with a car, then take note of the instructions as this hotel is situated in a pedestrian only area, and negotiating extremely narrow lanes requires caution. Access is by code number, changed weekly.

Our greatest gripe about the hotel, other than the service, was that it was not as clean as it should have been. We complained when checking out, and the duty manageress was shocked, and did not believe us until I pointed out the keyboard on the reception computer in front of her which had a layer of dust so thick that running a finger along the top of the keyboard left a clear muddy streak.

This is still probably the best hotel in Lyon, especially if you want to be based in the Old Town, but the hotel chain should up its game. 5 star dust does not necessarily make for a 5 star guest experience

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues, then check very carefully what the access is to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMH_and_GFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Don't doubt it, Cour des Loges is undeniably a 5 star hotel!

We are truly sorry that you didn't have that feeling during your stay. Our service was not as high as you expected and we are to blame.

Nevertheless, regarding the room service, we propose slate platters and verrines because we don't want to offer a classic service on serving cart and white tablecloth which would not reflect the hotel.

Manifestly, your room didn't suit you which is unfortunate because each room has its own character so unless the hotes is full, we can always suggest you another room.

Finally, regarding the cleanliness, as you can imagine our rooms are cleaned every day. As you mentioned, Cour des Loges was built within old walls so the salpeter is inevitable. What you took as dust and dirt is just a deposit that can come back only few minutes after the room was cleaned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Very nice even but very expensive. My life and I like special places with well chosen furniture and soul and we were not dispointed for that but for the services and room size, we found this hotel a little bit overrated. Yet, we enjoyed our stay. We had a nice room in the red tone. The breakfast was good too. Our stay in this town was nce too, though Lyon is a very busy town.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank seth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
We thank you for your comment and for your usefull opinion which will help us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Villa Florentine
#7 of 194 in Lyon
719 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cour des Loges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cour des Loges

Property: Cour des Loges
Address: 6 rue du Beouf, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#5 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#11 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cour des Loges 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Vieux-Lyon, Cour des Loges resembles a castle in the city whose decor takes you back to the Italian Renaissance. Perfect blend of historic charm and modern comfort, Cour des Loges 5 -star hotel promises luxury bespoke luxury getaways in the capital of Gaul: 1 Michelin star restaurant Les Loges, chic bistro Cafe Epicerie, bar and cigar room, Epicurean cooking atelier La Petite Loge, Pure Altitude Spa, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, gym, hanging gardens, and valet for all your desires, 3 "Clefs d'Or" concierges. Treat yourself to an exceptional stay fully tailored to your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cour des Loges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Des Loges Lyon
Cour Des Loges Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing