We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique”
Review of Cour des Loges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cour des Loges
Ranked #10 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very unique”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Had a great 2-night stay at this very unique hotel. As others have mentioned, they took 4 old buildings in the historic district and created one hotel. As such, each room is very different. Ours happened to have a bathtub in the very middle of the room and the shower was next to it, which was a bit strange (I could lay on the bed and reach the tub), but it was only problematic when one of us needed to get ready, since I was there with a friend and not for a "couple's stay". We could have asked to move rooms, but it wasn't a big enough deal to try and move all of our stuff somewhere else. Nor did it detract from the stay. Just made for a funny story to tell our other friends...

Rooms were a little dark, but once we figured out how to work the lights (another comdedy of errors), we were good to go. Just needed to have every single one of them on to have enough light to see.

All of the staff were great and the location was perfect. Overall, a wonderful stay. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
We hope we made you want to come back for a leisure stay and not for business.
See you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    299
    117
    57
    21
See reviews for
132
801
29
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Getting to Cour des Loges is a challenge; they did say it is in a pedestrian area but, if you are driving, you really need the hotel to give you the access code and detailed directions to guide you through the pedestrian area where it is located. We are upgraded to a duplex room in this very old building - actually 4 combined. It is eclectic in that there is a bathtub on the upper sleeping area, but the bathroom as well as a shower are downstairs on the living room floor. Gerard, the delightful concierge is helpful in every way, and maps out an excellent walking tour for us. Cour des Loges is in the old city, which has been renovated, but it quite touristy. It also is a bit on the expensive side (€318.30 + valet parking).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UESfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Gérard and the whole team of Cour des Loges are really pleased you liked your stay in Lyon.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Qld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Location in the old town was superb. The building and atmosphere created was a wonderful experience with all luxury and comfort. The best was our concierge Mr Lyonnaise,(Gerard). His suggestions made many memories for us to treasure. All staff were professional and helpful. All food was excellent and we highly recommend Cour des Loges.

Room Tip: 3rd floor with good access to garden and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WowGoldCoastQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
We want to thank you for your recommendation.
Gérard and his entire staff are really glad they allowed you to have a pleasant stay at Cour des Loges and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The upside:This hotel was beautiful. I felt like I was living on a movie set. The atrium/dinning room was spectacular. It was very evocative and atomospheric like a medieval/renaissance chateau. Our room was beautiful and quiet. The bed was nice and firm with soft pillows and the bathroom had fluffy towels and robes.
The staff were charming and very helpful. The dining room was superb, probably our best meal during this trip to France including Paris and Burgundy.

The downside:
The rooms are a little too dark to be practical. We couldn't read anything except for our kindles or ipads (which are backlit) and it was difficult to find our clothes in the dark. The electronics were also a little frustrating.

But, it was like walking into a fantasy version of the Renaissance.

Room Tip: Our room towards the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
We are really pleased that overall, your stay went well.
It's à pity that you didn't ask for an extra light.
For your next stay, we will allocate you à brighter room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 3 night stay in a Junior Suite at the Cour des Loges in the old city. Our room was lovely. Yes the light levels are a little low but during the day we had windows on three sides and with the curtains open light level was fine. At night we were less concerned with light and there was plenty where we needed it. The WC had plenty of room; the bathroom had two sinks, a large bathtub and separate shower. And the Wi-Fi worked beautifully. Food at the Café-Épicerie was great and the service equal to it.

The people in reception were extremely helpful and friendly. And best of all, the concierges we encountered - Jean-Philipe (sic) and Gerad were incredible. Gerard worked wonders with our car rental company to help us avoid extra charges that I was originally told I would have to pay. Great concierges have the right connections and the ones at Cour des Loges are great concierges.

The location of this property is outstanding. Approaching it by car is difficult but if you follow the hotels instructions and the map they send and trust it, you will get there the first time. We would happily return to Cour des Loges and it will be our hotel of choice the next time we are in Lyon.

Thanks to the staff of the Cour des Loges. You made our stay in Lyon the perfect ending to a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: Room 37 is a great room if you select a junior suite. Roomy and with windows on three sides and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjobtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
What a delight for the whole team of Cour des Loges to read how much you appreciated your stay.
Your review is the gift we're looking for as professionals in the hotel field.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

From the moment you arrive you feel welcome. All staff is courteous and very efficient. Breakfast is simple but fresh, rich and with savor.
Rooms are a little on the extravagant side but operational.
I highly recommend Cour des Loges!

Helpful?
Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
We are delighted you liked your stay in Cour des Loges and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Magical, romantic, a trip back in time! My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary here in May and it was well worth it. The concierge staff is first rate and our room was extraordinary. We started each evening out with a glass of our favorite champaigne in the cozy bar downstairs. Our room was beautifully decorated and very spacious, although the commode in the shower was interesting! If you have the opportunity to stay here, don't pass it up!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottsdaletravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
We are delighted that Cour des Loges was the place you choose to celebrate your wedding anniversary.
We hope you'll make a tradition in coming here every now and then.
We'll be very happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Villa Florentine
#7 of 194 in Lyon
703 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cour des Loges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cour des Loges

Property: Cour des Loges
Address: 6 rue du Beouf, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#5 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#11 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cour des Loges 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Vieux-Lyon, Cour des Loges resembles a castle in the city whose decor takes you back to the Italian Renaissance. Perfect blend of historic charm and modern comfort, Cour des Loges 5 -star hotel promises luxury bespoke luxury getaways in the capital of Gaul: 1 Michelin star restaurant Les Loges, chic bistro Cafe Epicerie, bar and cigar room, Epicurean cooking atelier La Petite Loge, Pure Altitude Spa, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, gym, hanging gardens, and valet for all your desires, 3 "Clefs d'Or" concierges. Treat yourself to an exceptional stay fully tailored to your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cour des Loges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Des Loges Lyon
Cour Des Loges Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing