We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing what they did...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cour des Loges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cour des Loges
Ranked #9 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing what they did...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Beautifully reconstructed and designed hotel...The colors, textures, mix of modern and old blend in perfect harmony. I had a duplex room which I loved...but if you have any trouble with stairs or getting in and out of tubs...be forwarned...and as one other reviewer noted...if you are someone that needs to make a trip to the loo in the middle of the night...you have to remember your bed is up on a step....but I loved the funky design in the room. Breakfast I thought was overpriced but then I had half of what was offered there for a breakfast in Geneva and changed my mind. I was leaving early in the morning and couldn't use the full breakfast, the concierge was nice enough to supply me with a cup of coffee before I left. I enjoyed my stay there...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
We are really happy you liked the design of the hotel so much.
Our duplex rooms are original indeed and please most of our clients who are looking for something different.
We hope that you will get the chance to enjoy our high appreciated breakfast during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    285
    113
    55
    21
See reviews for
130
763
29
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Staying here is a trip back in time to the middle ages. The furnishings and decor appear to be high quality antiques. I think we were upgraded to an apartment (#52) due to unconquerable steps. It was over the top. I can't say enough about the staff, especially Loiq. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
We want to thank you so much for your great review.
We are thrilled that you were so receptive to the soul of the old walls of Cour Des Loges.
Loic and the whole team are really pleased for making your stay as enjoyable as it was.
We look forward to seeing you anytime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Talk about a screwup. My wife booked the wrong night thru Expedia. I called less than 24 hours ahead and they allowed us to correct the date and still honored the original quoted price. The room was great and the entire hotel is amazing. Go out back to the garden. Use the concierge to help with dinner and touring. Everyone was very friendly, only downside was their bar and food pricing. Skip their breakfast and hit the local spots.

Room Tip: Don't worry about about taking a smaller room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to know that you prized our service and we really hope that you will give a try to our much appreciated breakfast during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Amazing is the word. I agree with other posted comments. Actually, it was an attraction on its own, especially at night with all the lightings and decors bringing you back in time to the 13 th century. Rooms, perfect; Dining room unbelievable nice. The personnel and the service, impeccable. Especially the concierge Gerard that was going out of his way to give us everything to see, even up to Dijon. We have great souvenirs of Everything he recommended. We will go back and already referred friends. Some already went there on their honeymoon.
Their site provides very good pictures. It is like that. Location is the best, right in the middle of things to see. Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renevleclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Adding something would be too much!
We are delighted you liked your stay in Cour des Loges and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evian-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

you can not see what is inside from the street but once you are in there is an amazing surprise! It is beautiful hotel, perfect combination of old new, rustic , modern and all smiles. People are friendly and you feel like a royalty. My husband and i were there on our honeymoon trip. it was one of the 4 hotel where we were staying on our wine trip in France. It was my husbands booking and for me was total surprise. And what a surprise it was. This was the best hotel ever! I will not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. If you are staying there do not forget to go on the roof top - fantastic view on the Lyon roof tops and sunset.
simply amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
We are delighted that Cour des Loges was the place your husband choose to surprise you during your honeymoon trip.
We hope you'll make a tradition in coming here every now and then.
We'll be very happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Booked through Small Luxury Hotels of the World and we were not disappointed. Bagged an upgrade to a superior room on arrival and although we were early at 1pm with a 3pm checkin our room was ready and available.

The reception staff were pleasant, helpful and at least one spoke very good English.

The central courtyard which is roofed over with a glass top is light and airy and used for all meals. It was Sunday brunch when we arrived and it was packed with locals have a long lazy lunch.

The room was large, with a separate bathroom containing a very large bath, and behind two side doors a shower and a loo/bidet.

We loved the bar and its separate humidor for smokers (a little spoilt by a drunk couple burning holes in one of the sofa's one night).

Breakfasts were taken in the central courtyard which also doubled up as the one Michelin starred restaurant in the evenings (except Sunday and Monday). The breakfast choice was extensive and very good.

Other plus points, the roof section at level 4 at the back of the hotel is a sun trap early in the day, and a really nice place to sit and relax after a long day exploring Lyon, and go as high as you can at the back for a view over the roof tops.

The in room TV system is very extensive, with French, English, German, Italian and other major satelit channels and the free wifi is fast and reliable.

The double beds were large and comfortable.

The location is excellent, right in the centre of Old Lyon, with easy walking access to tourist sites, bars and bouchons.

Minus points, not many, but the spa pool is small and the gym has only a few machines.

Loved the stay and would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
I would like to thank you for describing Cour des Loges in those terms.
That is the way we really like our hotel to be valued by our clients.
We truly hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Our River cruise disembarked in Lyon and we remained for a stay at the Cour des Loges in the Vieux Lyon, the beautiful historic part of the city, to continue our experience of Lyon. The location is quiet, in an area of restaurants and shops. The hotel was lovingly restored true to its ancient architecture, but with careful thought to every modern convenience and amenity. The spa is a lovely gem with a secret garden and there is even Michelin star restaurant, Les Loges, within the walls of the beautiful ground floor. The service is warm and welcoming, and
Gerald Ravet, a member of Les Clefs d'Or, and his concierge team assisted us in planning everything from self-guided walking trips, to restaurant reservations to car service. It is very easy to get back to the US with connections from the Lyon airport. In my opionion, staying at Cour des Loges for a few days to experience Lyon should be included on
every trip to France.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marybeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
We are glad that Cour des Loges, Gerard and the whole team allowed you to discover and appreciate Lyon.
We would be very happy if everybody share your opinion, that staying at Cour des Loges should be included on every trip to France!!
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Villa Florentine
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cour des Loges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cour des Loges

Property: Cour des Loges
Address: Entree 468 2 rue du Boeuf, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#5 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#11 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cour des Loges 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cour des Loges hotel is one of the finest jewels in Lyon's old town. Its Renaissance courtyard, home to the Loges Michelin-starred restaurant, 61 rooms and suites, the hanging gardens, the Pure Altitude Spa... Whether for romance or gourmet delights, on business, for a shopping or cultural break, treat yourself to an exceptional stay in Lyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Cour des Loges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Des Loges Lyon
Cour Des Loges Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing