We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!”
Review of Cour des Loges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cour des Loges
Ranked #10 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of my wife's SRS conference in September, and just after our wedding. This was an absolutely amazing hotel, a huge change from the Radisson we had been staying at for the conference.

This hotel is located in the old part of town on cobblestone roads. It is tucked away and conveniently hidden from the hustle. The local cabs are able to gain access to the hotel, so you won't need to haul your luggage across the cobble stones.

The Decor of the hotel is a step back in time. There are some amazing sites and views and a sightseeing trip in itself. There are several common rooms, granules, staircases, and even the room itself that are photo worthy.

The staff and the concierge are extremely friendly and prompt. Everyone was always willing to assist and with a smile. We had utilized the bar, the restaurant, and the spa. All were quite expensive, but you notice the finer details and unique touches each area contributes. The downside with the spa was they only seem to offer relaxing massages...no deep tissue. It was still a good one though.

The hotel room was beautiful. The coloring, design, and layout were unique. We had a standard room, and it was on the small side. But i also have to remember that the Cour de Loges is a transitioned 14th century building. The uniqueness of the hotel makes up for the size.

I would highly recommend a stay at the Cour de Loges. I hope to go back again myself if ever in Lyon. the location is perfect and the atmosphere really helps you see the finer things in life.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We want to truly thank you for your nice review. It's obvious that you are sensitive to history and that's how our clients are able to live a completely new experience in Cour Des Loges.
We really hope to see you soon in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    300
    117
    57
    21
See reviews for
132
804
29
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Warning: if you are arriving by car then get GREAT directions first. We have a brand new car with new GPS and it could not get us there. It's because this hotel is located in the middle of old town, a pedestrian-only maze of tiny narrow streets, no cars allowed. After circling the entire area three times and 45 mins my wife spotted a small sign with the hotel name and an arrow. We followed the road and it ended at the entrance to the pedestrian-only area blocked by one of those short round steel barricades that retract into the street. Nothing on the barricade saying to go through it it to get to the hotel. But I pushed the assist button, no one answered. Then a ticket popped out and the barricade lowered.

I drove through and down the streets, that barely fit the car, through literally hundreds of people who have to stand to the side and look at you like you are a menace. There are no other directions or signs to the hotel. We drove about 4 blocks through people, outdoor restaurants and finally a restaurant worker said are you looking for Cours de Loges? He had us go back a block, up a block and over. By the time we got there we were frazzled, embarrassed and arguing of course. Not a place for cars if you don't know exactly what your doing. BUT...

When you go inside the construction and decor is like little else you have seen. Our room was spacious enough, neat design, great windows,
I understand some reviewers saying not everyone's cup of tea, but we really appreciated the style. As for five-star, well this just does not feel quite like one. Clearly central location, great service, great concierge, great design, neat bar, but very perceptual imperfections and quirks that if I ranked would be 4 star. Especially after arriving from a true 5 star, the Beau-Rivage in Lausanne, Switzerland. See my review of it.
Bottom line I'm glad we found it, glad we stayed, enjoyed it will be hard to forget the uniqueness, would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GuidesGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
We want to thank you for your review and we do know that the hotel access is quite difficult, but it's the price to pay to live a unique experience in the old town of Lyon. Nevertheless, we try to make our clients arrival as easy as possible that is why you can find a plan on our website that gives you accurate directions or you can call our concierge for further informations or even if you get lost.
We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location (a nice area in old Lyon), has very helpful and courteous staff and its common areas are beautiful and almost awe-inspiring.

Our room, however, was a disappointment as, apart from being really dark, it was not equipped with a proper bathroom. Instead, it had a bath tub in the window niche and a basin under the stairs (it was a split-level room). The worst part was the toilet: it was in a badly finished claustrophobic cubicle and it gave a loud creaking noise every time somebody was sitting on it. I am sure that some people would appreciate the quirky charm of such an arrangement, but if I am paying for a five-star hotel, I would expect at least a proper bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleSkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are really sorry that the design of your room did not meet your expectations. We truly hope the next time you'll feel comfortable to ask for another room that you will enjoy.
However you would have expected more from your trip in Cour Des Loges, we hope to see you again in our hotel for a different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The architecture is well expressed. However, the rest is not very pleasing. The hotel did send us a inquiry about our experience and we did express our dislike for many things. They sent a response that they were doing their upmost to remedy many of our complaints. The sewer smell coming from the drains in our room was horrid. The fixtures for the sink, toilet, and bath/shower were from the 1970s. Hearing the street sweeper and the garbage truck on a Saturday morning was not pleasant. The breakfast buffet was with old fruit when it should have been freshly made, the bread was overly cooked to crispy. Just a very unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite or suite if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
We are sorry you did not like the hotel. It is very original indeed, as the design is inspired from the renaissance. Nonetheless we would like to tell you that the oldest bathroom of the hotel is from 2011 and the fruits juices are freshly made in the kitchen during the service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
391 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

As a conference attendant, I stayed for one night (including breakfast and 2 lunches).
This hotel is one of these places where 'everything fits the picture'. Located in the heart of the Old Town. Fantastic decor all around, unparalleled service (hats off to the head concierge and his staff !), friendly staff (English-speaking !) all around, spacious room and ensuite bathroom.
A very tasty buffet for breakfast and two great lunches.
No time to explore the spa/gym and the rooftop garden, unfortunately.
When in Lyon, I will definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
We want to thank you for your very nice review. We hope you will come back soon to enjoy another tasty breakfast and live another experience in our hotel as each of our rooms has its own style and soul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a beautiful example of how you can combine thoughtful renovation, luxury and charm in a historical location. The hotel is composed of several adjacent buildings from the Renaissance, which are skillfully interwoven so as to provide wonderful views from almost every angle. Our room was spacious and very much evoked the history, while having all the necessities of modern life. The roof garden was an added treat. The staff is very helpful, knowledgeable and responsive. Their suggestions were excellent. We will return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helensn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your review. You just underlined the particularity of Cour Des Loges: a combination of history and modernity and we are thrilled that it met your expectations. Each of our rooms have a different soul so we hope you will come back soon to discover another one that will make you travel back in the renaissance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was our second visit. We absolutely love the hotel: the architecture, the decorations, the spa, the location, the Cafe Epicerie, the breakfasts...everything. Perhaps best of all is how very well managed the hotel is. The staff is extremely helpful, friendly, competent. Our only regret: the owner's lovely Italian mountain dog, Dexter, was not at the hotel this time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaMarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dexter was actually climbing the mountains with his owner. He's not found of cities. He likes to pee in the nature not on the concrete and have a walk between the trees not the cars that's why he did not come. But he made me responsible for telling you that if you decide to come back then he will do his best to be there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Villa Florentine
#7 of 194 in Lyon
709 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cour des Loges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cour des Loges

Property: Cour des Loges
Address: 6 rue du Beouf, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#5 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#11 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cour des Loges 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Vieux-Lyon, Cour des Loges resembles a castle in the city whose decor takes you back to the Italian Renaissance. Perfect blend of historic charm and modern comfort, Cour des Loges 5 -star hotel promises luxury bespoke luxury getaways in the capital of Gaul: 1 Michelin star restaurant Les Loges, chic bistro Cafe Epicerie, bar and cigar room, Epicurean cooking atelier La Petite Loge, Pure Altitude Spa, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, gym, hanging gardens, and valet for all your desires, 3 "Clefs d'Or" concierges. Treat yourself to an exceptional stay fully tailored to your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cour des Loges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Des Loges Lyon
Cour Des Loges Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing